We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$314
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$480
US$401
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$431
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$516
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$219
US$187
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,714 results
Traveller rating
842
674
159
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
674
159
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitethe empire state buildingkorea townnew yorkpenn stationsofa bedsitting areaaround the cornerfree coffeebig bathroomcontinental breakfastsmoking roomtimes squaremini barcentral locationspacious roomexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,714 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel was in a very good location. The room with big with two large beds and two flat screen tvs on the walls. The furniture in the hotel was a bit tatty round the edges,view was a brick wall, bu what can you expect in the centre of New York. Overall the room was nice for what we paid for it. We had only paid for room only, but they provided complimentary breakfast. This included bagels and pastries and juices. All in all was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Nuttycoco89,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit, and are very happy that you
enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about your experience—we are glad that you
liked your room and breakfast. Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York, as I would like to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was big - the beds were very soft - i loved going to bed each night and resting my sore feet in this very soft bed. The furnishings are a little tired but this added to the character of the hotel. The decor is lovely and we really enjoyed our stay here. Central location - just around the corner from the Empire State Building, near subway entrances, and we loved trying a different nearby cafe for breakfast each morning. Near places to eat at night, near Starbucks. Airconditioning a little noisy but we slept well. Great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGloria870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear GGloria870,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Avalon. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bed so much, and hope that our proximity to local destinations made it possible for you to see all of the New York sights you had in mind. We'd love to have you again, so if you return to New York please let me know so that I can provide a complimentary upgrade as thanks for being such a loyal customer.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a great option for people wanting a central location, with easy access to all parts of the city. The bedrooms are large compared to most New York Hotels and although the decor is a little dated, they are clean, well maintained and have everything you need (free WiFi, IPod Dock etc). Other services are minimal (just a breakfast room), but as New York has great options 24 hours a day, this is not a problem. The rates are also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Globaladventure,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Avalon.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and hope that you had a chance to explore as a result of our location! If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Avalon is centrally located, just down the street from Penn Station. Its walking distance to great shopping and almost all of the subway lines are nearby. The rooms are huge - I booked a Junior Suite and that was one of their average rooms. While there is no restaurant, the hotel serves an extensive continental breakfast buffet with fresh squeezed juices, yogurt parfaits, cereals, pastries and donuts, and good strong coffee. The bathroom was very spacious, and the large flatscreen tv's were nice. There is free WiFi, and there is a business center in the lobby for internet access and printing a boarding pass. The staff were all friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Deluxe or Executive Suite.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Michael R,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that it was a great one. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed the breakfast service and the amenities. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A lovely hotel. Clean, quiet, comfortable and has character i.e. it;s been around a while. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommendend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandOCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear FandOCarlow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Avalon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and hope that we’ll be able to welcome you again soon! If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews