We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Empire State”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #136 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed in Avalon due to reviews it received here. Brilliant location and extremely quiet. Would definitely recommend staying here, there were 4 of us (2 adults 2 children 9 & 12) and our room was big considering it was NY. The only negative I have to say would be the rooms need a little t.l.c!! Furniture old fashioned, nice if that is your taste but not ours. Staff really helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxMum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear MaxMum21,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit, and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your room and your experience with the staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, and hope that it allowed you to explore New York! Please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York, so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We picked this hotel for its location and on recommendation. It didn't disappoint but as it was only for one night I cannot say that much about it. It was a large room for 3 of us, very clean, nice bits in the bathroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. This is an excellent choice if you want to be near the Empire State which was why we chose it for our last night in the city having stayed at friends in New Jersey. To be honest, almost anywhere is going to be good in New York from a location point of view, as if you are happy to walk about you will be near some attraction or other.

Room Tip: Wouldn't expect good views from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear rockjules,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Avalon.
We are thrilled that you had a chance to see the Empire State Building and hope that we’ll be able to welcome you again soon! If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here while on business, and it was a great hotel and location. Rooms are relatively large for NYC. Didn't hear any outside noise with AC on. The bellmen were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Dolfan55,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that it was a good one. Thank
you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your room and your experience with the staff. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel was in a very good location. The room with big with two large beds and two flat screen tvs on the walls. The furniture in the hotel was a bit tatty round the edges,view was a brick wall, bu what can you expect in the centre of New York. Overall the room was nice for what we paid for it. We had only paid for room only, but they provided complimentary breakfast. This included bagels and pastries and juices. All in all was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Nuttycoco89,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit, and are very happy that you
enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about your experience—we are glad that you
liked your room and breakfast. Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York, as I would like to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was big - the beds were very soft - i loved going to bed each night and resting my sore feet in this very soft bed. The furnishings are a little tired but this added to the character of the hotel. The decor is lovely and we really enjoyed our stay here. Central location - just around the corner from the Empire State Building, near subway entrances, and we loved trying a different nearby cafe for breakfast each morning. Near places to eat at night, near Starbucks. Airconditioning a little noisy but we slept well. Great place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGloria870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear GGloria870,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Avalon. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bed so much, and hope that our proximity to local destinations made it possible for you to see all of the New York sights you had in mind. We'd love to have you again, so if you return to New York please let me know so that I can provide a complimentary upgrade as thanks for being such a loyal customer.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a great option for people wanting a central location, with easy access to all parts of the city. The bedrooms are large compared to most New York Hotels and although the decor is a little dated, they are clean, well maintained and have everything you need (free WiFi, IPod Dock etc). Other services are minimal (just a breakfast room), but as New York has great options 24 hours a day, this is not a problem. The rates are also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Globaladventure,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Avalon.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and hope that you had a chance to explore as a result of our location! If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Avalon is centrally located, just down the street from Penn Station. Its walking distance to great shopping and almost all of the subway lines are nearby. The rooms are huge - I booked a Junior Suite and that was one of their average rooms. While there is no restaurant, the hotel serves an extensive continental breakfast buffet with fresh squeezed juices, yogurt parfaits, cereals, pastries and donuts, and good strong coffee. The bathroom was very spacious, and the large flatscreen tv's were nice. There is free WiFi, and there is a business center in the lobby for internet access and printing a boarding pass. The staff were all friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Deluxe or Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Michael R,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that it was a great one. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed the breakfast service and the amenities. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#51 of 473 in New York City
695 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#181 of 473 in New York City
1,477 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#135 of 473 in New York City
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,661 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#185 of 473 in New York City
428 reviews
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#197 of 473 in New York City
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £109 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing