We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel, good location”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #136 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

the location was good, the room was spacey, the bathroom was quite big.

my only complaint is that my room was very very dark and looking at backside of the buildings - not really the first thing i want to see in the morning, but then this was business trip.

apart from this there was nothing special about this hotel, but then many hotels in this area are rather generic and with not much personality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelenaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear jelenaeva,

We very much appreciate your feedback on your stay at the Avalon, and are sorry that your visit was not what you had hoped for. We’d love the chance to have you again, and to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, I would like to provide you with a complimentary upgrade. If you return to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can handle your arrangements personally.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we were surprised to find that the hotel restaurant had been closed "recently" due to anticipated renovations and there was also no room service. When we got to our room, it was totally unacceptable--closet sliding door off its track and ready to fall off, furniture upholstery that was dirty, one washcloth in bath, etc. we called the desk and told them we would not be staying the second night because we were dissatisfied. When we checked out the next morning, they insisted that we pay for both nights because we hadn't cancelled 48 hours in advance. Of course we didn't know 48 hours in advance that the hotel would have no restaurant and no room service, and that the room would be unattractive and dumpy. This experience places a big question mark on all TripAdvisor recommendations since this hotel had a Trip Advisor Excellence Award for 2012!

Stayed: August 2012
5  Thank Gayle1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Gayle1945,

My sincerest apology for the delay in getting back to you. I was reviewing all of my replies and just now see that your post did not get a response. By no means was I trying to avoid a difficult situation as it is important for me to respond to all comments.

Your posting has had a significant impact on our business and I also see this is your only review. We would have to fail you at every level to receive such low ratings.

You were very disappointed and should not have left the Avalon this way. We let you down and I would like the opportunity to correct this if possible. If your plans include a return trip to New York, I hope you will contact me directly so I can attempt to make up for this past visit.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Checked in Avalon in july 2012 with my wife and 2 kids ( 4 and a half and 2 years old )
Yes it is true as many have mentioned in trip advisor that the location is perfect and the rooms are large to a New york City hotel , but the best thing for us in this hotel was the warm home welcome and help of Miss Carolina perez and the lovely smile and welcome of Miss Aylin gonzalez , thank you both you made us feel home.
We will definitely stay in avalon next time we visit and hope to c u again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Sami M,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that
it was a great one. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much
you enjoyed your experience with the staff-- we will absolutely let
them know that they made your visit special. We’d very much like to
have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to
return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary
upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

In the city on vacation, the Avalon was a great location about 1.5 blocks from the Empire State Building. Our king room with sofabed was clean and spaceous for NYC (plenty of room for family of 3). Staff was also helpful with recommendations nearby. No view to speak of. Breakfast was a little pricey at the hotel, but there was a nice bakery a few doors down. You can tell the hotel used to be more upscale. The bathroom and other more permanent fixtures are higher end. The recent additions (laminate "wood" floors and lamiate furniture) are lower end. The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KnxTNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear KnxTNTraveler,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay at the Avalon-- it's
always wonderful to hear about such a great experience. We are
delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and we hope that
as a result, had the chance to see all of New York's best sights.
Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York,
as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Travelled to New York in February with my girlfriend. After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit concerned, however I can honestly say that we had a brilliant experience!

The hotel is perfectly placed for plenty in sightseeing and is a short enough walk from Penn Station to make it accessible easily from JFK. The price was a bargain too and although we didn't really use any of the facilities at the hotel we found it good value for us.

Found the staff to be polite when we asked them anything too not rude as some people seem to have found. The rooms and hotel itself did feel "tired" but I felt it just added to the character of the place and did not find it to be too much of an issue. If you want the Ritz you have to pay Ritz prices!!

Overall I would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to New York for a short break and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Dave L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about
your stay at the Avalon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location
and hope that we’ll be able to welcome you again soon! If you plan to
return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like
to extend a
complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The location of the Avalon is perfect. - easy access to JFK and close to major attractions such as the Empire State building, Madison Square Gardens and shops. I found the staff to be polite and not forthcoming with help. When I arrived at almost midnight with all my luggage and after 5 hours of flying, I had to manoevre myself through the revolving door without help while the security man stood looking at me about 5m away. I booked a junior suite and was very disappointed - furniture and curtains needs a revamp. The bathroom had no walk in shower - they upgraded me to a deluxe suite at an extra $25 per night. With the upgrade I expected to have the benefit of a gown and slippers. The furniture and feel of the room was the same - it certainly needs a revamp. Being in a quiet neighborhood of New York, you are guaranteed a good nights rest. The king size bed was excellent. A central carpet in the middle of the room or on either side of the bed would be great especially when you get off the bed in the morning rather than stepping on the wooden strip floors. Shower heads and water pressure needs attention. Breakfast - very good continental only. I would give this hotel a 3 or 3.5 star rating not 4.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions based on your needs before confirming your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Maliga,

I’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments
regarding your stay at the Avalon. We value your feedback and are very
sorry that your visit was not what you had hoped for, or one that
would live up to our expectations of what a stay at the Avalon
deserves. We apologize for your experience with the staff and the
shower, and hope that we can make it up to you next time. Please
contact my office directly if you visit New York again, as I would
like to extend to you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I had to organise a week-long business trip with very little notice. The rates for an Executive King Suite at this hotel within walking distance of my offices were very competitive. In fact, they were cheaper than those of nearby Holiday Inns and other chain hotels in the neighborhood. I was expecting therefore to have to settle with perhaps dated bathrooms or noisy streets or something. I was very relieved to find that the room was not only modern and quiet, but massive! I had a huge bedroom, very spacious living room with desk and extra HD TV, entrance hall, dressing area, and a huge bathroom with separate shower to the jacuzzi bath. The bed was ever so comfy and soft. There was also a safe in one of the closets. The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and eager to help my stay in the city be a pleasant one. They even helped me obtain difficult to get metro maps, information on their neighborhoods, tips of what to avoid, etc.. Very helpful! On the Saturday morning I decided to have breakfast in the hotel as there was plenty of options; continental, but very plentiful. I shall be back!

Room Tip: My room faced 32nd St but it was not noisy. I had room 804 which was also away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear ClauClau82,

We enjoyed hearing about your stay at the Avalon, and are so glad that
it was a great one. Thank you very much for sharing with us how much
you enjoyed all of the features of your room during your visit and
thank you for choosing us. If you plan to return to New York, please
contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary
upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
591 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#176 of 469 in New York City
3,886 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#139 of 469 in New York City
3,465 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,461 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 469 in New York City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £127 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing