We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hope its as good second time round”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #135 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

stayed there last thanksgiving, looking forward to staying again for this thanksgiving. will let you know when we get back booked same room this time, that's how satisfied we were. great to get breakfast before going out for the day

Room Tip: we stayed in junior suite 7th floor. ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara_purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Barbara_purple,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Avalon Hotel New York on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your second visit with us this week as much as you did last Thanksgiving. I am particularly thrilled to hear that we will have the privilege of hosting you again this Thanksgiving.

We certainly look forward to your return visit in November. In the meantime, should you need anything please do not hesitate to contact me.


Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Avalon Hotel has once again outdid itself in my books for Luxury accommodation, but with reasonable rates, in New York City. I stayed at the Avalon for the first time last February (see my initial review) and decided to try them out for a second time on my next visit to the City just recently.

The first person I encountered was Abby, one of their super friendly Bellmen, who remembered me from my last visit six months ago and greeted me by name. I had a number of boxes I had had shipped for a show I was to do at the Javits, and Abby happily stored them safely for me and then found two large cabs the next morning to get my boxes to the Javits center on time for my event. Abby and all of the Bellmen at the Avalon are gracious, courteous and always cheerfully looking to help where they can.

My room was immaculate, large and quiet - traits I had recalled from my last visit and which had been a major factor that had encouraged me to stay at the Avalon again. The beds and pillows are unbelievably comfortable, with sheets of some unnamed (high) thread count that were so soft and silky that one feels like they are lying on a cloud whilst sleeping. Indeed I found them so heavenly wonderful, that it was hard for me to get out of bed each morning!

I also love the bathroom, which boasts not only a shower but an extra long tub...perfect for sinking into after a long day standing at the show at the Javits or walking around the City.

The rooms have a fridge for stashing one's own things, coffee and tea making facilities and they will even provide a kettle for boiling water upon request.

The comfortable lobby has an amazing Espresso machine, making the most aromatic cappuccino's, latte's, machiato's, hot chocolate, etc., made out of fresh espresso beans and milk. And all gratis! I got quite used to my triple shot cuppucino's I spoiled myself to daily.

They also have two computers for free internet access and one can ever print things off at no additional cost...such as travel itineraries, shipping labels (in my case), and whatever else the need might be.

I had one glitch in my stay, which was when in my room, I had problems (at times) getting internet access. The staff were on it right away and did everything in their power to make the mysterious lack of connection work. In fact, the Assistant General Manager, Aylin Gonzalez, called me personally to express her concern about my inconvenience and apologized profusely.

Nothing is perfect, and I was very impressed at the personal and sincere interest all the staff involved showed in fixing my internet connection problem for me. This impressed me more than words can say.

The Avalon is definitely a GEM in the midst of a big city and I will definitely stay there again. I highly recommend the Avalon to al those travelling to New York both for work and for pleasure!

Mary Dawn DeBriae

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIDO_MOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Fido_Mom,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your return visit to the Avalon Hotel New York on TripAdvisor. Your review was very thorough and we certainly appreciate it.

I was extremely happy to hear that our entire staff, and in particular Abby, was helpful, gracious, courteous and "super friendly." I will certainly pass your kind words on to him and the rest of the staff.

I am very pleased to know that you found our rooms immaculate, large and quiet and our bathrooms an oasis from a long day at Manhattan's Jacob Javitz Center. Although you had a bit of an opportunity with the WiFi, I was glad to know that Aylin was able to help you resolve it immediately and to your satisfaction.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to the Avalon Hotel New York please contact me so I may personally oversee your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 9 nights, sept 23 - oct 3, and it was the best time we ever had travelling. The junior suite is huge, the beds are great, the linen as well, and we even had a bathtub.
The staff was really nice, a special thanks to Abby who was really helpful.
The location is also incredible, everything you need is juste a few minutes away.
If we ever come back to NYC, we'll definitly stay here again !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Julien1260,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is most appreciated.

I was pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us for your nine night stay in New York City. I am happy to know that our junior suite was spacious, comfortable and accommodated all your needs. Many thanks for your kind words about our staff, in particular Abby. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to him.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan, please contact me directly so I may oversee your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and l stayed 5 nights in the king executive room on the 10th floor. The suite was extremely spacious, very clean, great bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. A very big thank you to Jasmin for all her help and making our stay there memorable. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank vsholden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear vsholden01,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was very happy to hear that you found our king executive suite spacious, very clean and comfortable during your five night stay.

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming and that Jesmin was particularly helpful. I will certainly pass your comments on to her.

When your travel plans call for returning to Manhattan I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call my office directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed as a family in 2 family rooms in mid-July during our trip to New York. Had a great stay. Location is obviously fantastic with the Empire State Building, Macy's, CVS etc just around the corner. Very easy to hail taxis on 5th Ave/ and various tour buses running from just around the corner - so it was great for touring. Friendly staff at front desk and at the door. Very clean bathrooms and rooms. Comfortable beds and nice linen. Good housekeeping.

There were 2 things I would complain about -

1. the reliability of the wi-fi... somehow our devices kept dropping off the wi-fi which made it quite expensive with roaming without realising that the device had dropped off.

2. The other disappointing thing for us as a family was breakfast which is served in the banqueting room - which we had pre-paid some of. It is not a restaurant and the quality of the breakfast was not good.

I would suggest going to one of the great breakfast/ brunch places very close-by which the staff was happy to recommend when asked. Martinique was our favourite breakfast place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Crath2013,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was happy to read you found our hotel conveniently located in Manhattan, as well as clean and comfortable. It always pleases me when our guests single out the staff for special mention.

I was disappointed to learn there were some issues with our Wi-Fi and our breakfast. We had our IT department review coverage in your room and resolve any issues. We regret the continental breakfast was not to your liking, however I am pleased to hear you were happy with our staff's recommendations.

When you travel plans bring you back to New York City, I hope we will be able to welcome you back as our guest. Feel free to contact me so I may personally oversee your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Avalon hotel for 7 nights it is located on east 32nd stree which is 2 blocks from macys and about 10 from time square,this was my third visit to new york but first time staying in this hotel and have to say I do not know if I would stay here again,hotel is in need of some serious upgrading my room was located on 9th floor facing out on to the street,I was awoken every weekday morning around 5am with noise of from the construction site across the road,the windows were very old wooden ones that didnt block the sound out at all and also in need of a good clean, the furniture in the room is very old and worn. I think it is worth the extra money to get a nicer hotel nearer to time square especially if it is your first time visiting. Also upon check in i was advised that $400 dollars would be held on my card for incidentals which I was not advised about when booking,we were a young couple on a holiday and any money we had was to enjoy ourselves to do day trips and nice meals but we had to take the $400 out of our spending which was abit of an inconvience. My advice is have a good look around at different hotels as paying the extra for a nicer hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxmiaxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear xxxxmiaxxxx,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor about your recent seven night stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I regret we did not deliver the service and accommodations you expected and deserved. We apologize for the noise and have brought this matter to the attention of the appropriate authorities.

As we have a regular review and maintenance program in place for all of our rooms, comments such as yours help us to ensure that they maintain the highest standards. In regards to the dollar amount held on your credit card for incidentals that is typical of hotels in The United States. However, should you stay with us on a return visit please bring it to our attention during check-in and we will be happy to come up with an alternative.

On your next trip to New York City, I hope you will give the Avalon Hotel another chance. Please contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Extrememly clean hotel,spacious rooms & welcoming staff in a great location.Absolutely no problems from check to check out.I would recommend 100% & intend to stay here again next time in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoseHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear MoseHarper,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Avalon Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in New York City and thank you for your kind comments about our staff, our rooms and the location of the hotel.

When your travel plans call for another trip to Manhattan please contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
587 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,885 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#137 of 469 in New York City
3,465 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,459 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#172 of 469 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £129 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing