We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #136 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KandG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I had a great 2 weeks stay in your splendid hotel: 16-29 Nov 2013. Our Junior Suite; perfect. 2 Queens, pristine white linens w/duvet. Choice of pristine towels: fluffy or spa. Extensive storage space and drawers, plus extra hangers were delivered after my request. We could have lived here (as we have in many hotels throughout the world.) Your staff: exemplary ! Aylin, Jesmin, and Jesse at Front Desk, Ramon and Angel at Breakfast,, plus Ramon=everywhere ! Also Wilson=our bellman. The private mini-frig=an added bonus for our snacks, wine, fruit. We are MTA public transport holders/enthusiasts and found the buses easily accessible. If we have to take a taxi, we feel we've failed. Ours was and had to be~a non-smoking room, on 11th floor, at the quiet back of hotel. Added bonus: jolly coffee machine in library. The dual table breakfast offerings=delish, except for the rubbery whites of the hard-cooked eggs, and I had to ask each day for pepper. The new larger salt granules served in old fashioned salt shakers were impossible to shake through the tiny holes. I greatly appreciate the choice of beet or carrot juice mixes w/the other regular choices. During the 2nd week, outside temp cooled and therefore, room temp was too hot, but a vertical fan was sent up and a great finding........the windows can open !! Re/the location in Korea Town=after daily early morning trash pickup, the sidewalks could use a more thorough clean. Interesting to explore and study the history of the area: the Hotel Martinique's history w/the charming and petite golf museum, the Morgan Library, etc. Our stay w/you was memorable, and we compare it w/lodging throughout the world.....where we have lived for 30 ++ years. THANK YOU ALL !!!

Room Tip: My Review covered this subject.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patpfreeburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Patpfreeburg,

Thank you very much for taking the time write on TripAdvisor about your recent two week stay at the Avalon Hotel New York City. Your comments are most appreciated.

It was a pleasure to be your home-away-from-home for your extended stay in Manhattan. I am happy to learn that our location, breakfast and rooms were to your liking. I am most happy to hear that our staff were most accommodating especially Aylin, Jesmin, Jesse, Angel, Ramon and Wilson.

I also appreciate your comments about the eggs on the continental breakfast and the temperature of the room. I have brought your comments on these items to the appropriate managers.

When your travels bring you back to New York City, I hope the Avalon Hotel New York will be able to host you once again. Please contact me so I may personally handle your future reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was very happy to call on my way to NYC & get a double queen suite close to NYU Hospital. The service was fast & good. The only real problem was the temperature in the room on the 12 th floor. It stayed at 80 degrees & when I called to get it fixed, they told me to open the windows.So, I did open my 2 large windows, with a view of the Empire State Building. The only problem was the noise on the busy East 32nd St.made it not easy to sleep. The linens & beds were comfy. The bathroom had a tub & a good shower with plenty of hot water.No room service, & no restaurant. We did purchase the Holiday Special which gave us 10% off any suite , plus complimentary breakfast for 2. The breakfast consists of sliced hard boiled eggs, toasts, pastries, yogurt, cereals, and every kind of cut up fresh fruits, coffee, tea, & juices.the Bell Captain's were extremely nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Nanc8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. Your comments are most appreciated.

I was pleased to learn that your stay was comfortable, you enjoyed the continental breakfast and that the staff were friendly and accommodating. Please accept my apologies with the temperature of your room. I have brought it to the attention of engineering department and it will certainly be looked into.

I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you on your return trip to Manhattan. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just returned home from NYC. The Avalon Hotel is wonderful and the staff are a credit to it. Our suite was fantastic, we had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. I was unwell on our first day there and needed to see a doctor, the lady on reception recommended an urgent care centre, she gave us directions and the contact number; that evening on return to our room there was a card from the staff with their best wishes for a speedy recovery, it was very thoughtful. All of the staff helped us during our stay, with recommendations of where to go and how to get there, and helped with booking transport. The availability of PCs for guest use was great, we were able to check opening times of various attractions, make reservations and print copies. The hotel is in the perfect spot, close enough to everything but far enough away from the hustle and bustle so there's very little street disturbance, and you don't hear anyone in neighbouring rooms. If there is one thing we would change it would be to have coffee making facilities in the room rather than having to go down to the lobby, even though it's available free. However, we would definitely stay there again and would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePages2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear ThePages2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. They are most appreciated.

I hope you are feeling 100% again. I am sorry to hear that you were not feeling well during your visit, but very pleased to learn that our staff took good care of you while you were here and that they were helpful during your stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again on your return to Manhattan. Please contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Have just spent 6 nights at the Avalon with my teenage daughter. We loved the space and comfort of our large room on 9th floor. Two queen size beds, truly comfortable, plus a sofa and generous clothes storage, and a fridge. The bathroom was always clean and with plenty of towels and instant hot water. The hotel style is old-world - brass, glass, big mirrors and swirly floral paintings. We were pleasantly surprised by how close the subway was (2 stations - 34th St/Herald Square and 33rd St were within 7 mins walk. Easy walk too to Empire State Building, Macy's, Flatiron Building.

The staff were unobtrusively pleasant and helpful at all times. One of the reception staff, Jesmin Pineda, helped us make the best of our stay by suggesting great places to shop (Broadway/Lafayette) and the easiest way to get to Bronx Zoo. She also kindly arranged to hold our baggage on the day of our departure as our plane left in the evening.

The Avalon's location close to subway and to Midtown bus points makes it easy to get wherever you want to go in Manhattan. In the immediate location I would recommend Cafe M (2 doors away) - we got fresh pastries there every morning and enjoyed breakfast in our room with the free tea & coffee provided in the Avalon lobby - very welcome - and the Artisanal Restaurant, just down the street. There's a Walgreen's in the bottom of the Empire State Building about 4 mins walk away, which is useful for sandwiches and groceries. About 10 mins walk down to the Flatiron Building where there is an open air independent food court where we enjoyed pulled pork.

Overall, I was very happy with the value for money of this hotel and I would return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room high up - got the 9th floor (hotel has 12) and enjoyed skyscraper views and tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith_Sansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Judith_Sansom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thought on TripAdvisor about your recent 6 night stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious and comfortable, as well as having a perfect location for your needs. I was particularly happy to hear that our staff, in particular Jesmin Pineda, was very helpful, knowledgeable and make your stay extra special.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan, I hope the Avalon Hotel New York will have the privilege of hosting you once again. Please contact me directly so I may personally handle your future reservations.


Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just home from a week in NYC. Decided to stay in the Avalon based on its reviews and we weren't disappointed! Such a lovely hotel. The location is perfect, just around the corner from the Empire State Building and about ten mins to macys, MSG and Times Square. Tube stations very close to get you up or down town. Couldn't ask for better location to explore the city. The hotel itself is quite small for NYC standards only 100 rooms. We stated in 706. The room was so big again for NYC, two double beds(so comfy!!!) a seating area, tv, mini bar, large bathroom and plenty of storage. The furniture is slightly dated, room could do with a little tlc but we didn't mind I think it added to its charm! The room was spotless! Our view wasn't great but the room was so quite at night that was far more important after a long day! We had breakfast twice, selection of fresh pastries, cereals, fruit etc. price is $15 each, but pricey considering no hot food, lovely cafe around the corner! Over all the hotel was fantastic, the staff are so welcoming and friendly really makes a difference! Only negative would be the hotel hold an extra charge on your credit card for the duration of your stay and is refunded when you check out ($200) this should really be explained when booking and checking in, only a small thing but if you are on a right budget this could be an issue! However really would recommend this hotel and we will def be back next year!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcoll87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Jcoll87,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was happy to learn that you found our location and accommodations perfect during your week stay in Manhattan. I am most pleased to know that you found our staff very welcoming and friendly. The staff are the heart and soul at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you once again when your travel plans call for you to return to New York City. Please contact me so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staff were fantastic, rooms for New York were big however we were placed with a view looking at the back of other apartments -shame when you look at this view for a week. Hotel was an easy walk to Macys and 5th Avenue

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish4552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Irish4552,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I am happy to hear that you found our location to your liking and, of course, our staff fantastic. They certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon. I am sorry that you were not pleased with the view.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan, please contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservations with a different view.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
694 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#178 of 473 in New York City
1,476 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#133 of 473 in New York City
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,661 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#192 of 473 in New York City
428 reviews
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#197 of 473 in New York City
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £113 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing