We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable location, service and comfort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #131 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable location, service and comfort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Conveniently located in the center of Manhattan, the Avalon was a wonderful experience. A boutique hotel that offers wonderful rooms that were quiet and very spacious rooms, unusual for a hotel located in mid-town. It's location is perfect, away from the major bustle but close enough to walk to Times Square, Penn Station, etc. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Research using Trip Advisor and read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Sandy H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the conventient location.

You mentioned you would return; please contact me personally so I can oversee your reservation and accommodations. I promise the best rate and try my best to extend a complimentary upgrade.

Warm regards,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    595
    142
    13
    11
See reviews for
446
592
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

When my husband and I first arrived at the Avalon, tired from a long trip, we were welcomed by such a lovely doorman. That was our first impression of the hotel and the whole staff turned out to be just as nice and helpful. They made sure our stay was lovely.
The location was excellent!! We were travelling with a one year old but we had no car seat for her so it was important for us to get around easily on foot or on the subway and that turned out to be no problem at all. We could walk everywhere and the subway was close by. After having explored the city we are convinced that the hotel was perfectly located.
The hotel was very clean, which mattered a great deal to us! We were staying in the Executive King suite and it was wonderful. So spacious, well organized and the bed was so comfortable.
I´m still thinking about the breakfast buffet it was so delicious!! They had cereals, yogurt, pastries, bagels, fruit, juice and much more and they never ran out.
When we come back to New York we will most definitely be booking a room at the Avalon and we have been recommending it to our friends and family since we got back home to Iceland.

- Berglind and Baldvin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baldvin_Logi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Baldvin_Logi,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was happy to know that you found our rooms spacious and clean and that you and your family enjoyed our buffet breakfast. I was most happy to hear that your first impression of the Avalon was the staff and that it was wonderful. They certainly are the heart and soul of the hotel.

When your travels bring you back to Manhattan, I hope we will have the honor of hosting you and your family. Please contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

From the front door to the front desk to housekeeping, efforts were made to see that we had everything we needed! What a team! This small hotel between 5th and Madison was a perfect home base for exploring mid Manhattan. Grand Central Station was just a few blocks one way and Penn Station (Amtrak) was the other way. Empire State Bldg across the street, Macy's on the next block, Rooms were large by NYC standards and clean as a whistle! Would have enjoyed an in room coffee or hot water pot for tea BUT there were numerous coffee options off the lobby. This will be in my NYC file for future visits!

Room Tip: I followed others' suggestion of requesting a room away from the lift. We were on the 9th which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sleland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. They are most appreciated.

I was very happy to read that you found our services, facilities and location exceeded your expectations. I was most pleased to know that our entire staff, from the front office to housekeeping, was able to fulfill your every need. They certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon.

When your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact my office as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed in the Avalon Hotel for first time during a business trip on December and the experience couldn’t been better. My room was the 605, a perfect Junior Suite: very spacious, huge comfortable bed, perfect living room area, great amenities brand, two televisions, self-use fridge and big closet with light. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breackfast buffet was delicious. The hotel is located in the best Manhattan spot, 32nd St between 5th and Madison Ave. I will repeat for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Monica S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was very happy to read that your first time staying at our hotel was a pleasant one and you found our Junior Suite spacious and comfortable, as well as our amenities to your liking. I was most pleased to know that our staff was very friendly and helpful to your every need. They certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon.

Should your travels bring you back to Manhattan, please contact my office as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We recently stayed for 3 days at the Avalon.

The good:

1. The rooms are very large by New York City standards. We did rent a suite, but even so it was very large. Bathroom was very large as well, with two sinks.
2. Comfortable bed, and good bedding.
3. The room had a safe and a refrigerator. Convenient.
4. Reasonably priced.
5. Nice architectural touches. Crown molding, nice lighting (in the lobby and halls).
6. Good central location.
7. Quiet.
8. Good TV, lots of channels.
9. Service is polite and cooperative.
10. Rooms are clean.
11. Great coffee in library (back of the lobby).
12. Climate control is precise.
13. Deluxe suites have standup showers.

The not so good:

1. The wifi in the room was essentially useless. Even if you could connect, throughput was close to zero. The was a wired connection available, but I didn't have an adapter to connect my iPad, and of course it's useless for your phone.
2. In spite of the architecture, there's something not-so-cozy about the room. There's a somewhat sterile, aging feel. Perhaps the room was just too big (!!). Faux wood flooring cheapens the look.
3. Lots of things are... loose. The lamp sockets. The bathroom shaving mirror. The door knobs. The overall feeling
4. The breakfast buffet is very average. Better than hotel chains, not nearly as good as it could be.

The Avalon is a good choice in mid-town east.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Lee H.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was pleased to read that you found our location suited your needs while visiting Manhattan and that our rooms were large and clean. Additionally, I was happy to know that you enjoyed a number of our amenities including the in-room safe and refrigerator, complimentary coffee service and cable television.

Please accept my sincere apologies for opportunities you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing to my attention the issues you experienced with the Wi-Fi and some of the furniture in your room. I have addressed them with our engineering department and they have been resolved. It's suggestions from guests, like yourself, that help the Avalon continue to improve and provide exemplary service to our guests.

When your plans call for a return visit to Manhattan I hope we will have the privilege of hosting you again. Please contact me directly so I may personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good location, great room, generally very helpful staff and an outstanding response to some problems we had on our first night. This was our first trip to New York and we weren't sure about hotel choice but struck lucky and would definitely use Avalon again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Steve J.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. They are most appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our location and rooms met your satisfaction. I was most pleased to know that our staff responded to all of your requests and fulfilled them beyond your expectations.

When your travel plans call for another trip to Manhattan I hope you will contact me directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badajoz, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Vincci Avalon hotel is definetely the best hotel in New York we have lodged (we have visited New York twelve times). It is extremely well situated, just a few steps from the Empire State Building. This allows us to walk up and down Manhattan from a priviledged starting point. Rooms are huge and comfortable and very well heated or air-conditioned. Beds are good. The staff people are all very polite, like Mr. Ruben, Miss Jazmin, and most of all their Assistant General Manager Miss Aylin Gonzalez who will always help you with any problem you may have and is always willing to make you feel at home. We highly recommend this hotel and will surely come back from now on..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Lewis G.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel's location perfect for your needs and the rooms comfortable and large. I was most happy to know that our staff, in particular Ruben, Jasmin and Aylin, were very helpful and met all your needs. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to them and the rest of the staff.

When your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact me as I would like to personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,209 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing