We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #131 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the Avalon after much research, and were not disappointed. The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring New York. The staff are very friendly and can not do enough to help. The hotel room is a good size and the beds are very comfortable after a full day on your feet.
Would recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wadester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Wadester1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms spacious and comfortable and our location was perfect for you during your visit to Manhattan. I was most pleased to hear that our staff was very friendly and were able to accommodate your every need.

Should your travel plans call for a return to New York City, I hope we will have the honor of hosting you again. Please contact my office directly so I may personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Avalon from 12/17 - 12/20 2013. This is a nicely revamped building with quiet rooms, clean wooden floors, comfortable mattresses and big, spacious bathrooms (at least my suite's bathroom was enormous and quite modern). The staff and their service was impeccable. The hotel location is located a block and a half from the Empire State Building. The street is hectic, vibrant at night with all the restaurants and bars nearby but none of the noise makes it up to the upper floors.

All of the above plus a great price (taking into consideration the location and the time of year I visited). Bottom line: This is a gem!

Room Tip: Suite 1004 is excellent. The room is very spacious, quiet, with a large bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Luis R.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel. Your thoughts are most appreciated.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel comfortable, well-appointed and the location suited your needs. I was most happy to hear that you thought our staff was impeccable. They certainly are the heart and soul of the Avalon.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan, I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please contact my office directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Avalon hotel last december. It´s an excellent hotel, with a very big room (rare in NYC), with wood floor that is excellent for allergic people. The bath room is big and very clean.
The staff is helpful and friendly. The room is very quiet and the matress is very good.
The location is very good , near the 5th avenue and Empire State Building and Macy´s.
There are many restaurants near, but most of all are Korean restaurant, we didn´t try , but there is an Italian restaurant near (Bella Napoli) that is reasonable for a cold night when you is tired.
If I return to NYC I´ll stay again at Avalon and recomend for everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed at Queen deluxe suite, that is very big.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Cida.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you found our rooms spacious and clean and that our location was perfect for your needs. I was happy to know that our staff was friendly and helpful. They certainly are the heart and soul of the hotel.

Should your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, I hope we will have the honor of hosting you again. Please contact my office directly so I may personally handle your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Good:

* Free tea and coffee in reception.
* Very friendly staff.
* Big room for New York and a very nice bathroom.
* Comfortable and very good value for money.
* Amazing location.
* Fairly quiet for New York City.
* Very clean rooms.
* Good amenities.
* Gave an express pass to the empire state building and coupons for top of the rock on arrival.

Bad:

* It could use a little updating.
* Very dark as our room faced a wall - I imagine this is normal for NY though.
* The doors of the wardrobe were loose and potentially a bit of a hazard!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear PPigeon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. They are most appreciated.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel perfect on a number of levels including our spacious rooms, friendly staff and perfect location, among others. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the decor of the room, we have been working on updating them. I am also grateful that you mentioned that the wardrobe doors need repair. I brought them to the attention of engineering and they have been fixed.

I hope we will have the honor of hosting you again on a return trip to Manhattan. Please contact my office directly so I may personally handle your reservation and insure you have a room with a view.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at Avalon for a business trip to New York mid-January. Location was perfect for a $10-15 cab ride anywhere in the city. I've stayed in probably close to 30 hotels in Manhattan but I don't think I'll be needing to look elsewhere. Everything about this hotel is fabulous from the staff to the hardwood floors in the rooms to the luxurious bathrooms. I was in the executive king suite and slept amazing on the huge bed. Rooms are huge Samsung TVs. I won’t be staying anywhere else. Job well done!

Room Tip: Executive King Suite is the best way to go.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grassiaj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Grassiaj44,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. What I was most pleased to know was that you have stayed in over 30 hotels in Manhattan and because of your stay with us do not feel the need to look at staying at any other NYC hotel. That's high praise indeed and we are very grateful.

When your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact my office directly as I would like to personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My mum and i stayed here during our 10-day trip to NYC and loved it! The staff were always very helpful all the time right down to Carlos giving us an express pass for the Empire State Building upon arrival! The hotel is in a great spot and we very easily caught a cab up to Central Park South/Fifth Ave on most days and the subway to Lexington Ave to shop!

Thanks so much for a great stay Avalon Hotel - we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Georgia F.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. They are most appreciated.

I was happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your 10-day stay here and that our hotel suited and met your every need. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, especially Carlos. I will certainly pass your praise on to him as well as everyone else.

If your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, I hope we will have the honor of hosting you and your mum again. Please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my 16 year old son and my friend in early December. Brilliant location and very friendly staff. Stayed in a junior suite, it was spacious and what can I say about the beds, so comfy. The shower and bath were really lovely. This was my fifth visit to New York and this was the best hotel to date that I have stayed in. We walked everywhere and had all seasons during our 6 day stay, rain sun and snow!! Definitely would have no hesitation in staying in the Avalon again and hope it won't be too far into the future!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear pegle,

Thank you for the review you posted on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your stay and I was very happy to read your comments about my associates.

If you like the Junior Suites, I think you would also an enjoy the Deluxe Suites with two queen size beds. When you plan your next trip(no. 6) to New York, I hope you will consider a return to the Avalon. It would be my pleasure to look after your reservation and assure you the best rate, as well as the upgrade.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,409 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 468 in New York City
512 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 468 in New York City
2,753 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
5,249 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#170 of 468 in New York City
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £146 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing