We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wycombe, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Second Stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great Hotel. Staff could not be more helpful. Lovely room...bigger than typical mid town. Beds were comfy. Great hot chocolate and coffee on tap. Location is another huge plus... Short walk from Penn Station and stones throw away from Empire S.B. We hope to be back again next trip to NY.

E.B. 8/11/14

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Eva B.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your return visit to the Avalon Hotel New York. It is always appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel well located, rooms large and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful enough to become a repeat guest of the Avalon.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan and the Avalon Hotel New York, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    611
    143
    14
    13
See reviews for
459
613
46
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Avalon for 7 nights. We were in a junior suite at the front away from the building site and it was excellent as was the décor. There is a lot of construction work in NY at the moment so it must be hard for hotels to cope. Our room was quiet, roomy, comfortable and the a/c worked well. The room was always very well cleaned and the breakfast on the 2nd floor was 110% well done. At peak times the WIFI was average but the 2 PC's down stairs worked like lightening.
The only downer was the fridge was already prepacked and it electronically bills you for anything you remove and there is no room for any of your own supplies. There is a separate smaller fridge which I was told was not a fridge but a cooler and it just did the job.

The hotel was good value for money and I would expect the room rate might go up when the nearby construction ends. You just could not beat this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit New York.

Room Tip: The suites were worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Andrewww,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent seven night stay with us at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel well located, our rooms roomy, comfortable and well maintained. I was also pleased to know you enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast. Thank you for your comments about the Wi-Fi. I have our engineering department monitoring it to insure it performs consistently well.

I hope when your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City that you will stay with us again. If so, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virton, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a week at the beginning of July and enjoyed the experience. The staff were competent, efficient and discrete but also friendly and welcoming.
Our room was a junior suite on the fourth floor on the street side. It was a little bit noisy early in the morning as trucks arrived for the building site opposite, but not annoyingly so. The street itself was quite quiet for mid-town. The air conditioning coped with the temperatures but the fan was noisy and on automatic kept switching on and off every five minutes. Our room was next to the service elevator so we could hear the cleaning staff arriving in the morning - though they were not excessively noisy and we barely noticed them.
We loved the size of the room - it was great to be able to spread out and relax at the end of the day. We also liked the ironing board and iron and also the fridge to put our own food in (as well as the mini bar). The bed was comfortable and we slept well. There was also free wi-fi that worked well - had to reconnect a few times over the week, but no problems really.
The pictures posted do justice to the rooms.
Breakfast was OK - the food was tasty but heavy on starch and sugar - and we would have preferred a little more choice with meats and cheeses available. Tea and coffee were good. We also liked the availability of tea and coffee throughout the day in the lobby library. Yes, it meant having to take the (slow) lift down and back up again, but at least the coffee was fresh and we preferred that option to the idea of having instant coffee but in the room.
The location is great - a block from the Empire State in one direction and a block away from the Lexington avenue subway in the other.
Highly recommended to anyone going to New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jpritt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent week stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that your enjoyed your stay with us while visiting New York City. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, our location and our oversized rooms. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for your comments on what we can do better. It is comments, such as yours, that help us to continue to improve and bring the best possible service to our guest.

If your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please let me know. I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were 4 days in Avalon Hotel NYC, It was perfect, clean, well centered. The team was really very Professional and sympathic.
First night there was a misunderstanding in our reservation and our 2 kids could not sleep on the sofabed, because it was in very bad condition... Second night we got a perfect nice big room with 2 queen size beds. Thank you the Avalon Hotel NYC team !

Room Tip: Ask a room with street view. The courtyard is very Noisy because of many air condition machines ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbjutzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Cbjutzi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

Thank you for letting us know about the condition of the sofa bed. We recently upgraded all of our sofa beds to be as comfortable as possible for our guests. I am personally looking into the sofa bed that was in your previous room so that we may correct any deficiencies. I was happy to read that the rest of your stay was perfect and that you enjoyed your time with us in Manhattan.

If your travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, please contact me personally as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The front desk was friendly and extremely helpful. Our room wasn't ready, so they held our bags, we walked up the block to grab some things at CVS and returned. the room was ready. We loved the decor of the room as well as the wood floors. The room itself was bigger than most NYC hotel rooms i have stayed in. the housekeeping was very thorough and kept the room clean during our stay. It was a prime location and very easy to catch cabs from. I didnt hear any noise from outside or in ,and the beds were comfortable, leading to a good nights sleep. i would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear NY23JD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel location perfect for your needs, as well as our rooms spacious, housekeeping through and our staff friendly and welcoming. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to everyone.

If you find yourself coming back to Manhattan, please contact me as I would like to personally handle your future reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

While it may not be on a main street, it is very well located in Midtown between Fifth and Madison Avenues, a block from the Empire State Building. The service was good, I opted out of breakfast for the place on the corner of Madison and 32nd, a great takeaway selection buffet-style. The hotel was comfortable, could have had more power points but that is probably the worst I could say about it. I was here on a business trip, so for couples it is a good-priced hotel if you want to spend money elsewhere on experiences, or for those on a mid-budget. Walking distance to The Rockerfeller Centre, Central Park (40 minutes), Macy's, Broadway, etc. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitramox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Nitromox1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel well located, comfortable and enjoyed our service. I will certainly let our staff know about your comments.

If your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked a junior suite with two double beds. Room was well appointed, though not fancy (laminate floors, not wood), with two wall mounted flat screen TVs, a mini bar fridge and empty fridge (for own drinks), a large bathroom with bathtub and separate shower, and an entrance foyer.

Beds were comfortable, room was very quiet even though we were on the third floor and were directly above a construction site. Great location, though because it is in Koreatown there are many restaurants around and large trash bags to navigate on the sidewalk at various times during the day. But that's part of the charm of NYC.

Great hotel for families, close to subway and attractions. Checkin was easy, elevators a bit slow but that's typical for buildings of this age. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maroulni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylin G, Hotel Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Maroulni,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. It is appreciated.

I was happy to read that you found our hotel perfect for your needs - including our well-appointed, comfortable rooms, great location and hotel amenities.

I hope we will have the honor of hosting you again should your future travel plans call for a return visit to New York City. If so, please contact me directly as I would like to personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Aylin G.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just below Midtown Manhattan, The Avalon Hotel New York is blocks away from everything New York City has to offer. The hotel is only two blocks from the Empire State Building, seven subway lines and Penn Station, as well as being easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Liberty International Airport. Additionally, The Avalon Hotel New York is just steps from the best shopping in Manhattan including Macy's, Lord & Taylor and numerous 5th & Madison Avenue boutiques. World-famous Times Square and the Theatre District is just a short walk, subway or taxi cab ride away. With a majority of the 100 guest rooms over 400 square feet, many of our spacious guest rooms have two beds and all our suites feature a sofa bed. The Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel providing guests with extra comforts such as a private library, flat screen HD televisions, 100% cotton linens, Thymes amenities, mini bars and personal in-room coolers. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. The Avalon Hotel offers, for an additional fee, a continental buffet breakfast served daily. A $20/night mandatory Facility Fee (plus taxes) will be applied and includes Wi-Fi, 24-hour on-site Fitness Center, Daily Newspapers, unlimited U.S. and Domestic (US Mainland) telephone calls, luggage storage, unlimited daily hot beverage and water service and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing