We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lexington Hotel, Autograph Collection(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,843)
Filter reviews
1,843 results
Traveller rating
901
712
180
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
901
712
180
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitethe empire state buildingnew yorkkorea townpenn stationsofa bedsitting areaaround the cornerfree coffeesmoking roomcontinental breakfastbig roommini bartimes squareperfect locationbeds were very comfortablestandard room
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,843 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and son between 18-25 June. My husband and I were upgraded to a suite because of a mix up with the booking and my son had a standard room to himself next door, which is exacly what we asked for.

The rooms were extremely clean and well equiped,. We couldn’t fault the accommodation apart from the extremely slow elavator which can become very busy in the mornings around breakfast time,

Wilson, the bell man was very friendly and helpful and flagged down cabs for us when needed. I should say all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

My only negative point is the additional charge for hotel facilities/taxes per room per night, This charge is mentioned at the bottom of their website so be sure to read the small print before you book. I think it would be more honest to just say what the total charge per night for the room is as it’s not an optional expense, you have to pay it.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for its relaxed and friendly atmosphere and it’s close proximity to the most popular New York sights and attractions.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus N, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Cath S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about you, your husband, and son's recent stay with us.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel perfect for your needs while visiting New York City.

Thank you for your comments about our "extremely clean and well equipped" guest rooms. Additionally, thank you for mentioning Wilson, as well as the rest of our "very friendly and helpful" staff. I will certainly share your kind words on to Wilson and our entire staff.

Thank you for your thoughts about our residence fee. I will certainly take that into consideration and discuss it with our management team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. When making plans to visit us again, please contact my office directly. I will personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel in a safe, convenient location. Breakfast is available and isn't free but it looked delicious. About 10 blocks from Grand Central Station and the Empire State Building is a block or two away.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 414scotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus N, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 414scotta,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel perfect for your needs while visiting New York. Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel's location and our continental buffet breakfast. I will certainly share your kind comments with our entire team.

Should your travel plans call for a return visit to New York, please let our front office manager know. He will personally oversee your next reservation.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There wasn't a pair of slippers and service water in my room. The bread was dried and the fruits were dried too at 2'nd floor. The eggs peeled were likely to old. The cleanliness of bathroom was no good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pj0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus N, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Pj0904,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your - nor our - expectations.

Please accept my sincere apologies about the cleanliness of the bathroom - I have let our executive housekeeper know of your issue.

As a general rule, we do not have slipper and bottled water in our guest rooms. However, if you asked for them when you arrived we would have been happy to provide them for you.

Additionally, thank you for letting us know about the quality of the continental buffet breakfast. I will share your thoughts with our food and beverage manager. We appreciate your comments as they help us to continually improve our service to our guests.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Breakfast had no choices for the price, no other restaurants or bars in the hotel. Mosquitos were a bad thing there. Not the greatest area but not the worst. Staff was nice. Pricing was ok but you can get better.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G9009TSdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus N, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear G9009TSdenise,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you stay with us did not live up to you - nor our - expectations.

Thank you for letting us now about your thoughts on our continental buffet breakfast. We appreciate sharing your thoughts and have passed them on to our food and beverage manager for review. We don't know where you were seeing mosquitoes, whether they were around the hotel or out on the street. We have a regular pest control maintenance for the hotel. We have called them to come to look into the issue.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful and quiet and worth it. The location is wonderful. Thank you for the wonderful experience on our first trip to the city. The staff was excellent and the breakfast was amazing. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank astella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus N, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Astella83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel perfect for your needs while visiting New York City.

Thank you for your kind comments about our "beautiful and quiet" hotel and our "wonderful" location. I was thrilled to know that your first stay with us and your first trip to New York City was a wonderful experience. I will share your kind comments about our staff and our amazing breakfast - I will share your thoughts with our team.

We look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews