We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service & Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #309 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service & Experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My experience with the Ramada New York/Eastside is so terrible my husband and I decided to not even stay there. I booked my reservation on-line and tried to use a coupon code for an additional 20% discount, however the reflection on my final bill did not include the coupon. I contacted customer service who then referred me to the property manager of the hotel.... Yes the man responsible for the entire hotel.

The manager was not accommodating at all. He not only refused to accept my 20% coupon code, he continued to remind me of the option of cancel my reservation and go elsewhere. What kind of customer service is that? I asked him if he would rather lose business then honor a 20% coupon, and he once again reminded me I am free to cancel my reservation. He also refused to provide me with the contact information for his supervisor/boss so that I could log a complaint regarding my experience.

I do want to recommend The Manhattan at Times Square.... we were able to book this hotel rather than stay at a hotel that does not want my business. The Manhattan worked on pricing with us, so that is was comparable to the price we were looking for. We had no coupon, none of their listed discounts, they heard our story and recognized an opportunity to gain a lifetime customer.


The unfortunate thing is that Ramada is part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, I am not only a Wyndham Timeshare owner, but a member of Wyndham Rewards, and Wyndham Perks. I always had such nice things to say about the Wyndham Franchise, however this is an experience my friends, family, and co-workers will be hearing about. Ramada has certainly lost my business!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear TravelingThom,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you could not receive the 20% discount. Unfortunately, we do not participate in this promotion, so the General Manager could not honor this coupon. He advised you of the cancellation policy so that you could try to find another hotel that would offer the 20% discount. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. Many of our guests are repeat customers. Though you could not receive the 20% discount, our rates are always very competitive and we offer the best hotel value in New York. We offer free breakfast, WIFI, and domestic phone calls, which you won’t find everywhere. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    796
    332
    79
    65
See reviews for
332
618
158
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We picked the Ramada on the basis that it was the cheapest three star hotel we could find in a suitable location. As we expected, the hotel is basic enough but provides everything you need for a short stay in NY where you're not going to be spending too much time in your room anyway.

The room was small, but clean and comfortable, with coffee making facility. Breakfast was basic, with plastic plates, bowls, cutlery etc. and limited choice.

The location in excellent: quiet residential area and 2 minute walk to subway, less than 10 minutes to Fifth Ave/Empire State Building.

Would also recommend the restaurant Penelope accross the road. Plenty of other decent restaurants within walking distance too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dublin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

As a former New Yorker I chose this Ramada for its location and price. The subway stop is
2 blocks away, the neighborhood is safe and you can walk to all the major city attractions from here. Yes, the hotel is showing its age, but the staff were completely friendly and helpful
and our room was clean and quiet. The free breakfast was a nice bonus - just the basics, but
how can you complain with the low room rates??
We were not looking for the Ritz, we wanted clean, quiet and convenient - and we got it all
at a very good price.
We will be back for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czechmateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and found the hotel to be in a good location for midtown attractions and the 6 train was nearby for transport links to downtown and uptown. We were impressed with the price compared to other midtown hotels.

The room was on the small side, but this was not important to us as we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The bed was one of the comfiest we've ever had in a hotel, and the pillows were also very comfy. The room was clean and had a good view onto the corner of Lexington Ave and 30th St - there was some traffic noise but as we were on the 10th floor it wasn't too bad. There is a steam iron and ironing board which was nice as it meant we didn't need to worry about clothes getting creased from being folded up in the case! Safe in room was also useful.

The bathroom was clean and the towels were changed daily. Shampoo and conditioner was provided, but there was no shower gel only a bar of bath soap. Once we had worked out how to use the shower correctly, it was quite powerful. Wifi was OK, not brilliant, but we didn't suffer the same problems some other reviewers have mentioned.

Having breakfast included was an extra that most other hotels we looked at didn't offer. The selection included cereals, donuts, croissants, fruit and yoghurts. There was also bread and bagels which could be toasted. Drinks included tea, coffee, and fruit juices. The selection was quite good but this was let down by plastic cutlery and polystyrene plates and cups. We had breakfast here 5 of the 7 days, and for the other 2 we went to Penelope directly opposite on the other side of 30th St. Penelope had a wide range for a good price, including a $15 brunch menu on weekends.

This is not a luxury hotel, but we would definitely stay here again when visiting New York due to the location and price.

Room Tip: We requested a higher floor, to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Hotel situated well to walk to numerous places to visit. The nearest subway was on 333rd. The hotel being on 30th.
The room (314) was fine, we had a twin room (2 double beds) had a clean tidy bathroom, with fluffy white towels. A hairdryer was in the bathroom, so we didn't need to take one. The view from the window was the back, which was OK, as we hardly had any time in the room, and also we didn't get the street noise. There was a coffee machine, plastic cups.... coffee provided, but no tea. We took some tea bags and milk from the breakfast room and used the coffee maker to boil the water so that was fine.
Breakfast..... waffles, pancakes, toast., bagels, doughnuts/pastries, cereals, yoghurt and fruit. Tea and coffee and fruit juice. The mega downfall was the plastic utensils, knives, forks, spoons the lot. Great let down. I did ask why this was so, and was told it was company policy as the hotel did not have any cooking facilities. They could not have proper plates and cutlery. Why could they not have a dishwasher??? What an environmental waste. Saw people fill (pile high) their (plastic) plates with food, and then leave it, people coming in and no food out.... What a shame people are greedy.
The staff we met were helpful, and gave us advise.
We flew to Newark airport and got the shuttle bus in for $17 each. When we tried to book it back with the same company they suddenly wanted $2 each for booking fee. $2 each bag we took. Beware. We took another company.
For value and location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear HollyJane,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your time in New York City. We’re sorry about the plastic utensils used during breakfast. Unfortunately, we cannot use steel cutlery as space constraints limit us from installing a dish washing station. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to New York.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A nice room with a comfortable bed, nice shower and good views on the 12th view across the city. Close to the metro. We found the staff quite rude and blunt. The breakfast was very average with all the processed food being brought in and served in polystyrene cups and bowls. After a couple of days of this we actually went out for breakfast and avoided it. A nice room but the staff and the breakfast let the hotel down.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is located on the East side, while most of the nyc attractions are on the West side. The surrounding area is not nice: it looks old and dirty. No descent restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. The room was dark and dirty. The bathroom was filthy, with mold, metal corrosion and loose parts. The sheets and towels were old and shabby. The breakfast used only disposable utensils (made of plastic and foam), which is terrible for the environment. Meanwhile they have signs on the room suggesting we decline to have the sheets and towels changed frenquently in order to "save the environment". It seems just like costs cut for me, not an honest speach. The staff was technically polite, but they made it very clear how much they dislike working in that hotel - no smiles, no helping, no motivation. The wi-fi did not work at all. I did not expect much from a Ramada Inn when I booked, but the defective wi-fi was too much for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest613,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Our hotel is conveniently located on Lexington Avenue in Murray Hill, which many guests find very convenient to attractions, while being a bit quieter than busier areas. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis and old towels and sheets are always replaced with newer ones. Unfortunately, we do not have the space to wash lots of re-usable dishes and utensils.
Our staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to work with them. We will also look into the WIFI issue you had.
Again, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#323 of 466 in New York City
2,738 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,546 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#282 of 466 in New York City
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#240 of 466 in New York City
2,315 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing