We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #300 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“Good location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A good location, but very poor service. When the soda machine stole a dollar, they refused to give it back. They even didn't put out an "out of service" sign.

The window couldn't close completely, so it was very noisy at night.
They always change the towels, even if you don't want them to.
At the lobby, they don't greet you when you come in or leave. They will do their very best to ignore as much as possible.
Fitness room is located in the basement and is a joke.

Breakfast was ok. Room was clean and location is good, but pretty much everything else sucks. Only stay here if there is no other hotel available

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear David V,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that the soda machine was not working properly. We do wish you had told us about the window. We could have had someone come in to fix it so it wasn’t so noisy for you.
Our staff is trained to be as friendly as possible. We will certainly remind them of this and apologize on their behalf to you.
Unfortunately, we do not have space available to create a larger, full-service fitness center. Nevertheless, we continually upgrade all equipment and ensure that free drinking water is available within along with free coffee and cappuccino nearby.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. We provide an excellent value and always have competitive rates, in addition to free wi-fi, domestic phone calls, and breakfast.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    788
    315
    76
    61
See reviews for
321
606
152
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in early January & couldn't fault the hotel at all. The free wi-fi & breakfast was a big factor in booking this hotel aswel as having a smoking room. The location was perfect as its only a 2 minute walk to the subway to either get you uptown or downtown. First time ever in NYC & we've booked the ramada to come back in December

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Unathletico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was the 3rd time we stayed at the Ramada. The rooms are always clean and the size is good. The breakfast is nice a nice way to start the day and the best is it's free. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to many attractions. The bed and pillows are comfortable. Our room had a microwave and refrigeration which was great so we always had cold drinks and a way to heat food. The only suggestion is that the bathrooms should have at least 2 towel bars to hang wet towels and for the hand towel. We will definitely stay at the Ramada again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 30th Street side, which is a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

From Penn Station it is a 10 minute walk straight down 30th St to the Ramada Eastside (so easy to find).We stayed for 4 nights from 22 Mar 2014. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the receptionist. The room we were allocated was rm711. Great view of the Empire State to the left and the Chrysler Building to the right. Room was warm, clean and a good size for New York with a very clean and good size bathroom. Flatscreen TV was good with good channels (even got to see a Premier League football gave live on ESPN). Free Wifi in the room worked very well and also had an iphone dock for charging. The bed was a good size and very comfortable with a temporpedic mattress. The price also included breakfast served from 6.30am and while basic (bagels, toast cereals, waffles and coffee) it was very good.
All of the big attractions are within walking distance from here, Empire State 10 mins, Macys 10 mins, Times Sq 15 mins and with the subway station only 2 mins away you can be in downtown in 10 mins aswell.
In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting New York. It scores well for price, location and cleanliness. If you are looking for 5* luxury the look elsewhere but The Ramada cannot be beaten for anyone looking for a base to explore this fantastic city.

Room Tip: We had room 711 which faced uptown and had great views of The Empire State and Chrysler Building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BreadmanIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nice little hotel in a good location, good size rooms, location conidered, rooms were clean equpped with a good size flat tv and a comfortable matress, everything was clean and we had a good time staying at this hotel, I would recommend this hotel due to the excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We travelled to NYC on New Years's Eve when all hotels are extremely expensive but we were really lucky to find Ramada that was an absolute gem for the price we paid in comparison with all other hotels we could have in this price range.
We had really spacious room on 12 floor with 2 comfortable queen beds and nice view on the city. Very simple design of bathroom but clean and convenient.
Perfect location- 1 block from subway and Park ave., 5 mins from Empire state and actually all central sights are accesible by feet. All area is safe and clean and comparatively quiet for the central location.
Complimentary breakfast. I'm not the fan of american budget breakfasts with plastic dishes and uneatable food but here I could take cereals, youghurts and fruits so it was OK for me.
Coffee maker and ironing set in the room.
Free wifi.
Attentive reception staff.
As all other in NYC the hotel is overpriced but as i said it was much better option than all other available in their price range.

Room Tip: Higher floors and street views are the best. Not so much noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalaMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Working in NY a couple of times a year over the last several years, I’ve stayed most often at the Ramada Eastside.

If you’re looking for a 5-star over-the-top-expensive Manhattan experience for a few hundred (or more) a night, this hotel isn’t for you.

However, if you’re looking for a somewhat older establishment that’s clean, in a great location, with a few niceties thrown in, check it out.

Rooms are average for New York; that is to say, quite small but perfectly serviceable unless you plan to spend all your time in the room - but who does that in New York?. Room amenities are standard chain-hotel fare but the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and the staff is never less than helpful. While I’m not exactly a monthly customer, I’m always greeted like and old friend, which helps after a tiring drive or flight.

Speaking of the help, I can’t say enough about Julie. Over the years Julie has been very helpful in assisting me whenever I have needed a little something or some inside knowledge about the area. It’s always good to hop out of the cab, got through the doors, and see her smiling face at check-in.

Ramada Eastside also offers a decent complimentary breakfast of lighter fare (toast, pastries, juices, bagels, cereals, etc.). It’s more than enough for anyone but those looking for the grand (expensive) NY breakfast. The hotel’s ideal location and amenities are reflected in its clientele, which seem to me to be a mixture of business people and tourists.

Need I say that room rates for Manhattan are amazingly reasonable?

When you check in, say hi to Julie for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing