We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in Midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #302 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    791
    321
    77
    62
See reviews for
326
610
153
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week over Easter. The staff are friendly (although there isn't much need to interact with them). The room was clean, and tidied daily, although a little on the small side (although this is NYC!!) the breakfast was good - a good selection and free although it can get busy and difficult to get a seat. The free wifi is easy to access and is great whilst on holiday. The location is good. You can walk to a few places and the subway is close by and easy to use. If we come back to NYC I'd happily come here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bpeters28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had room in 7th floor, all noise comes from the street like the window were open, so ear plugs are urgently needed to overnight. Don't accept a room lower than 9th floor. No mini fridge in the room, there is a ice machine in some floors to get cooling for your soda or beer. You can’t dry your towel, just hang it, so damp towels are a chronic problem. The safe is large enough for your laptop, that is excellent. Breakfast room is all too small, the meal is poor, just various breads, jam etc, and scrambled eggs, but not enough for all. No cheese, ham or veggies. Luke warm juice, yoghurt but not for all. All disposable: paper plates and cups, plastic forks and knives. A nightmare for all environmentalists. We had our solution - buying veggies and cheese from a shop. Our room was clean and neat. Bed was ok.

Room Tip: No lower floors, too much street noise through thin windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalleHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marekting & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear KalleHelsinki,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. New York City is known as the “city that never sleeps” so it can get a bit noisy in some of the rooms, depending on the position. However, we always try to take guests’ requests for quieter rooms into consideration.
We try to provide as much variety as possible for our free breakfast, and continually reevaluate our offerings to see where improvements can be made. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. Unfortunately, disposable plates and utensils are used because we do not have the space for dishes to be done. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.
We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again on your next visit.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, clean room with extremely comfortable bed and very good free wifi. Location is extremely central but without being in too busy a street. Breakfasts were nice although the selection was not huge. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again or recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheSmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel part of the Applecore hotels group. I was very happy with my room, the location was excellent, the room was immaculate, and friendly staff. I would stay here again! My only caveat was no room service and the vending machines only have soda, no snacks. Other than that, it is well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 276michaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A good location, but very poor service. When the soda machine stole a dollar, they refused to give it back. They even didn't put out an "out of service" sign.

The window couldn't close completely, so it was very noisy at night.
They always change the towels, even if you don't want them to.
At the lobby, they don't greet you when you come in or leave. They will do their very best to ignore as much as possible.
Fitness room is located in the basement and is a joke.

Breakfast was ok. Room was clean and location is good, but pretty much everything else sucks. Only stay here if there is no other hotel available

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear David V,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that the soda machine was not working properly. We do wish you had told us about the window. We could have had someone come in to fix it so it wasn’t so noisy for you.
Our staff is trained to be as friendly as possible. We will certainly remind them of this and apologize on their behalf to you.
Unfortunately, we do not have space available to create a larger, full-service fitness center. Nevertheless, we continually upgrade all equipment and ensure that free drinking water is available within along with free coffee and cappuccino nearby.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. We provide an excellent value and always have competitive rates, in addition to free wi-fi, domestic phone calls, and breakfast.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#319 of 468 in New York City
2,687 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#288 of 468 in New York City
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#246 of 468 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#204 of 468 in New York City
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing