We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #305 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in October. Room 1209 was a great size for a couple with a comfy bed, more than enough wardrobe and draw space for both of us, the air con and wifi worked well and the room had a good size bathroom which was clean and maintained throughout the week. There was a flat screen television, a coffee maker with cups and coffee provided.

This room we thought had a good street view. The buffet style breakfast had enough to choose from like cereals, fruit, yogurt and even doughnuts. It could get a little busy but we always managed to find somewhere to sit without having to wait. We’d read a few reviews in which people didn’t like the paper plates/bowls and plastic cutlery, but this really isn’t that bad, they do the job.

The location of the hotel was ideal for us as we were there to do all the touristy stuff as well as New York comic con. From outside the hotel you have a clear view of the Chrysler building which along with the Empire State building, Times Square and Grand central station is only a short walk away. We walked from the hotel to Central park it was about 24 blocks which took about 30 minutes and the Javits centre about 20 minutes.

We arranged transport back to the airport with the hotel staff it was cheaper than a taxi and collected us on time. Except for check in and out we didn’t really need assistance from the staff but they were polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Kelly M,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a great time in New York City.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    791
    322
    77
    62
See reviews for
326
611
153
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the Ramada Eastside for 3 nights in May and had a wonderful stay. The room was well equipped and the bed was so comfortable that we slept really well. The inclusive free breakfast gives you a great start to the day with a lot of choice. It is well located for the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and Times Square and we got the subway easily from Grand central to other parts of Manhattan. The staff were very helpful and gave us good restaurant advice. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher up would have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddimeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear maddimeg,
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we stayed here from the 7-11th june 2014, the room was good comfy beds good tv, everything you need really apart from no fridge in the room which we could of done with. The reception was temporary as they was having a refurb, the hotel needs a bigger breakfast area and more variety as there was bread, bagels, bananas apple yogurt that was it really for breakfast. The stay was ok beds very comfy but overall it was rather disappointing the whole hotel needs an update and a bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_Jade_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Melissa_Jade_11,
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovating the lobby and have temporarily moved the breakfast area to the lower level. We hope to have the breakfast room back upstairs, which has more space, by the end of July. We try to provide as much variety as possible for breakfast and we continually reevaluate our offerings to keep guests happy. There is a wine bar right next door to the main entrance on the street’s corner.
We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights on a short visit to NYC. The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel was just what we wanted as most of the time we were out exploring the city and was conveniently located. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked well and the air conditioning was appreciated as the weather was very warm during our visit. There was also free wifi. There are two clunky elevators to all floors which was useful as we had heavy suitcases. The one very big disappointment was on the second morning of our stay when we went down for breakfast the hotel had started quite major works on the reception area. The reception area was a building site and we had been given no prior warning. As a consequence the complementary breakfast was served in two dingy rooms in the basement compared to a designated room off of the reception area. There was no explanation about the works from the staff which should have been communicated to guests. I feel sorry for guests just arriving during this time as they were obviously not letting any guests know about the planned works. Having said that overall we enjoyed our stay the room was good, the breakfast was ok to start the day and the location was spot on. I would advise if you are looking to stay at this hotel that you contact them and ask when the works will be finished if you are concerned about the disruption.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Katherine S,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in New York City. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the construction in the lobby. We hope to be done with construction by the end of the summer.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

excellent location/nice room but heavy curtains don't close so the sun woke us up early, free breakfast was awful, cleaning staff nice/other staff rude/condescending (esp.manager) prob won't go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My advice - do not stay at the Ramada Inn - it is awful. We arrived at the Ramada Inn in early June 2014, expecting to stay for five nights. On arrival we found reception to be a temporary desk as there is building work going on at the moment. Reception staff were unhelpful. There was an additional tax charge made per night, which could not be explained to us. We then went to our room in a small lift that moves very slowly. The corridor outside the room was not very clean. The bedroom itself was very small with little room for storage. It had a damp musty smell and the carpet was not clean. The bed sheets looked like someone had already slept in the bed. We asked at reception if it would be possible to move room, but the receptionist was unhelpful with poor English and told us all rooms are the same.

Next morning we went for breakfast - in the basement amongst the storage rooms. Cheap tables & chairs covered with bed sheets as tablecloths & plastic/disposable cups, plates, cutlery. The small breakfast room was full, so we were directed across the hall to another room to sit & eat. A few tables against the wall in another small room, tables again covered with bed sheets. We then realised we were actually in the business centre room!!

We contacted our tour operator and promptly moved to the Row Hotel where we had a completely opposite experience - it was fantastic.

The Ramada Inn was awful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller962014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel @ New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear traveller962014,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We are currently undergoing renovations in our lobby, so we have temporarily moved the breakfast room to the lower level. We expect the renovations to be complete by September. We do charge a Javits fee and Occupancy tax to all guests, as it is a mandatory tax in New York City, so you will find it in all hotels.
Our rooms vary in size, but most are about average for hotel rooms in Manhattan.
Our staff works very hard to ensure that the rooms and hallways are cleaned. We are surprised that you found them to be dirty and will look into this.
We hope you will give us another chance when we have completed renovations. The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay on account of the excellent value we offer including the range of free amenities like WiFi, local phone calls and continental breakfast. Additionally, its location in a very desirable residential neighborhood and yet close to major attractions makes it very popular with those looking to stay in New York.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schijndel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Last week we stayed here for 8 nights. The price is good for what you get. Perfect location in midtown manhatten, close to the 6 line metro and within walking distance of empire state building and times square.
Breakfast is an nice extra, not very luxe but it gets you trough the morning.
The bed sleeps very well and shower is powerfull.

we would recomend this hotel to everybody who wants an hotel with good location and not to much money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickenbrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#319 of 468 in New York City
2,689 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,506 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
2,281 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing