We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent midtown location, tolorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #304 of 468 Hotels in New York City
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent midtown location, tolorable stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Booked on hotel web site in August. Stayed at this hotel in October for a week. Midtown, 3 blocks from 28th & Park Avenue MTA #6 Green Line station. Fantastic location. Old refurbished 12 story brown stone.
Toilet backup twice. Called Front desk. Housekeeper came promptly with plunger. Done.

Small room, sigh – that’s Manhattan. Queen size bed, small, two adults - squeeze. Excellent Tempur-Pedic mattress, very impressive. Bed frame and box spring squeaks every time we moved, very annoying. Choose room facing 30th Street side instead of facing Lexington Avenue. Quieter with less traffic; no view, but who care. Mini bath tub, sigh again. The rooms facing inside courtyard are the most quiet; but those are larger rooms with two queen beds.

Free WiFi internet access, slow but adequate; speed test 293kbps at 8am in the morning. Free breakfast, good. Free telephone call anywhere within USA, incredible. Air Conditioner effective cool the room quick, but may be too noisy to sleep while the AC was on. Requested housekeeping for extra blanket and bed sheet; delivered promptly.

No refrigerator, No microwave, sign request no food in room. Numerous restaurants and grocery within a block or two. We tried several better restaurants along 3rd Avenue. 32” LCD TV, with HBO movie channels, but video is NTSC analog 320x240 lowest fussy resolutions, what a shame. Clock is LCD without backlight and cannot be seen in the dark. Bathroom glass is unusual; particularly the bathroom light brightness would probably awaken another person sleeping in the room.

One night, there was no water. Next morning (the most expensive day of over $250 compare the rest of the week), the faucet water came out dark brown with smell. The hotel management was not smart enough to immediately deliver bottle to every guest, or did not care. Of course, they do know how to charge us the room in full. They said the city was working on water up the street. However, we, as guest had to go up the street and buy bottle water ourselves.

At check out, we were bill Sales Tax $15.57+ City Tax 10.31 + Javits Fee $1.50 + Occupancy Tax $2.00 every day. That is over 15% of the room charge, not shown in ramada.com when we booked the room. So beware, you cannot compare ramada.com reservation room charge with all other online booking reservation sites which always show total cost, including tax.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Young707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    792
    324
    77
    62
See reviews for
327
612
154
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2009

After searching for hours online, I am very satisfied to have found this hotel. Travelling with our two teenage children, having two queen size beds was a deal breaker. The desk staff was exceptionally friendly and I felt like the hotel was run by a warm family. Parking is just two blocks away (be sure to get your ticket stamped at the hotel). As I write this, I'm sitting in the room which is small yet appears to have been remodeled recently. I'm looking at tasteful artwork on the walls, a nice flat screen tv, crown molding along the ceiling and attractive lighting fixtures. The bathroom has great water pressure and a nice shower and showerhead. I wish the bathroom had an air vent and the door did not have partially frosted glass for greater privacy. The breakfast buffet was your basic continental variety. When we first arrived there was not much food, but after about 10 minutes the staff came to replenish. I wish we had cold water at the buffet to complement the juices, milk and coffee. We wanted to check in early and check out late, but because we were unable to do so, we stored our belongings in the locked luggage area with the very helpful assistance of one of the staff members. This was a great value and I will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I used to stay at this Ramada back in the late 90's and early 2000s because it was cheap, but it was nothing special. Well, much to my surprise, I stayed there on a budget trip to NY a couple weeks ago, and the place is still inexpensive, but COMPLETELY remodeled. The bed was amazing, the wireless free, the staff helpful and the entire experience was amazing. Close to the train, wine bar, great restaurants... I will stay her again, often, even when I can afford something more expensive.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blzjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I am not a fan of this particular chain of hotels having experienced some dumps around the country associated with this brand. The Ramada Eastside is the exception. First of all, the staff is awesome! A special thank you to Julie at the Front Desk, the woman put up with a lot yet managed to stay cheerful through her shift. The housekeeping gentlemen was always quick to deliver toiletries, towels and what nots when needed and I swear I think he lives there :) I was there for a week so I got to witness their professionalism for quite some time. Second, the room is compact but nicely appointed...and the bed put me into a deep, dreamy slumber every night. Only thing I did not like was that the chair kept on hitting the bed due to the small space between it and the desk (note to hotel: you may want to re-arrange that work space area a bit). Other than this little annoyance, it was a great experience and the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxValueSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My mom and I recently stayed at the Ramada Eastside for Thanksgiving to enjoy the Macy's parade. The hotel is in a good location and we could walk to everything. Continental breakfast is included in room price, which is nice. Our room was compact but very clean. We had a coffee maker (which is rare in NYC), flat screen tv, comfortable queen bed, and for the price and location, we would definitely stay here again. If you want a cozy, nice, quiet, clean, safe, convenient, and reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan, the Ramada Eastside is the best value!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

my husband and i stayed there for a 2 night stay. Our son is in the hospital and it is a very short walk to the hospital. The hotel was extremely clean and the room, though small, fit our needs. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast was what you would expect. We are booked to return this weekend and the following and will continue to use this hotel for as long as we need to keep returning to NY.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The room is tiny, but clean. The breakfast is crap. Except for the cleaning lady, and the guy at front desk, the staff is a shame.

If you are just looking for the best price, in a really nice location, go for it. But don't expect to be treated like a king.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#319 of 468 in New York City
2,692 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,511 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 468 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#246 of 468 in New York City
2,282 reviews
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#12 of 31 in Long Island City
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel @ New York City 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing