We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get the room we paid extra for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel @ New York City
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Shrewsbury, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't get the room we paid extra for”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We reserved this hotel room online.
On the website, we chose and paid a good
bit extra for a room with a king bed. However,
the actual reservation confirmation email said "large room".
We didn't notice, and when we got there, they stuck
us in a tiny room with a tiny bed. If "large room"
means about 12" on each side of the bed, I'd
like to know what the small rooms look like.
They were unwilling to resolve the problem.

Aside from this, the hotel was adequate.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    787
    315
    76
    61
See reviews for
320
606
152
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Great hotel value and service. Super clean room at a non NYC rate. Free breakfast in the morning. Rooms are small but execptionaly clean and just re-modeled. Tempur-pedic beds(great). Good location between downtown and midtown. Have stayed here bi monthly for over a year now.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiodice737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights. The room was nice and clean. The young lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Needed some towels a couple of times called the front the desk, had the towels in about 15 mins. Not far from the action in NY. the price was right, i would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raikes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed for a week - a work/pleasure combo trip. We had a few long work days and then attempted to see as much of the city as we could so it was important to us to get a good nights sleep and we did. We were on the 12th floor and couldn't hear any noise from our neighbors and not much from the street below. The room we were in was small but accommodated our luggage and equipment - a bit of a do it yourself place in terms of luggage. The location is good with a terrific little breakfast place two doors south. Subways a couple blocks away. Everyone was very nice, but especially Harry who saw to it that we could check out late and arranged for a car to the airport. Good price for a good place. Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Stayed at the Ramada Inn Eastside for 3 nights between 13th and 16th March 2010. Very clean and comfortable, quiet at nights, nice room with coffee/tea maker, ironing board and iron and large TV. Continental breakfast was very good, staff were helpful and it was in a great location. A great value hotel for a first time visitor to New York. I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishmanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Stayed a single Saturday night and the hotel was first rate. Checked in early (11AM) not expecting the room to be ready and we would just store our bags but our room was available. Room size was more then adequate for our purposes, a home base for the over night trip. Room was very clear with no evidence of past guests. Bed was very comfortable and the neighborhood very quiet over night. The hotel is three blocks from the Lexington Subway line under Park Avenue with stops at either 28 or 33rd Street with the hotel at 30th Street and Lexington. The nightly room rate for the service provided at a midtown Manhattan Island hotel couldn’t be beat and we intend to stay again next time we travel to New York City.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetbriarManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Can't complain.Stayed 3 nights with my wife in November.Courteous staff.Room cleaned daily (the cleaning lady was fab).The free complimentary breakfast came in handy.Free wifi and free phone calls within the US (landlines and mobile).Free access to the business centre.Good location within walking distance of most Manhattan attractions.They also helped arrange a shuttle back to the airport on departure (far cheaper than calling a cab).Will surely recommend this place to anyone needing a nice but cheap hotel to stay in NY.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#312 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel @ New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel @ New York City

Property: The Hotel @ New York City
Address: 161 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7305 (Formerly Ramada New York/Eastside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel @ New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at New York City offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel @ New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing