We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #280 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at the Gershwin Hotel this week, for two nights. The staff was really welcoming, the room spacious (i had a Deluxe King one) and the bed absolutely comfortable. New and beautiful bedding was appreciated. Moreover, the Gershwin Hotel is well located right in the middle of Manhattan.
I would certainly come back there.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mathilde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have seen a lot of people complaining about their stay at the Gershwin but it makes me wonder if they actually did have any problems, whether they informed the hotel staff. Yes we did have some problems, but nothing that couldn't be rectified and because the staff were so helpful and friendly, we honestly did not mind and didn't ruin our stay at all.
I have seen people complain about the heating not working in the rooms, we turned the radiator on by the hob on the radiator and the room did get very warm which was helpful when New York is so cold in December. The radiator is an old one so it did make some noise which is normal for the old radiators, so we had it on when we went out to dinner and then turned it off just before we went to sleep so it didn't keep us up and then turned it back on as soon as we woke up and heated up the room pretty quickly.
We thought the hot water wasn't working so we informed the staff at the desk and they sent someone up straight away. Apparently you need to leave the hot on for a while as it comes from the basement and we were on the 8th floor.
We locked ourselves out of our safe (our fault) and informed the hotel staff, someone came up and helped us straight away. So it does make me wonder if people on here let the staff know as the staff were so quick, friendly and efficient.
The room was cosy, the beds were very comfortable and definitely try the coffee from Birch Coffee as it is really good coffee!
Thanks for a lovely stay Gershwin!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xnesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have stayed in hotels around the world for over 40 years, and am used to living in developing countries, but the Gershwin is by far the worst I have ever experienced. I never write hotel or restaurant reviews but feel I must in this case as a public service. This hotel should not be open to the public. In the middle of winter the temperature in the room never got above 64 F/17C. and most of the time the heating, on a timer, was off in the bedroom and bath. There is one working elevator for the entire building meaning you wait 20-25 mins. to jam yourself into a packed elevator. The shower is freezing and has nowhere to place soap or shampoo so you must hold them as you bathe. The windows have wind blowing in all around the frame and the bottom. Workmen start pounding at 6 a.m. every day. I left early because the hotel was unbearable.

Room Tip: Don't stay there no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH3922013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good day,

Please accept my sincerest apologies. I know an apology doesn't change such an uncomfortable
expierience, but I do welcome an opportunity to personally discuss this situation with you.

Please contact me directly at jagosto@gershwinhotel.com.

Regards,

John David Agosto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

friendly staff allowed to check in early and check out late. Decent size room, no kettle, no fridge. the building was very old and needed work but this was compensated by good location and good price. very close to subway stations and 5th avenue.
The heating system is very old and comes on by a tamer decided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyhalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I'm not a fussy hotel guest, but this is a very substandard property. While the staff was courteous at the desk, I was not able to check into my room till almost 4pm on arrival day, apparently because they don't enforce check-out times for guests who are departing that day. Quite an inconvenience. When I finally got into the room, need to rush to shower before a dinner date, I found the hot water out. Maintenance was underway on the boilers. (Couldn't they have considered their guests and done this work during night-time hours?) The cold shower was an unwelcome surprise. The toilet valve was loose and ran water all night. (At least the quasi-white noise was helpful sleeping.) The next morning, I was awakened at 8:45 am sharp with jackhammering in the room above my 8th floor room. Nice. The basic room did not have a desk of any kind. Electric outlets were hard to come by, and one I finally found was old and would not hold a two-prong iPhone charger without falling out of the wall.

I know this probably sounds fussy. Really I'm not that way at all. Very simply I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I read some of the other reviews and I guess your experience depends on your level of expectation. I expected more for $250 a night. My room is small and has no character. No artwork on walls. Windows that are old, drafty, and dirty, overlooking a brick wall, and offering no sound dampening for outside traffic. Hotel is noisy with old wood floors and no carpets to dampen sound. No coffee maker in room. Two mismatched uncomfortable chairs. All but one slow elevator is broken. Valet parking is expensive and not at all convenient. I had to double park and get honked at for 5 minutes before being helped. Check in was slow. Lobby smells bad. Location is good though. Flat screen is nice, but channel selection limited. Best for folks who plan to spend all their time out and about and just need a place to park their things and try and sleep.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sooz830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Don't stay here unless you really need cheap. Noisy, dirty rooms, under construction ( let's hope that start from scratch). I appreciate a bargain and can deal with OK to whatever hotels but this one was one of the worst I have ever stayed in---anywhere! Don't do it.

Room Tip: Call and see if they have renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mclooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron Hotel
#387 of 473 in New York City
808 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 473 in New York City
492 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#279 of 473 in New York City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#295 of 473 in New York City
1,098 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#299 of 473 in New York City
706 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 473 in New York City
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £102 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing