We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine experience”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #297 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Other
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fine experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel service is good. The hotel itself is a little old, but okay. Front desk staff was nice and helpful. Bellboy constantly asked if I needed anything. A little too much, but he was friendly. They did not have tooth paste to provide since I forgot mine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    812
    392
    134
    90
See reviews for
355
714
176
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is a nice basic and very clean hotel The building itself is older but lots of charm. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.
The location was perfect! Walking distance to the subway and to the lovely Madison Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matildah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Matildah,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentiveness staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. As you may have experienced, the Empire State and the Flatiron Buildings are minutes away. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After a flight diverted to Boston and with 7 hour delay we arrived at the hotel where desk people told about a problem booking with a group, we were going to be diverted to other "luxury stay" previously paying 5 nigths at the Gershwin.
This stay (Edison Hotel)was terrible and we phoned Gershwin the first nigth (first minutes after enter in the room), the first morning (international calls), afternoon and after two nigths at Edison Hotel, we showed up in Gershwin to ask for our room (no facilities to translate Gershwin-Edison-Gershwin).
On our second night at the Gershwin hotel we witnessed the same scene with another couple. Desk people told they had to be diverted to another hotel because problems in a group booking.
Coincidence? does not seem.

The hotel is currently being refurbished and its booking and detour to other hotels methods are not serious

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco Javie... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location was good and suited my needs. The people on the reception desk were very helpful. The only negative was that the Wifi kept cutting out after a few minutes if you were not constantly using it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just spent 7 nights here with my wife and after arriving quite late we just wanted to sleep in order to be ready for the week ahead. Sleep was a none starter, our room was at the front and builders were going at it till 3am. The room was tiny and in need of refurbishment and the bathroom was to small, your legs would be pressed together sat on the toilet! Saying that we pointed this out and the staff could not of been more helpful. We were found a room to the rear of the hotel which was much larger and quite.
The staff are outstanding and very helpful and offer plenty of advice about New York.
The hotels location could not be better for us, Empire State just 10 minutes and the Tube Station the same. Quite interesting being next to the Sex Museum if your a couple :)
WiFi was dodgy, constantly dipping out, but if your in New York to stay in the hotel you have the wrong city.
Overall the location and staff are excellent and worth staying here if you get the right room and appreciate it's being refurbished.
Reading other reviews we must of received two rooms that had not been refurbished, attention to detail wouldn't go a miss but would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good situation but hotel is in the middle of a restoration. The room I had overlooked the street and was very noisy - hopefully the refurb will bring better insulation. Quality of bed linen and toiletries was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Wonderful customer service, small room, however great experience overall. Received 5 star treatment and will definitely be returning on my next stay in NYC!
Hotel staff was very friendly and eager to share places to sight see and eat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#336 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#294 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing