We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Evelyn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The MAve Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Broadway Plaza Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
The NoMad Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James New York-NoMad(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Flatiron Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ace Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Redbury New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Senton Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveller rating
668
901
437
147
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
901
437
147
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbirch coffeegreat locationflatiron buildingnew yorkmadison square parkempire statearound the cornerboutique hotelrooms are smallcentral locationpenn stationtimes squaregershwinrenovationlobbynyctiles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,512 - 1,517 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

People there was really nice and helpful, but we where a bit disappointed when we got our room. The pictures on their site looks very nice and new, but the paint was falling of and it all looked a bit more trashy than expected. We soon got used to it though, and it was very nice and clean with a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Maria T,
We highly value your comments. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel, we are confident you will be satisfied with our restoration. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in one of our restored rooms.Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to make arrangements.
I thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts.

Regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect at the hotel, I know it has quite a history but I loved it, the hotel is going through a HUGE restoration so that was a concern but they were very honest and work did not start until after 8am so that was fine with me. I could glimpse some of the new areas and they look amazing, I cannot wait to come back and see the changes. Good luck...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Scott M.,
Thank you very much for such wonderful words of encouragement! We certainly have had our challenges and we are slowly seeing the results. There is certainly a lot of history in our building and the area as well.
We look forward to have again very soon.
Regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

service overall was poor, no hot water, under construction, rooms on internet did not depict the room I stayed in, late check in, location was excellent, I quess you get what you paid for, very disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Maryann A,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We profusely apologize for lack of hot water and spotty internet. We are really excited to let you know that we are addressing all this issues with the ongoing restoration, we are confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in one of our restored rooms. It would be a pleasure to extend a friends and family rate. We do hope you will allow us to make this up to you.
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We asked for a 2 single and 1 Queen/king bedroom we needed 3 beds in 2 private spaces it was as asked and also they have a shared room area for budget travelers and rent safety deposit boxes. Unless you want to pay 400.00 USD a night you aren't gonna get a big room in NYC its quit expensive. But we had everything we needed for a 3 night stay. You never spend time at the hotel anyways Because NYC is to enjoy all day you never get bored.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The room was adequate. Nothing fancy, but clean with a beautiful bed. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again for a night or two. Since you're in Manhattan you won't be in your room much anyway and this place was very close to the action!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews