We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting There!”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #294 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Getting There!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

For my recent visit, NYC hotel room rates were staggeringly high-priced and inventory was scarce. The Gershwin piqued my interest due to its convenient location and the fact that it was approximately $100 a night cheaper than other mid-range hotels. I prepaid my room at the time of reservation so as to avail myself of a substantial discount. Then I read recent reviews of the property and concluded I had made a terrible mistake. However, since my reservation was non-refundable, I was stuck with my decision and checked-in with low expectations. Perhaps those low expectations helped somewhat, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The Pros: Throughout my stay, the front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. My room was on one of the remodeled floors and was well-appointed and clean, quiet, and had a comfortable bed, free WiFi and great AC. Everything in my room appeared new. The location is hard to beat—close to many subway lines and within walking distance to many attractions and businesses.

The Cons: The property is undergoing an extensive renovation. Consequently, the lobby is a “work in progress” as is true for other areas of the hotel. Due to construction, only one passenger elevator was available for guests, which made for occasional delays. By modern standards, the rooms are small, but designed in a way to maximize space.

Considering the price and the fact that the pros outweighed the cons, my recent stay helped to dispel my preconceived concerns. I had wanted to rate The Gershwin as “Good” but there is no choice between “Average” and “Very Good.” I gave The Gershwin the benefit of the doubt and rated it “Very Good.” That said, my four-star rating does not mean I think The Gershwin is a four-star hotel. It earns its stripes for what it is, a mid-range hotel in a decent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Michael B,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff and delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel's central location. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. I'm confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    827
    397
    136
    90
See reviews for
364
733
178
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you're looking for the floor space and express elevators of your typical chain hotel, you're in the wrong place. However, if you're looking to find a hotel with character, really nicely furnished rooms (top floors at the moment) and staff who are super-friendly, then you should try The Gershwin.

The location is great - I can get to most meetings from here within 15/20mins either side of town. There's also a 24 Hour Fitness centre literally across the road which is $20 a time. Refurbishment is going on right now on the lower floors, but it really isn't too much bother - I don't hear or see anything on the 11th floor.

Clearly the owners are investing a lot of money to get the place right. Independent hotels like these should be supported ... its great value too, do check it out.

Room Tip: Right now ... try and get one of the newly fitted out rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chidgster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Chidgster,
I am delighted you were impressed with our friendly and attentiveness staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Even though this hotel is under construction, it was very quiet and you would have never known. All the staff are very very helpful and kind. I will ALWAYS stay here during my future visits. Love this place!!!!! Cant wait to see final renovation!! It is a very quiet street at night, which was wonderful for those of us who are not use to the noise of the city while we are sleeping. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Angel E.,
We highly value your comments. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel, we are confident you will be satisfied with our restoration. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts.
Regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foggia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Under New Management!?!?!!
Really small rooms! Pretty small bed. Hot and cold water don't work properly, water temperature changes while showering. If its raining the noise of it falling on the air conditioning is horrible!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciccio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ciccio s,
We deeply apologize for the disturbances; we are in the process of correcting the issues you've experienced during your stay. Central air system and new plumbing are certainly just two of our main changes throughout this restoration. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at Hotel. I know an apology doesn't change such an uncomfortable experience, we can only hope you give us an opportunity to make it up to you. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in one of our restored rooms.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've been there for a week from the 31st of May till the 7th of June. The hotel is in a perfect position for tourists who whould like to discover NYC. The structure is quite old even it is in renovation... this cause some noises starting from 8.00 am in the morning... The room we had was renewed and pretty nice but the restroom was still old and not so big. unfortunately the window was on the internal side of the building and the view was poor, but no matter if you are in NYC you'll not spent so much time in the hotel!!! cleaning is in average every day the towels were changed but not the bath was not cleaned every day. Good free WiFI service in the room and in the hall where there are also 2 pc available for hosts. Very gentle staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistral975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Mistral975,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We apologize for the housekeeping inconvenience; we will make sure to address this with our staff. We are very excited with the hotel’s restoration and we certainly expect to meet all our guest's expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First impression from the outside of hotel, lobby and lift was that it was very dated and needed refurbishment, but on entering the floor and by room was pleasantly surprised. Nicely decorated, very clean and had all amenities I needed. The most pleasing thing was the hotel staff. They were extremely friendly and attentive. Would certainly stay at this hotel again as it is also well located and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Anthony N,
We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel's central location, as well as out attentive staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to have again very soon.
Regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quispamsis
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had an updated room. It was really nice. The parts of hotel that were under construction looked a little sketchy. But the great staff and awesome location made up for it. Great coffee shop next door with hotel breakfast deal too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Kelly D,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location and highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. Thank you for kind words as we are still a working progress. We look forward to welcome you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,969 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#335 of 468 in New York City
770 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#131 of 468 in New York City
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#265 of 468 in New York City
286 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 468 in New York City
651 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing