We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, clean and tidy”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Lovely staff, clean and tidy”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a weeks stay at the Gershwin Hotel. After traveling around the US for 6 weeks prior it was nice to be greated by friendly and helpful staff and have a reasonably spacious room for 2 of us to share. The room was clean as tidy and pleasent to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannahrose90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Hannahrose90,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. I highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    833
    398
    139
    92
See reviews for
369
742
181
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms and bathrooms are pretty old, though to be fair - clean and kept in decent shape. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is nice, but surrounded by construction, which actually causes noise starting as early as 8am. The stay was ok, but for this price I'd probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mariya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mariya F,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our good service. We are slowly increasing the number of renovated rooms, I’m confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in one of our restored rooms.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

i stayed in both a new room and and one of the older non renovated rooms. The new room is fantastic nice finishes and good sized for NY. The old room looks like a setting from a bad NY 70's cop drama! The services were a bit limited as the hotel is under renovation and there are no coffee pots in rooms. The old rooms have iron in the room. The renovated rooms you must call for an iron. OMG the bathrobes in the reno suite are to die for - loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Melissa B,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. Thank you for kind words as we are still a working progress. We look forward to welcome you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huhmari
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

commented on the first page
Excellent staff
Poor elevator conditions, takes too long and you don´t want to walk the stairs to 11th floor every time
excellent place for the hotel
Something to be done about the noise?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Kaisa S,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We profusely apologize for slow elevator. We are really excited to let you know that we are addressing all this issues with the ongoing restoration, we are confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We turned in the broken blowdryer on the first morning and requested another one be sent to the room. However, by the time we left on morning 4, no hairdryer had been delivered to the room. Luckily, a friend was also staying at the hotel and I was able to borrow the blowdryer each morning from the friend's room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Carol B,
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience; we will make sure to address this with our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was a great hotel in a good location pretty close to everything just the cable Channels didn't come in clear everything else was great I would suggest others to stay here a little expensive but I thought it was worth it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear George M,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are in the process of correcting the issues you've experienced during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

For my recent visit, NYC hotel room rates were staggeringly high-priced and inventory was scarce. The Gershwin piqued my interest due to its convenient location and the fact that it was approximately $100 a night cheaper than other mid-range hotels. I prepaid my room at the time of reservation so as to avail myself of a substantial discount. Then I read recent reviews of the property and concluded I had made a terrible mistake. However, since my reservation was non-refundable, I was stuck with my decision and checked-in with low expectations. Perhaps those low expectations helped somewhat, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The Pros: Throughout my stay, the front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and efficient. My room was on one of the remodeled floors and was well-appointed and clean, quiet, and had a comfortable bed, free WiFi and great AC. Everything in my room appeared new. The location is hard to beat—close to many subway lines and within walking distance to many attractions and businesses.

The Cons: The property is undergoing an extensive renovation. Consequently, the lobby is a “work in progress” as is true for other areas of the hotel. Due to construction, only one passenger elevator was available for guests, which made for occasional delays. By modern standards, the rooms are small, but designed in a way to maximize space.

Considering the price and the fact that the pros outweighed the cons, my recent stay helped to dispel my preconceived concerns. I had wanted to rate The Gershwin as “Good” but there is no choice between “Average” and “Very Good.” I gave The Gershwin the benefit of the doubt and rated it “Very Good.” That said, my four-star rating does not mean I think The Gershwin is a four-star hotel. It earns its stripes for what it is, a mid-range hotel in a decent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Michael B,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff and delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel's central location. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. I'm confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#153 of 467 in New York City
3,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#134 of 467 in New York City
3,334 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#279 of 467 in New York City
300 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing