We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gershwin hotel”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lindenhurst, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gershwin hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

staff at the front desk and bell hop service were friendly and very helpful, especially antrelle. Room was new and nicely appointed and came with free Wi-Fi. only slight problem was shower water took several minutes to get hot otherwise everything was great, I would stay again.

Room Tip: do not really need tips they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Fred S,
I am delighted you were impressed with our friendly and attentiveness staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcome you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    833
    398
    139
    92
See reviews for
369
742
181
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is close to the Madison square park and just a few blocks away from several subway stations that will take you to any location in NYC. Most parts of the hotel were under renovation but they gave us a newly refurbished room which is very comfortable. I find that the only lift is rather slow, but I think they will fix it along side with the other renovations. The ridiculously friendly and accommodating staff will make your stay extra amazing. By that alone, I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again next time i'm in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianwadeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear brianwadeJ,
I am delighted you were impressed with our friendly and attentiveness staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel; I'm confident you will be satisfied with end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It shall likely transform from a hostel to a hotel once the refurbishing is completed. (See foregoing comments.) Good location for my needs.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theodore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Theodore M.,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. Looing forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Gershwin is in the remodeling process, but you wouldn't know it. From the time I stepped into the lobby and throughout my visit, everyone was accommodating and the hotel is immaculate.
I will definitely make this my hotel of choice for my NYC trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tammy H.,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. Thank you for kind words. We look forward to welcome you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location, WONDERFUL staff, bed and linen wonderful! Bathroom huge but needs toilet cover and shelf to hang stuff. TV was too small for size of room. The view from the window...:( . All will improve post renovation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gab809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Gab809,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation; I'm confident you will be satisfied with end result. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a good stay and the staff was very helpful. They always had a smile.
Close to everything. Didn't have a great view, but it was worth the money in sleep. Bed was very comfortable! There was a great cafe, cafe28, that we went to next door that had a huge variety of food/beer.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent our first night in an un-renovated room, which was not great. Not very nice and the room didn't lock. However, once upgraded to a renovated room the hotel was 100 times better. Excellent staff!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#153 of 467 in New York City
3,022 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#134 of 467 in New York City
3,334 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#279 of 467 in New York City
300 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Property: The Evelyn
Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing