We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, wait until it's done”
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Evelyn
Ranked #290 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 August 2014

as the hotel is renovating, it could be noisy and the only workable elevator was slow too.
Yet, other than that, I love this hotel, it's surprisingly clean, nice, vintage.
I am sure I will not get the same rate on my next visit, it will be a great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chi Yuan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Chi Yuan S.,
Thank you for choosing The Gershwin Hotel. We are really excited to let you know that we are addressing all this issues you’ve experienced during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for The Evelyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

WOW I have stayed at this hotel several times and I love the location but the hotel was in DESPERATE need of a remodel. Now on my return to the hotel the remodel has begun and it is amazing, the details in the rooms are wonderful and I loved the bathroom with the sheet music tile, also the chandeliers that look like parts from trumpets really bring back the historical and musical past of this hotel. As always the staff at this hotel is TOP notch, I will be back and I want that suite again!!!

Room Tip: I had a suite on the 8th floor and loved it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveltheworldfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Traveltheworldfun,
We are delighted you were impressed with the hotel and the renovated rooms. We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Gorgeous Hotel... small, neat, beautiful room with musical details. I loved the style of the entire building. The only problem is the elevator which is VERY slow. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Shellen K.,
Thank you for choosing The Gershwin Hotel. We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We apologize for the inconvenience of the slow elevator. We are in the process of getting new brand new ones! I look forward to welcoming you back on your next New York City visit.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent service. You also get a voucher for free coffee (and refills) with the purchase of breakfast at he Play cafe next door. The location was convenient (good to commute from to midtown east or west.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sujeidyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear sujeidyr,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value your comments regarding our service and pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in August. Location really good, near Broadway and middle of new York. Walking distance to time square. Positives: Great staff, always helpful. Booked restaurant for us and gave advice. Negatives: there is building work going on in the hotel which is really noisy and disruptive. We did mention to staff and they moved us to an alternative room further from the builders which was better. Elevator was so slow and no option due to stairs out of use with building work. Overall great place to stay and would recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bennie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Bennie55,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff and delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel's central location. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience; we are in the process of correcting the issues you've experienced during your stay. I'm confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent six nights here with my best buddy in a queen room to celebrate my big birthday. We laughed when we saw the size of the room. "good thing we like each other!" we knew the hotel was under renovation so were a bit nervous about what we would find. It was not bad. Exterior is under scaffolding and lobby has not been touched. But they are putting guests only in renovated rooms. We were on the eleventh floor so weren't bothered by construction noise, just some dust. The room, though small, was spotless, the bed was amongst the most comfortable I've slept in for a long time (very soft). The downside is noise. It seems like the door and windows are paper thin.You hear every noise in the hallway and the garbage truck arrives outside at 7 a.m. But for the rate they were charging we really could not complain. Lift was also slow but then again, we weren't in a hurry.The staff were super friendly and helpful. Location is very convenient--24-hour deli/supermarket around the corner, ATM across the street, walking distance to restaurants and shopping, plentiful taxis.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the end of the hall, farthest from the lift, would be quietest.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestintheEast1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear WestintheEast1964,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location and highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We are excited to let you know that we are in the process of changing all the windows and brand new elevators will be installed. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay very soon.
Regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having flown in from the UK at 4am, no sleep and the onset of jet lag were seriously kicking in. Well, as you can imagine, when we checked in and were told we had actually booked into a 10 person room with ONE bathroom, I could have literally died. We walked into a room of snoring people, no aircon and even worse, my friend was separated from us into a hostel room upstairs with a group of men!! When we went down to reception to kindly ask if our friend could move into our room, we were simply told 'no'. We snuck her in anyway, there was no way we were leaving her up there being the only female amongst 9 men.

I understand us booking into the hostel was not the hotels fault and I really do emphasise that this was our fault. However, the receptionists' attitudes absolutely stank. Having genuine concern over a friend who felt uncomfortable sharing a 10 bed room with 9 men, we would have thought they would be more helpful - well they couldn't have cared less.

Also, if you do choose to stay in a hostel I would seriously reconsider. Save up a couple more bucks and try and get a hotel room!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danielle5820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Evelyn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear danielle5820,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The Gershwin was once a Hostel and did very well in that category, however since late 2012, the hotel took on a new management and a lot of improvements with it. One of the first upgrades were keeping all private rooms only, upgrading furniture and décor. We are currently transitioning to a full restoration of the building. We sincerely hope that if your travels find you in NYC again, we would welcome an opportunity to give us a try and make up for the bad experience you had in the past. If you would like to see some pictures of our renovated rooms, please visit our website www.gershwinhotel.com
With warm regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#140 of 468 in New York City
3,108 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#356 of 468 in New York City
785 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 468 in New York City
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,410 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 468 in New York City
511 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#190 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £142 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing