We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with classic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #242 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel with classic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located across from the NYC Public Library and Bryant Park. A short walk to Times Sq. Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station. Great friendly staff and the cleanest rooms. Many sestaurants and good shopping nearby. A great spot right off
5th Avenue

Room Tip: Higher storied rooms available for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdonov54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review of your stay with us! I will ensure to share your comments with our staff. Thank you for choosing us as your NYC hotel and we hope you'll be back again! Best - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    341
    150
    41
    21
See reviews for
308
140
39
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

First trip to New York and wanted a central location. We hit the jackpot with this Courtyard. Warmly welcomed after our transatlantic flight (Meredith?) and got a front corner room on 24th floor. Apparently, higher the quieter. Everything worked and the room was comfortable and clean. No breakfasts here, but hey this is New York. Found a good breakfast joint in Pershing Square short walk away if you are not keen on the Golden Arches. View from our room? This is New York !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DJgilesCV35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a phenomenal review of our hotel! Our location is, indeed, one of the very best in Manhattan! I will ensure Meredith hears your kind review as well! Thank you again and we hope you will stay with us next time you visit NYC! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while on a vacation to New York and Canada. We were greeted at the door by George, one of the bellmen. He assisted us graciously with our luggage and car and brought us to our room. While the view from the room was of another building, we didn't spend enough time in the room for it to matter. The room was clean and the hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miker1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for providing us with this feedback from your stay! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure to pass your kind words onto to George. Thank you again and best wishes! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My stay was really pleasant. The hotel is in a very good location and it was easy for me to get around the city, with the Bryant Park subway station a block away. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable when I needed advice. The room was a good size by NY standards, clean and comfortable. The only inconvenience was that one lift was out of order for part of my stay, but this was beyond the hotel's control to some extent and they managed the issue as best they could. I would stay again if I visit NY in the future.

Room Tip: Don't choose level 5 or 25 as the ice machines on these floors are really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! I'm so sorry you experienced our elevator maintenance project which was, indeed, out of our control. Thank you for your patience during that period and I am happy it did not negatively affect your stay! Best wishes and we hope to see you again next time you're in NYC! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

After reading reviews prior to booking I wasn't expecting much in room size so I was pleasantly surprised by our room - Twin Room with 2 double beds that were one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The room was plenty big enough for 2 and the bathroom a good size as well. The location was the key, we walked everywhere from there and eating bagels for breakfast from Devon Blakely around the corner and going to Bryant Park to eat it was excellent.
Customer service was good..I would say however the concierge on (sorry don't remember his name) was obviously having a bad day when we arrived, we were early so he had to store our bags...this was done grumpily and also quite harshly pulling the bags and banging them all over the place trying to get them into the lift. There was no welcome, can I help you with directions or getting a perspective on where we were. All other concierge's were excellent and more than helpful.
Julie the office manager was extremely helpful in clarifying the final bill when it became apparent the 'reservation' system had overcharged us. This was rectified quickly.
All in all a good hotel - reasonably priced for New York and more than comfortable for twin room sharing.
One tiny note - if you are going to have welcome cards in the room make sure they are the name of the guests - I assume ours was for the previous people.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank southaussiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review your stay with us! While I am concerned about the service you experienced with our bellman, I assure you this will be discussed and used to prevent any future behavior like your witnessed. I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Otherwise, I am very happy that our location and overall guest service left you with a positive impression of our hotel. Thank you again and safe travels! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jvo621
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, just for a quick getaway. I consider this hotel a real find for us and we would stay here again. The location and neighborhood can’t be better – midtown near Bryant Park, 5th Ave, the Library and walking distance to Rockefeller Center and Times Square (without all of that bustle and noise.) We walked from Penn Station and we walked to Central Park. Check in and check-out were quick and all staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful.
It is a small cozy hotel, beautifully appointed with new, stylish modern furnishings. The room with 1 queen bed was generously sized by NYC standards. The two of us were plenty comfortable. Such a comfy bed. Nice flat screen TV and good lighting. The wall-to-wall window was wonderful although we did not have such a great view (19th floor). Nice size closet with enough hangers and plenty of drawer space. The bathroom was a good size too, also stylish and modern and the shower was fantastic. Plus – Paul Mitchell amenities! All very clean, room, hallway, lobby, elevators.
We were afraid that we would hear the elevator all night but we didn’t hear it at all. However, even being on the 19th floor, we did hear lots of street noise from sirens, trucks and honking horns. We expect those noises in any city so it didn’t bother us, but I just wanted to make note of it in my review. And in the morning we did hear lots of doors of the other guest rooms opening and slamming and lots of talking in the hallway.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvo621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Wow - what a wonderful and detailed review from your stay! Thank you for your kind words and review - I will be sure to pass it along to our team of associates! Best - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is ideally situated, very friendly and had the most comfortable mattress ever!
I stayed in room 1602 so was very quiet with no street noises, etc. Loved the location so close to Grand Central; took the New Yorker bus from LGA and a very easy walk from the station. We were able to very quickly check our bags and take off for the day. Check in was friendly and quick, and the deli next door is unbelievable!! One of the most pleasant hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvmkathymurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback! During our renovation that was completed this May, we outfitted our guest rooms with new luxurious mattresses, linens and pillows so I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our new amenities! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back for future stays in NYC! Best - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing