We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #235 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel in NYC!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

When coming to NYC to visit our daughter, we always book a room here. The locations is by far the best; walk to Grand Central, walk to the subway, walk to Time Square, walk to Bryant Park and yet away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are very clean, beds way too comfy and the front desk most helpful. The restaurant next door has Starbucks coffee and continental breakfast, and the bodega also next door has whatever else one needs. Staying here is a no brainier! Just make sure you book at this particular Courtyard as there are a few nearby and this one is the best!

Room Tip: Queen rooms facing the city are lovely, light and bright. Quiet is not an option in any hotel in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Wow - what a fantastic review! THANK YOU for your kind words. I will share your response with our team as I'm sure they will be thrilled to know that you favor our hotel out of all of the properties in NYC. We appreciate and thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    358
    154
    43
    21
See reviews for
324
144
39
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Typical of what I had expected in New York. It was high season so this was one of cheaper places and of reasonably good quality. Rooms were clean and had free wifi. There were 2 lifts, one was out of order on one evening but it was quickly fixed when we came back from dinner so they're pretty efficient. It's New York so while I was surprised at first to see the people working in the office right opposite when I looked outside the room window, the simple solution was just to pull the blinds down for privacy - not an issue. The only thing were the walls are a bit thin, so we could hear the people at the lifts - maybe guests should be a bit more considerate of others especially in the middle of the night!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for providing us feedback from your stay at our hotel! I apologize that you experienced a problem with our elevators and hope this caused you no inconvenience. I hope you had a wonderful visit in NYC and that we'll see you again upon your next trip to the big city! Thank you again and safe travels - Justin Scarpa. General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A great location, right in the middle of everything. Service was also very good at the front desk. However with one working lift, the wait and inconvenience of having to wait, cram into a lift and be going down to the basement with the staff before going up was annoying. The room was nicely down out and I've certainly stayed in worse in NY, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and spacious. The free wifi was also quick and easy to hook up to. Do not both with the breakfast. Appalling selection. You get a voucher allowing you 3 things from the selection! Really, the 'selection' was dreadful. some fruit - apples, the bakery - a couple of dry muffins & cereal. The coffee was even worse and the miserable, unhelpful, bored member of staff who read his paper and uttered mono-syllabic grunts was the low point of this hotel. But if you avoid this and enjoy breakfast at Blooms a few blocks away, this is a good location to enjoy 5th Avenue.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MuzJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for providing us both your positive and negative impressions from our stay with us. I am very pleased that our accommodations and staff met your expectations and were able to make your stay enjoyable! We did unfortunately have to put one of our elevators out of service for a short time due to an unavoidable maintenance project. Although we understand the wait may have been frustrating, we require that our hotel uphold the highest safest standards to ensure our guests are safe and secure. I personally apologize if this delay caused you any inconvenience or frustration. In regards to the service and offering you experienced at Salmon River - they are operated and managed independently of our hotel and therefore are not within our Marriott name. I am, however, very sorry this experience hindered the enjoyment of your stay. Salmon River is actually at this time closed and the space is under renovation for a new operation to take its place. This project is aimed at enhancing our guest experience and I hope when you search for NYC hotels again, you will consider returning to our property and experiencing a new restaurant! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff here was so helpful and friendly and the location was very convenient. Comfortable rooms and beds made our stay most enjoyable. The bell men were so courteous and gave us superior assistance!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAryKayKac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for this outstanding review from your stay with us! I am very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I will also share your kind words with our bellstaff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again next time you are in NYC! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located across from the NYC Public Library and Bryant Park. A short walk to Times Sq. Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station. Great friendly staff and the cleanest rooms. Many sestaurants and good shopping nearby. A great spot right off
5th Avenue

Room Tip: Higher storied rooms available for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdonov54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review of your stay with us! I will ensure to share your comments with our staff. Thank you for choosing us as your NYC hotel and we hope you'll be back again! Best - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

First trip to New York and wanted a central location. We hit the jackpot with this Courtyard. Warmly welcomed after our transatlantic flight (Meredith?) and got a front corner room on 24th floor. Apparently, higher the quieter. Everything worked and the room was comfortable and clean. No breakfasts here, but hey this is New York. Found a good breakfast joint in Pershing Square short walk away if you are not keen on the Golden Arches. View from our room? This is New York !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DJgilesCV35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a phenomenal review of our hotel! Our location is, indeed, one of the very best in Manhattan! I will ensure Meredith hears your kind review as well! Thank you again and we hope you will stay with us next time you visit NYC! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while on a vacation to New York and Canada. We were greeted at the door by George, one of the bellmen. He assisted us graciously with our luggage and car and brought us to our room. While the view from the room was of another building, we didn't spend enough time in the room for it to matter. The room was clean and the hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miker1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for providing us with this feedback from your stay! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure to pass your kind words onto to George. Thank you again and best wishes! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#231 of 466 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
740 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#144 of 466 in New York City
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#152 of 466 in New York City
968 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#139 of 466 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#89 of 466 in New York City
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing