We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #306 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I thought this was a great hotel made even bette by the reasonable rates. Booked a double and the room had enough room to move around the beds and open doors; which not always possible in NYC hotels! The room was updated and clean. I would stay here again with the family for a visit to NYC. I was a little surprised that the elevators did not require a room key, but that is a minor note.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kato72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you very much for providing us with this feedback from your stay! I am glad you found our accommodations to be comfortable and of a decent size. I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and I hope you'll stay with us again upon your next trip to NYC! Best wishes - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

At the risk of further exposing a great NYC hotel, the welcoming staff and comfortable room made my recent stay at the 40th Courtyard a pleasure, as usual. The central location and updated rooms are nice, but it is the Courtyard team-members, such as Sophia, Kenya, Eddie and, of course, Frank, who will put a smile on your face and keep you coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Chris - thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. I will make sure to pass along your praise to Kenia, Eddie, Sophia and Frank. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Overall a bit pricey. Great location. Room a little small but helps to get you to go out in city and explore. Loved having the coffee station to go to in the morning. The beds and bedding, pillows etc.were very comfortable. I spent the weekend there with girlfriends and we all felt the same. Having the picture window in room with a bit of a view was also enjoyed. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisaJVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I hope you and your girlfriends had a great time in NYC! I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel's new bedding and found the location to be convenient to your sightseeing. Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we'll see you all back again! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We arrived late in the evening; the check-in person was very courteous and answered all our questions. The room was up to date, clean, and cozy. The location is excellent. We had a great stay and plan on returning. Recommend going to the food court next door as it has many options for food at reasonable prices; we got great sandwiches to take on the plane.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am happy to hear that our staff was so welcoming, regardless of the hour. Thanks again for your review, Debrah, and I hope we see you again upon your next trip to NYC! Best wishes - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We lived in Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue for 8 nights, it is very nice and clean hotel, free Wi-Fi and sweet 24 hours coffee station, and the location is perfect. If you do not mind they don’t service breakfast, highly recommend......

Room Tip: excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 8 days with us and I hope you had a fantastic time in New York! Thanks again for your review and I hope we'll see you again next time you're in the city! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a fairly small hotel, with only a few rooms on each floor, and the rooms are pretty small. But our room looked newly remodeled and was very clean and comfortable. The location is fantastic, it's right in the middle of everything, walking distance to Times Square, all the shops of 5th Ave., etc. And there's a little grocery store across the street for forgotten essentials, and a cafe right next door that's great for breakfast. The staff was very attentive. I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: High rooms are quieter, and the ice machine's on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardengirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience! I greatly appreciate hearing from you and am happy to know your stay was enjoyable. I hope you'll stay with us again upon your next trip to New York City! Best wishes - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

No complaints about our stay here, good location close to Bryant Park and Grand Central Station. No complaints about staff. Adequate room size and adequate speed of lifts. Had a good stay here over New Year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us! I appreciate the feedback and that you took the time to share this with TripAdvisor. I hope next time you're in New York City we'll see you again! Safe travels - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#228 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#133 of 473 in New York City
1,040 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#132 of 473 in New York City
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#156 of 473 in New York City
2,387 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 473 in New York City
1,270 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#149 of 473 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing