We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #244 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is amazing! The location is perfect, right across from the NY Public Library, a few blocks from Times Square, walking distance to Central Park and a very short distance to Grand Central Station. The front desk staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful. They arranged for a car service back to the airport on our way home. They always greeted you when you walked in the door, holding the door for you and once hailing us a cab. Our key didn't work once when we got back to the room. Housekeeping called down to the front desk for us and the engineer was up within 3 minutes (that's a 23 floor elevator ride!) to change the battery in our lock and make 100% sure everything was working. The room was great too! We had a Corner King for 3 people. Plenty of room with the pull out bed. It was very clean. We left a note asking for an additional coffee since there were 3 coffee-needers with us and housekeeping took this even a step farther making sure we had extra towels and supplies for 3. I do travel a bit and have stayed in a number hotels at all different levels but this was one of the most enjoyable stays. I HIGHLY recommend the Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue.

Room Tip: Corner King with sofabed had plenty of room for 3 with enough space to walk around the pull-out bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sglover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    354
    153
    43
    21
See reviews for
319
142
39
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The location is great. It is far enough away from Times Square that you can get some sleep but only about 6 blocks away if you want to go there and have dinner. It is also within walking distance of the Empire State Building and Grand Central Station.

Parking was about $50 per night. We just left our car in the garage until we were ready to leave.

The hotel room was clean but small. You can request a refrigerator to be brought to your room for no additional charge.

There is a street vendor closeby that offers bagels, doughnuts, fruit and muffins in the morning. Most of the restaurants in this area had limited seating.

If you need to check out before you are ready to leave the city, the doorman can put your things in storage for you for a few hours.

Rates were reasonable for NYC.

No pool is available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnolia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The staff is great! The location is very convenient to everything in the midtown area and since it is right in the middle by 5th avenue it is easy access to west or east side attractions and businesses. Rates are usually very reasonable. Did I mention the staff treats you with respect and kindness! I recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It is a good hotel in a great location with fairly reasonable prices. We were able to walk to a lot of theater and, of course, Times Square, Grand Central and other great places are nearby. We also had plenty of space for a NYC hotel room.

However, they still need some work. When I checked in the room was very hot and they sent up the engineer. He explained that the thermostat was not communicating with the heat/air unit. He was able to fix it, but by the second day, the unit in the other room had the same problem. The rooms need more lighting. I could leave the shade open but then everyone in the building across the street could look right into the room. (The room did not have any drapes. It just had blackout shades.) The second TV remote was not working and they replaced it quickly. The staff might be 'NY City' friendly. I asked at the front desk the best way to get a cab and was told to 'walk to the corner.' I thought the front desk clerk might suggest she would call one. When I arrived, I watched the bellhop put out his hand hoping for a tip and looking disgusted as departing guest declined to offer one. Generally, everyone was cheerful but they have ways to go before it meets typical Courtyard standards.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank planner_221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us as it is imperative to our growth as an operation. I sincerely apologize for the mechanical errors you encountered as I'm sure they were inconveniences you did not anticipate. I also apologize for the attitude of our front desk and bellstaff. It should have been explained that yellow cabs are not available for reservations or calling. NYC Yellow Cabs may only be "hailed down" and at busy times this can be difficult for one bellman trying to assist multiples guests at once. Regardless of the situation, I apologize if you felt their attitude was anything less than hospitable. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you will give our hotel another chance during your next trip to NYC. If you do anticipate your plans bringing you back to our area, please don't hesitate to contact me directly for reservations assistance. Thank you again - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We enjoyed our girl's trip and stay at this Courtyard Marriott. While the rooms were small for four ladies, our hotel was in a great location to shop and site see. A shuttle to the airport was only a couple blocks away. The staff was friendly, helpful, and willing to answer all our questions. A great convenience store was right next door with delicious bagels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Stephanie! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear that your group enjoyed your stay and had a nice time in NYC. We'd love to see you again during your next trip! Best wishes - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in great walking distance to Times Square and the Empire State Building! Even though its a few blocks to these destinations, it's still walkable. The lobby is very small but modern. The elevators always worked and were fast! Our room was very small. It was nice and clean but small. The view was not good at all. Our room keys constantly did not work and the staff was amazing with out problems! This hotel has the nicest staff I have ever seen! I was blown away at the front desk lady remembering our names after we hasn't ween her in 4 day! The price is a little to expensive, for what you get though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! I will be sure to let my front desk staff know of the positive impression they made. I do apologize that the room size and view did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your review and I hope we'll see you again next time you're in NYC! - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just spent two nights at the Courtyard property at 3 East 40th Street and we could not have asked for a better experience. Easy walking distance from Grand Central Station and sites around midtown. Beds were comfortable and we were on one of the upper floors in the back to avoid any noise from the street below. One bit of advice - we took advantage of the Airporter bus within an easy walk from the hotel; even though, the front desk staff recommended a car service to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back of the hotel ona floor above the street noise. Be careful of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowGlobeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard5thAve, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your thorough feedback! I'm so happy to hear you found our hotel to be so rewarding. That is great advice on the airport shuttles as well - a very convenient and cost effective way to reach midtown Manhattan from the airports! Thanks again and safe travels - Justin Scarpa, General Manager. justin.scarpa@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#228 of 468 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 468 in New York City
731 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#147 of 468 in New York City
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#155 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#90 of 468 in New York City
2,421 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing