We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!! Take a pass!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bed bugs!! Take a pass!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 1407 and there were definitely be bugs! I state one night and was completely bitten up! Small rooms - lots of outside traffic noise. Definitely does not live up to the Marriott standards.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindzey824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    351
    152
    42
    21
See reviews for
314
141
39
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Living in the middle of New York and loving it! What a location! The rooms are terrific, the view from the window of the surrounding buildings was great. A little cramped for 4 persons but space is not that easy to find in New York, so we did not have many complaints on that. The hotel staff was really nice, they kept our bags for 5 extra hours and also our cars with no complaints. They do have a system of using a key for the lobby washrooms that is weird but I can understand, it is New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The stay was outstanding. The room and the staff were fantastic - great hospitality! Thank you for making our weekend. Some of the other rooms can be a bit tight but we loved the suite we had - plenty of room for downtown. Definitely going back!

Room Tip: Rm 704 is a good sized suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at the courtyard 5th ave, mid-April while on a business/mini-vacation trip with my family, and We were beyond impressed. I've stayed at over 10 courtyard hotels over the past few years and this was by far the best experience I've had so far. The hotel location was beyond ideal, close to everything, such as Times Square, Grand Central Station..etc, however still quiet enough to get a great nights sleep(and if there was a way to sneak one of those comfy mattresses out, I would,..just kidding lol). The rooms were slightly small, but you can't ask for much in prime real estate such as NYC. The hotel was very clean, and from the looks of it, probably newly renovated.
Now for the front desk staff.. What can I say..from the front desk agents to the bellman/concierge, each and every one of them treated us like we were,spending a thousand dollars a night. Every time we walked out or returned to the hotel we were greeted with a smile and were asked how our day went, and were always offered bottled water. My four year old loved Willie the bellman! And couldn't wait to come down and see him. George and Pedro the concierge were perfect gentlemen and no matter what we needed, were beyond patient and delivered top-rate professionalism. They gave us accurate directions every time, gave us suggestions on where to go, on a daily basis. They also recommended some of the finest restaurants we have ever eaten at(especially Benjamin's steakhouse, beyond amazing!). George reserved a limo to have us tour the city along with a hop on/off bus tour which so much fun, especially for our little one.
Overall our experience was astounding, and on our next trip to NYC, Marriott Courtyard 5th ave is the only place we will stay at!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, defenetly quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: It seem like they use CFL bulbs, which from my knowledge use about 10% of the energy of a regular bulb.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice concierge and staff. The hotel feels quite small. There is a very small lobby, a mezzanine with a small fitness room, 2 computers with a printing facility (mini-business center), a hot drinks machine offering free coffee, decaf and hot water with one type of tea (available all day). There are no washing machines, no bar, no breakfast room. , The cleanliness in the corridors left a bit to be desired but our room was clean.

We had a room on the 12th floor with 2 double beds. All the bedrooms (7 on our floor) are near the lifts so you can hear the "ping" sometimes. Not much space in the bedroom itself, two double beds, a TV, a small desk, a chair, a small safe, coffee and tea-making facilities. No fridge or minibar. 3 drawers and 1 full cupboard. Maybe a bit small for a family of 4 (we were 3, a couple and a teenager). On the 12th floor the view is very limited - there is an office space across the road.

If you are planning to go out a lot and are not looking for a relaxing hotel to hang out in, this hotel will be fine. It is in a great location, easy to walk almost everywhere in central Manhattan and there are lots of good and reasonable breakfast places nearby. If you like to spend time in the hotel room relaxing, then try the Courtyard by Marriott in Upper East Side (East 92nd St) - we stayed there a few years ago and found it a bit nicer and a bit cheaper but of course quite a lot further from the centre of Manhattan.

We didn't find the East 40th Street as noisy as some previous commentators have suggested. After all, it is Manhattan. 42nd St/Bryant Park is the closest subway (1 block). It's an easy 15-minute walk to Times Square, and a 20-minute walk to Central Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelleandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

First off, this is a smaller hotel, only 7 rooms per floor, views are on the front rooms only, numbered 03-06, I wouldn't classify this hotel as "views". The rooms are very efficient, and as with most hotels in NYC, smaller if you have two beds. We found the location to be outstanding, still quieter at night, walking distance to most subway stops, Times Square, excellent restaurants and Bryant Park. I come to the city often and found this location to be very convenient. The mezzanine area was small but efficient with complementary coffee. There is a deli next door for a quick snack, but the prepared food was not great. No hotel restaurant but the deli would deliver. We found better places to eat just a short walk away. The staff was super helpful with my many details and issues that came up (none related to the hotel) .

Room Tip: Avoid level 5 or 25, as these two levels have the only two ice machines on them. Front side of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium/UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel rooms are small, but very clean and modern. The check in process and check in staff were very friendly and we had asked for two rooms next to each other and that’s what we got with no problems. The fact there is no restaurant in the hotel was not a problem, as there is a great Deli next door and several other places very nearby. The location of the hotel is fantastic; you are within easy walking distance to all the main attractions and restaurants. The reason I have given the hotel a low star rating is the behaviour of the Bell/Concierge staff. Most of them are little more than Sharks and rip off merchants. It will start by them trying to hard sell the Bus site seeing tours, that after they have sold them to you, you then find out you have to go eight blocks to join a queue for your ticket. Instead of just buying them from the official vendors who will always give you an extra day. The rip off mentality continued when they tried to recommend restaurants that were all rubbish and not that near. But the most disgraceful behaviour I found, was when checking out with my wife and children and a lot of luggage, we asked for one of the Limo/Taxis that were outside the hotel. Pedro quoted us $50 for six blocks to Penn Station. I told him this was a rip off, so he told us to walk! We took the limo in the end, even though he refused to help with the luggage. He told the driver the price, who was so embarrassed he only charged us $30. The driver said they do that all the time. So the hotel is a nice place, but Pedro and George should be avoided as they are a disgrace.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GAFFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing