We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #306 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Overall stay was fine and comfortable. I am familiar with NY pricing and understand you are paying for location so I do expect the rooms to be smallish. I have stayed in the city many times before in a similar location, and I thought this hotel was quite pricey for the quality of the room. It wasn't bad, just very average and a bit outdated. The bell man was very helpful and friendly, however, the front desk staff was not overly friendly. Housekeeping was average. Overall, nothing major to complain about other than the price, but maybe I was just staying on an expensive weekend. I definitely think there are things that could be improved, but with so many hotel choices in NY, I am sure there are better value options out there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gymdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was a little scuffed up, and my wife said the shower curtain smelled like mildew (although I never noticed anything). Overall the room was comfortable and was as spacious as a typical NYC room with 2 double beds, which means it was a little cramped for 3 people. The wait for the elevators could be a little long, but that only happened once or twice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I would like to say how unbelievable the staff is at the marriott on 3rd avenue! I would like to especially mention AL. He has been so kind to us and remembers us each time we stay. We look forward to seeing him and the other staff members each time we come. Many thanks for your warm welcomes and excellent service.
April and Gord Fraser

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 1407 and there were definitely be bugs! I state one night and was completely bitten up! Small rooms - lots of outside traffic noise. Definitely does not live up to the Marriott standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindzey824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Living in the middle of New York and loving it! What a location! The rooms are terrific, the view from the window of the surrounding buildings was great. A little cramped for 4 persons but space is not that easy to find in New York, so we did not have many complaints on that. The hotel staff was really nice, they kept our bags for 5 extra hours and also our cars with no complaints. They do have a system of using a key for the lobby washrooms that is weird but I can understand, it is New York.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The stay was outstanding. The room and the staff were fantastic - great hospitality! Thank you for making our weekend. Some of the other rooms can be a bit tight but we loved the suite we had - plenty of room for downtown. Definitely going back!

Room Tip: Rm 704 is a good sized suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at the courtyard 5th ave, mid-April while on a business/mini-vacation trip with my family, and We were beyond impressed. I've stayed at over 10 courtyard hotels over the past few years and this was by far the best experience I've had so far. The hotel location was beyond ideal, close to everything, such as Times Square, Grand Central Station..etc, however still quiet enough to get a great nights sleep(and if there was a way to sneak one of those comfy mattresses out, I would,..just kidding lol). The rooms were slightly small, but you can't ask for much in prime real estate such as NYC. The hotel was very clean, and from the looks of it, probably newly renovated.
Now for the front desk staff.. What can I say..from the front desk agents to the bellman/concierge, each and every one of them treated us like we were,spending a thousand dollars a night. Every time we walked out or returned to the hotel we were greeted with a smile and were asked how our day went, and were always offered bottled water. My four year old loved Willie the bellman! And couldn't wait to come down and see him. George and Pedro the concierge were perfect gentlemen and no matter what we needed, were beyond patient and delivered top-rate professionalism. They gave us accurate directions every time, gave us suggestions on where to go, on a daily basis. They also recommended some of the finest restaurants we have ever eaten at(especially Benjamin's steakhouse, beyond amazing!). George reserved a limo to have us tour the city along with a hop on/off bus tour which so much fun, especially for our little one.
Overall our experience was astounding, and on our next trip to NYC, Marriott Courtyard 5th ave is the only place we will stay at!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, defenetly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#228 of 473 in New York City
1,482 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#133 of 473 in New York City
1,040 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#132 of 473 in New York City
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#156 of 473 in New York City
2,387 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#235 of 473 in New York City
1,270 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#149 of 473 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing