We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is the reason to stay here”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“location is the reason to stay here”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

hotel metro is in a great position for getting around the city; only steps from macy's and the empire state building and easy walking distance to times square. The subway at herald sq will get you to most areas of the city with ease.
the plus points for the hotel are the doormen and the free breakfast; which is of good quality, including an extensive range of pastries.
the drawbacks is that there seems to be a huge difference in the rooms that are on offer. we had five rooms, all at the same rate and the smallest room was half the size of the largest. the rooms were well maintained but there is a lot of construction work going on around the hotel and each morning around 630 we were woken by concrete pounding. The air conditioning and heating is a little antiquated and noisy.

if it is your first visit to new york, this is a good place to choose but its not perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,155
    1,506
    295
    73
    49
See reviews for
730
2,161
144
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I have just returned from a very special birthday trip to New York, having stayed at the Meto booked through Virgin holidays.

What a lovely hotel. We had upgraded to a superior room which was huge, more like an appartment. We had a massive bed, easy chairs, huge tv, ipod/radio dock, fridge and a lovely big marble bathroom with a hot power shower and plenty of room.

Despite bitterly cold weather outside the room was lovely and warm and we had to turn the heating down.
Our room was at the back of the hotel but we didn't get disturbed at all by the building work going on below, in fact it was quite interesting watching them early in the morning coping with the overnight snow.

The buffet breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and always topped up, loved the choice of bagels. Although i'm not keen on paper cups i solved that by buying myself a mug(nice souvenir from Macy's to take home) and enjoyed my cup of tea in a china mug.

The hotel staff were always polite and very helpful and maid service top class, clean towels every day despite leaving the ones we used to dry in the bathroom.

The location couldn't be better, easy walking distance to Times Square, Rockafeller centre, all theatres and who can resist walking up Broadway each day.

Top class hotel, we will definatley return here when we go back to NYC

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

well i am missing the hotel and NYC already! stayed for 4 nights at the metro and had a wonderful stay. had an unexpected upgrade to a king size bedroom which was wonderful.
The showers are hot and powerful...much needed after a cold and rainy touring day. fresh clean towels every morning, maid service daily. complimentary toiletries in bathroom.
location is everything you would want and need in NYC, right beneath the empire, yu can sit on the roof terrace and have a drink whilst looking striaght up at the empire. perfect to have a beer on to rest your feet from the sightseeing. \Theres also a gym on the top floor..for those who have spare energy!
definatley try the cosmo cocktail at the hotel bar...the best ive ever tried.
hotel staff are very friendly and helpful answering every quiery, or can catch you a cab when neccessary. i absolutly loved the hotel and would hope to return soon.
The breakfast was an added bonus, muffins, cakes, different types of breads and baglas, a fruit salad, different types of yoghurt, a toasting machine, baby belles, philadelphia, marmalades and jams, fruit juices, cereals ...hot drinks....everyhting. there is also complimentary coffee/tea throughout the day.
excellent stay thank you very much metro!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missholidaySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We travelled to New York for my 40th birthday for 5 days.Our tour operator recommended the hotel and after reading the reviews we booked it.GOOD ADVICE.
The hotels location was second to none.5 mins to Macy's and Empire State.Times Square just up the road. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. Wifi throughout and free tea and coffee 24hrs. The complimentary breakfast was enough to get us on our way every morning.
Would definitely recommend this hotel. A++++++++

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed 19th Feb for 4 nights
All i will say is what a great hotel could not find fault with this hotel
location,hotel,room, staff excellent
I have just booked to go back for Christmas thats how good i think this hotel is.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingkongHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Metro. The trip was a present for my husbands 40th birthday. I mentioned this to the hotel on booking and when we arrived we found our room had been upgraded and there was a complimentary bottle of fizz in the room. The room was amazing, huge bed, cool decor, spacious, great bathroom, great view of the Empire State building. The hotel is in a great location just minutes from the Empire State Building and Macys. We pretty much walked everywhere although there is also a subway station close by. Facilities are good we used the gym and the interent in the business room. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. The included breakfast and complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day were a nice touch. The roof top terrace offered great views and I should imagine that this is a great place for a drink when the bar is open during the summer months. The hotel exceeded our expectations and offered good value for New York.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The Metro hotel is really well presented and the staff friendly and accomodating. The hotel's decor is really charming. The Metro bar was really nice too and breakfast in the morning was great and really generous- bagels galore!. There is also a small gym facility that has some good equipment- so well worth using if you fancy a bit of exercise. The roof terrace was nice and has some great views of the Empire State Building and Macys. Our room was also nicely presented, good flat screen TV, coffee making facilities and nice bathroom with a walk in shower. The room was nice and warm, however in the end we had to adjust the thermostat because it was getting too warm. i was expecting more noise from the City but actually it wasnt too bad. Hotel is in a good location- near to Empire State and metro stops going uptown and downtown. Recommend jumping on metro to Greenwich or Soho for good quality restaurants, although there is a small Korean quarter near to the hotel. All in all a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#100 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#102 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,348 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing