We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,407)
Filter reviews
4,407 results
Traveller rating
2,314
1,628
330
79
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,314
1,628
330
79
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
2,836 - 2,841 of 4,407 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I'm not sure which hotel the previous reviewer stayed in as the Hotel Metro is FANTASTIC.

We stayed there for 4 nights in March on our first visit to NYC which, I have to say, is the most amazing city I have ever been to.

The hotel is clean, the reception staff were great, the porters were extremely helpful, breakfast is really nice, our room was immaculately clean, comfortable and a decent size.

We heard absolutely no noise at all during our stay, in fact it's one of the quietest hotels we've ever stayed in.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this hotel, it's in a great location, it's clean, comfortable, a good size, has decent, friendly staff, an amazing rooftop bar and a great breakfast to start your day off.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybee661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I visited New York with my partner and arrived at the Metro Hotel on 14th March we were due to stay for four nights. Prior to booking this hotel we had read good reviews on trip advisor so we were expecting a pleasant stay...but we were very much mistaken! We arrived at the hotel and struggled through the doors unassisted with two large suitcases and the receptionist on duty was unwelcoming and barely made eye contact with us. We made our way to our room and could not have been more disappointed, it was tiny, noisy, which I know you have to expect in New York, but there was drilling and shouting from workmen right below us. there were dirty old net curtains hung at the windows, the bed looked smaller than a standard double, the paintwork was chipped everywhere and to top it off there were hairs on the pillows! We asked at reception if we could perhaps see another room, to which we were unhelpfully told "theyre all the same". There was just no way we wanted to stay at this hotel. We had gone to New York to celebrate my 29th birthday and this hotel was depressing us! So we decided our only option was to leave so we checked into another hotel in Soho, which was just what we wanted and expected from our trip. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Liss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

If you want to visit New York and have a fixed budget then this hotel is to be recommended. This city has many hotels and the most famous ones are not necessarily the best. This has many advantages.

1. The location is perfect, for the main attractions, Empire State, Macy's, Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway theatre's are all within a ten minute walk away.
2. There is a subway station at the end of the street.
3 This is the big bonus it offers a complementary breakfast for guests which can save you up to $20 a day per person.

The hotel itself is clean with mostly friendly staff. Our room was bigger than some I have stayed in when in New York, but not massive. The bathroom was not huge but functional and normal services were supplied. It also had a fridge and a safe.The room was made up every day, although one day during our stay our rubbish was not taken away. Most of the rooms have been refurbished and plenty of new beds were being delivered whilst we were there. You do not visit New York to stay in your room, so from our point of view the facilities offered met with our requirements.

Other reviews have mentioned noise from building works. The hotel pre warned us about this, but this is New York you get noise wherever you stay, there is always building work and traffic going on, so don't be put off by that.

The hotel has a restaurant and a bar, cannot comment on these, but it does have a good roof top garden which offers a great view of The Empire State.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a New York visit. For the price paid it was perfect and gave a better service than many of the so called well known hotels offer in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This was our first visit to New York.from England. The hotel is right in the centre of everything. On our first afternoon we found Macys and Times Square without even searching. Perfect location for walking, subways and buses. Room was lovely, very clean. Continental breakfast was superb. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant and menu looked great although we only had a drink in the bar which was lovely. This is such a safe city for getting around. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiepoo1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Sayed in Metro Hotel 14th March 2011 for 5 nights Everything is great but the rooms are smaller than on the pictures (and we had a an upgraded room!!) and there is demolition at front of the hotel and construction at the rear. After the first night we managed to be moved to an centre room still small but quiet. If we had stayed in the first room it would have spoilt our vacation. Also the free wifi did not work...there is a business centre with 2 machines but this is a large hotel with a long wait..........Hopefully these problems will not last and we would stay there again...great location

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews