We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,406)
Filter reviews
4,406 results
Traveller rating
2,314
1,627
330
79
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,314
1,627
330
79
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
2,532 - 2,537 of 4,406 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel was perfect! Location couldn't be more central, overlooking Empire State Building, great food places within walking distance and fab breakfast! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosei_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here 31st March for four nights on our first trip to New York. Took the two bedroom family room in the upgraded part of the hotel - this had one large twin bedded room (no door!) and a seperate adequately sized room with queen bed. Very clean and comfortable. Equipped with two fridges with complimentary water and coke, which was a surprise. Both rooms had amazing views of the Empire State Building. The breakfast was a bit of a 'free for all' and served up on plastic plates and cutlery, however, it was more than adequate and set you up for the lenghty sightseeing ahead! Fantastic location, less than 10 minute walk to Times Square, subway on the corner and buses nearby - very easy to commute around Manhattan from here. Three Irish pubs all within 50 yards! All in all, an excellent hotel and would have no hesitation in returning - preferably soon, New York is a special place! One last mention for the roof terrace - unfortunately the bar was not open due to weather being on the cool side, but the view of the Empire State Building was something else!

Room Tip: Would recommend one of the upgraded rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeefyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I booked the Hotel Metro after exhaustively searching for a hotel in Manhattan with suites and free breakfast that did not require $500+/night. The location in Midtown was perfect for walking to several tourist attractions (Empire State, Madison Square Garden, Times Square) and very close to the Herald Square subway station as well.
The family suite was more spacious than any hotel room I've ever seen in Manhattan which made it very comfortable and welcoming after a long day of walking. All the furnishings had a vintage feel but were in wonderful condition and the rooms were very clean.
The bathroom was up to date and the shower was amazing!! It's huge and has three different showerheads to choose from, overhead, handheld, or standard. We always had more than enough towels and washcloths for the 4 of us. The additional sink outside of the bathroom was also very helpful.
The only problem we encountered was the noise at night from the street which made it difficult for our kids to sleep, so we requested another room in a different part of the hotel, which the staff graciously accommodated, and our last 2 nights were much quieter.
The breakfast was as good a continental breakfast as I've had, and the staff did a fantastic job of keeping everything in supply as it was always very busy when we went to eat.
The Hotel Metro made our stay in NYC a pleasure!!

Room Tip: If you have any small children and are staying in a family suite, you may like room 902 better than 906 -- we found that the extra sink in 902 is much lower and easier for them to reach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcellusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed at the Metro 15th March. Great hotel, fantastic location. Room great not small like other reviews state (twin), bathroom, shower fantastic, beds comfy, very clean, you can leave your case after checking out if your flight is later in the day, unfortunaely there was no late room oppertunity for us due to the hotel full. Could not fault this hotel, complimentry breakfast sets up up for the day,muffins, pastries, toast, cereals, yoghurts, juices. Coffee and tea any time of day. View of Empire from roof top terrace fantastic, shame bar was not open, but it was cold at night. Macy's bottom street, Empire block over, 5th Avenue top of street, everything is walking distance. Book City Sights tour bus, they stop everywhere, jump on and off when you want, tickets to Empire, Libity, 2hr night tour included $87 for 3 days but worth it, even though taxis are cheap, you see more from top of bus and tour guide gives you lots of info, but they finish at 17.00. Hotel have a business room so you can book your time slot for ground zero and print off, no charge. Be warned New York shopping is not cheap, Canal street near ChinaTown offer designer copies, no shops but women trying to tempt you to go with them, dont be put of they arent trying to mug you they are trying to get you to go with them to a basement to show you what they have to sell. It takes about 30 minutes to hotel from JFK, taxi $50. If buying in Macy's, bloomingdales or Lord Taylor dont forget to go to cumstomer services for your 10% visitor discount, you will need your passport, this combats the tax you have to pay on items.Be warned bars/restaurants charge 18% service charge for your food, together with the tax.Iron building 10 minutes walk bottom of street. Only issue we had was with British Airways due to fog in Heathrow flying from Newcastle we took off late so missed our connecting flight. Arrived at JFK to find my case had not travelled with me. No case for 2 days, BA did offer $250 to purchase essential items, but you must phone the baggage line to get this.Bit of a nightmare the whole ordeal within Heathrow and landing in JFK, apparently it is common the BA to loss your luggage so if traveling with company pack items in each others cases just in case. I would definately recommend The Metro Hotel, I travelled with my daughter for our birthdays, now going to book to go with my husband 2013. Pack for change in weather 16th was cold and damp, remaining of our stay weather got better and better, got very warm. We went when St Patricks Day parade was on, it gets packed but certainly an experience. Bars get packed.

Room Tip: If possible ask to be placed in a room off the street as the street is very busy so it can be noisey, plus if going St Patricks day the bars are open late so very noisey.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Room was clean, price ok. Breakfast is served in the lobby, so there is little space, but ok for an active city trip.

Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews