We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for families!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Second time to stay here, hotel has been updated since our last visit. Rooms were spacious, LOVE the family room with 2 bedrooms when traveling with family, bathroom with large shower was a nice surprise! Love the location & free breakfast, hate the slow, crowded elevators!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank waajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,462
    292
    70
    47
See reviews for
710
2,085
138
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed at the Metro for 4 nights and found it to be ideal for our first visit to NYC. Family suite was great value and like a small apartment.

We were not in an upgraded room, but it was fine. Our rooms were bigger than in most European hotels (I see someone else posted about tiny rooms in Paris - I agree the Metro is nothing like these!).

The roof top terrace bar was great and had an amazing view of the Empire State Building and a chance to sit outside in the heat of the city.

Buffet breakfast was straightforward and reflected the price. I would recommend the Metro to my friends. It's a straightforward good value hotel.

Top Tip for NYC first-timers - We found the yellow cabs are incredibly good value compared to taxis in UK / Europe. With four of us it was often as cheap as four tickets on the subway. Eg Metro to Top of the Rock for $7 inc tip. Flag one down!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Metro and this hotel could not have suited our needs more.

Welcoming staff, very clean, close to the subway which we used day but also within walking distance of many sights.

More than adequate breakfast, didn't mind the paper plates and plastic spoons but the paper cups did make the tea and coffee taste a little strange. Most people cleared their tables after breakfast and it seemed obvious that this was the thing to do - however a handful of guests seemed to think it was ok to leave their mess for someone else to clear up.

Room was lovely- well appointed and comfortable. No view but -hey-it was quiet! Noisy but adequate aircon very much appreciated after a hot day out! Bathroom was "cosy", but the shower itself was impressive!

We felt a little let down by the rooftop bar, no atmosphere (bar not open) during the day, too much atmosphere (very crowded, noisy, smokey) at night, although we think there may have been private parties going on on the nights we went up there. Good Empire State Building pics though!

The best thing about this hotel was coming "home" after a day out. the staff were friendly but not intrusive and we could sit in the lounge area with a cup of coffee any time of day. This was especially welcome on our last day when we had already checked out but returned late afternoon, collected our luggage and chilled out for a while before our return flight.

We look forward to a return visit in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsieroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

had a gr8 3 nights at this hotel gr8 location and good value for money in NYC would deffinately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I could not have asked for a better place to stay away from home!! I can not compliment the staff enough for all their services! Whether it be the fresh linnens and perfect tidy room to the helpful staff when looking for directions to find my way and sights to see within MINUTES of the hotel!! Taxi?? For what??? You are literally walking distance from so many of the main attractions of NY! The comforts of home were ALL there! My room was spacious and cheery and had the most clean and amazing bathroom! (that is key to me!) My bed was so comfortable and slept so well never new there was a city of action going on outside my window the whole time! I stayed from June 14th through the 17th and if I could go back today this would be my hotel of choice. Must absolute MUST whether local or visiting you MUST visit the roof top bar absolutely amazing!!! My next trip back will be the same and reccomend to all who will be visiting NYC I promise you will not regret this jem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Metro for 5 nights in july and... loved it! We weren't upgraded but didn't find the room very small. Try Paris and you'll know what small is. The room was recently renovated (march) and was very well provided; a refrigirator, big safe, even two umbrellas! And a huge shower. The location: face it: this is the hotel you want to be in if you like the center of Manhattan and yes, it hasn't got double glazing and the airco is loud (turned it off at night) but still, we slept like a baby. The decor of the hotel is lovely! Free coffee (good coffee!), the rooftop terras with good -Belgian- beer and a great view, the location, even the reasonable price made it for us. The friendly efficient staff was the icing on the cake! And New York / Manhattan? Well, check this out: very friendly and helpfull people, low prices (!) for about everything (in comparison with Belgium), and a lot to see! We are impressed how the New Yorkers deal with what happened in september 2001.... Tips: Hotel Metro, boattrip to Ellis Island (forget the statue of Liberty: closed for visit and very long queueing lines to get back on the boat), biketaxi in Central Park, Bubba Gump, Harlem where they have beautiful Brownstones but "take it easy" if you are easily scared from poverty... (Although we had no problems), CitySights NY hop-on hop-off bus with hilarious guides, the museums (not so very large and all close to each other, so achievable to do a lot of them), Brooklyn Heights promenade and a fairy evening walk on Brooklyn Bridge and of course all the buildings on Manhattan. So: enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing