We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Metro New York”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #101 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and was so pleased that it was recommended to us by Virgin staff at Westwood Cross. it's so convenient to explore New York from, very reasonable, clean & the added bonus of continental breakfast which had a really good range of items to choose from. Rooftop bar is a bonus, ate there one night, food was quite good & reasoably priced. Staff very friendlt & rooms were clean with fresh towels every day!.Would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor so that wedidn't hear all street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 4,253 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel from the 26th July till the 29th July 2012 and was really impressed with it, We got upgraded to a superior room without asking which was lovely,rooms were nice and shower was powerfull, staff were so helpful with directions and any questions we had. The rooftop bar was lovely and lookes right on to the Empire State Buiding, which is lovely at night all lit up.What maked this hotel is the central location as only a short walk from Times Square and all thats happening!!!! Would stay at this hotel again, The breakfast were lovely with loads of choice and coffe and tea making facilities 24 hours.Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York. A very enloyable stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel metro for a week at the end of June. We arrived pretty late (9:30pm) and were told we would have welcome pack in the room as we were getting married a couple of days later at central park. We never seemed to of got that welcome pack but the room was ok. I was slightly dissapointed that we never were able to get an upgrade for the time that we were there but we were out all day, everyday anyway. The view wasn't amazing but it was quiet, we were at the side of the building so our view was the other side of the hotel. We had a in room safe which came in handy to keep cash and passports also the room was quite big for a standard room.The breakfast was ok although I was slightly board of this as time went on and the bar was a great place to eat! so close to the empire state, Macy's and times square and just down the road was the subway..I would stay here again and had an amazing wedding. Took some amazing memories with me back home and also found out I was pregnant a week after our trip! New York magic!! Also the Irish bar next door was a fab place to go, great company and amazing food.

Room Tip: Always try and see if you can get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilkey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I picked this hotel based on a recommendation from a colleague and was not disappointed. I needed a place with at least two bedrooms, so we rented the Premier Two Bedroom Family Room. Both bedrooms were certainly large enough, with the larger room containing two double beds, a desk area, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. In addition, there was a second frig in the sink area in the hallway. Bathroom was quite nice and up to date - very nice shower. Both bedrooms had wall mounted flat screens. My only complaint about the room was that the carpet had a few stains - other than that, very clean and comfortable.

This hotel also includes a free continental breakfast, which probably saved me at least $30 per day. Bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt, basically.

Roof top patio was also quite nice with a great view of the Empire State Building. They have a bar up there as well - I think it is open from 5:00 - 10:00. The roof is always open, though, so you can bring your own drinks up there (we did) if you get back to the hotel after 10:00 pm.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but it looked a little pricey considering all the other options available in NYC.

Nice location, the staff was very friendly - we were able to get into our room by 10:00 am, which was great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a child that likes a little privacy, the two bedroom we selected was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location in midtown although resturants are a bit thin on the ground in the immediate location. The hotel roof bar is a good feature with an amazing view of the empire state building - almost worth staying just for that. The staff are all friendly and good for recommendations for where to eat etc. The breakfast is help yourself style and is plentiful but served on paper plates and plastic cutlery and there are not enough seats for everyone. That's the only real negative. Would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Fifth stay at the Metro and no complaints at all.

Room tidy and well kept, staff courteous and helpful, and a rooftop bar to save having to go too far after a day's sightseeing/shopping.

Only (really small) grumble is the housekeeping staff starting to knock on doors from 8:00am onwards, but the "Do not disturb" sign on the door handle fixes that small issue.

Normally have everything booked before I go, but this time I used the concierge service for the first time, and got a ticket for the re-arranged Men's tennis final just 90 minutes before the game started - an impressive, and much appreciated, piece of work.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the Metro and will stay there next time I'm in New York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qpsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

...the off-time service isn't that good, and if you are a late check inn, make sure you are strong enough to carry your luggage around.
The room had an internal and pretty noisy air conditioning system, whose automatic fan feature wasn't working, That meant the fan going on and off all night.
Make sure to ask for a room as far away from the stairs as possible. The noise in the reception travels trough them at warp speed, and you can hear the "engines going" from downstairs at any time.
The roof terrace is nice, but the service and decor takes away any romanticism to it, which is a real shame, since the view is really nice. All in all the hotel may be a good deal, but not much more than that...

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the stairway, or at least try to avoid the noise from the reception lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#153 of 469 in New York City
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#156 of 469 in New York City
2,209 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#103 of 469 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing