We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont look any where else!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #93 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My mum and I stayed at the Hotel Metro 22nd - 27th Dec 2012. This was my second time to New York and to Hotel Metro. There are so many hotels to choose from and I had enjoyed my stay so much last time, it would have been silly not to return. Included in the price is continental breakfast which is unusual for New York as many hotel rates are room only.

The location of Hotel Metro is perfect. Been on 32nd Street, it is a few minutes walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's department store and shopping on 34th Street. However, everything is within walking distance: Times Square, Broadway, Madisson Square Gardens, Rockefeller Centre, Bryant Park and Grand Central Terminal to name a few. Still within walking distance but a little further are Central Park, shopping on 5th Ave and Bloomingdales. A taxi ride away or subway are 9/11 memorial, Battery Park for the ferry to Statue of Liberty and Soho for shopping.

Our room was a Superior Queen on the 8th floor. Nicely decorated, clean and spacious. We had a lovely big bathroom with a huge shower and complimentary toilettries. A huge wardrobe for our clothes, cases and shoes. The wardrobe had a safe, an iron, a hairdryer and an umbrella! The bed was big and comfy with soft bed linen and pillows. Apart from the jet lag, every night was a quiet, comfortable nights sleep. Our room was cleaned daily.

Breakfast was served until 11am. There was tea, coffee and juice to drink. Bread and bagels for toasting. Muffins and pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt. The breakfast area is lovely and always being cleaned and replenished. The restaurant at Hotel Metro is also worth a visit. Much more choice than advertised on the menu in the lifts in the lobby.

The Bellboy and concierge were helpful. I didn't realise there was room with two computers and a printer so you could print tickets for attractions and also check in for your flights home online. WIFI in the rooms too.The roof terrace has great views of the Empire State Building. There is also a gym which can be accessed free of charge however I didn't get round to using it and I walked the whole of Manhatten in 5 days anyway so didn't really feel the need!!! We were able to store our cases upon checkout as we didn't fly home until the evening.

Overall, an enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends, couples and families.

Thank you Hotel Metro.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abisfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,083 - 2,089 of 4,174 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed at hotel METRO with my husband and daughter(17) for 3 nights. Greeted as soon as taxi pulled up, check in was quick and easy. Very nice surprise to find we had been upgraded to a HUGE family room. 3 double beds & a room seperate within our room (room402). Room was large, clean and beds were very comfy. Breakfast was nice, great way to start the day.
The hotel is a perfect location, empire state, macys and times square on ur door step. central park/rockefeller centre (1/2 hr walk). we walked most places. caught water ferry (20 min walk) to ground zero, statue libery & elise island.
Everyone we came into contact within the Hotel were always friendly and helpful.
Fab holiday, would recommend and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 402 was Huge
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asykes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We needed the perfect place in New York city and found it here. A block from Macy's on 5th Ave and literally in the shadow of the Empire state building this amazing hotel was just the right place to celebrate our 13 years anniversary and the coming if our 4th child. We were greeted with an upgraded room and a bottle of champagne. The service was perfect and loved the fresh NYC bagels at breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvinelegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I had stayed at the Metro for a long weekend (four nights) in January 2013. The hotel has a perfect location in Mid Manhattan. The Empire State Building is nearby and most other New York attractions are either within walking distance or just a Subway ride away. The breakfast is a good start to the day and the rooms are reasonably large and very comfortable. I have never experienced as fast a WiFi as at the Metro. We had a problem with the voucher issued by our travel agent but the Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful in sorting it out. We would very happily go back for another stay.
If you want to go to a show, there is a chap in reception who can obtain tickets. You pay a surcharge of about 50% on the face value of the ticket but it is a convenient way of getting a ticket. If you want to economise, go to the theatre direct.

Room Tip: Aim for a higher floor if you can. It keeps the traffic noise down.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woibam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

we stayed here 18 th jan for 3 nights and it was a lovely clean hotel cannot complain about anything room was nice n clean great location to see everything in new york would reccommed this hotel.The breakfast was continental but was very nice and you could have tea and coffee all the time like i say very nice hotel and when we go back i would defenitly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baker-clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We checked in on the 28th of December to a warm reception. With the added bonus of being upgrade our room was amazing and the view of looking up to the Empire State Building never got old . The location was perfect, the breakfast in the hotel set you up for the day. In total we stayed at the hotel metro for 7 nights the most amazing new year and even better New Year's Day when I proposed to my wonderful partner......... On trump ice skating rink and I did get a yes :-) I strongly recommend planning your trip as we did to make sure you can cram in as much as possible. If flying and booking through virgin use the concierge service and I can highly recommend Ricardo amazingly helpful and nothing was to much trouble. As we managed to cram in everything and much more on our trip on the last few days we went for a drink in the hotel metro grill bar for a Brooklyn beer or two a lovely way to unwind with a few shipping bags. Many thanks for an amazing trip Darren and Vanessa

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrencornish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Overall the Hotel experience was not a bad one. My chief complaint is that the fire alarm in the rooms WILL NOT SHUT UP! There is this high pitch buzzing noise 24/7 and maintenance says they cannot do anything about the noise. If you can't hear well then the noise won't bother you, but if you have good hearing then the buzzing noise becomes very very annoying very quickly. You can't really hear it during the busy day time, but when you try and sleep at night it is very noticeable. The price of the Hotel is very reasonable considering it is 10 blocks away from Time Square and 1 block away from Herald Square and some great shopping. Staff is friendly, Free internet to all guest, and breakfast area is plentiful. Business center has some very slow computers, but better than nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinceTristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £145 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing