We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilled to have stayed here”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #97 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My sister and I stayed in Hotel Metro for five nights at the beginning of October. The first night when we checked in we were given a room on the second floor, room was not very big (but then again we were not in NY to spend a week in a bedroom) but had a spacious bathroom and closet to store extra's, our room was facing the main street but we were so tired every night that we didn't hear a thing once we hit the very comfortable bed! Fantastic view of the Empire State Building from the rooftop, location for us was excellent, subway was at the end of the street and Macy's was only a stone throw away, Times Square was about a ten minute walk. The location between 5th and 6th suited us perfectly. Very accessible from JFK using the LIRR line. The free WiFi was an added bonus for us. The staff are a credit to the hotel. I hope to return to NY in the future and I will have no hesitation in booking with hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 4,306 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 5 nights hereat the begining of october and it was superb.The room was great with a big kingsize bed.it also had a fridge in.the breakfast was quite good with fruit ,ceral ,toast ,tea coffe ,bagels and muffins.The views from the penthouse bar are stunning.We ate in the restaurant and it is very nice.When i go back to nyc i will defintley go back to the hotel metro.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent to nites at the hotel -- first visit to NYC with two of our grandchildren, 8 and 11. The double adjoining rooms worked perfectly. An additional sink outside the main bath area. Very clean, nicely decorated, friendly staff AND complimentary continental breakfasts. Also, very good location just one or two blocks from Empire State Bldg. Would revisit this hotel. My husband had business in the city, so the trip was combined business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from an excellent 4 night stay in this hotel. Travelling with my elderly parents and teenage daughter,a corner family room on the 10th floor consisting of two good sized bedrooms and a shared bathroom was ideal. An added unexpected bonus was the view of ESB from our window- wow! The beds were excellent- very welcome after a day's sightseeing- and the complimentary breakfast a great start to the day. A short walk to Broadway, Times Square and midway between 5th and 6th Ave makes this an ideal location. We all loved the art deco feel and more personal atmosphere compared to larger hotels. Would thoroughly recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly2634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent hotel in Midtown.
Very cosy and with a high quality-cost relationship.
Friendly service.
I really appreciate breakfast included.
Un hotel que repetiría si volviera a Nueva York.
Muy bien situado y con un buen desayuno incluido.
La relación calidad precio es buena considerando los precios
de Manhattan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a NYC getaway with my BFF. Hotel room was small but that is to be expected in a boutique hotel. Even so, the layout of the room was great, didn't feel cramped at all. Room very clean. Bathroom has terrific shower ( 3 different shower heads!) complimentary toiletries, magnifying mirror ( well that's important for those of us 50 plus!) Could use some hooks in bathroom as one other review mentions. Kuerig coffee maker in room which is nice. Beds were so comfortable, had a great nights sleep. It was nice and quiet where we stayed on the eighth floor. The only thing my friend and I could think of that could have been better was the lighting in the room. This is something that I've noticed in other smaller hotels I've stayed in as well; other than that it was just perfect. The roof top bar has spectacular view of the Empire State Building .
The continental breakfast had good selection of items...cereals, yogurt, fruit, muffins, assortment of breads, bagels ( which were the real thing) ,great coffee, tea, juices etc. It was always very busy there, but the staff kept up well with replenishing food and tidying. The front desk and other staff members were friendly and helpful at all times. Enjoyed everything about this hotel and it's in a fabulous location!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is our 4th stay at this hotel and we have never been disappointed. This Art Deco hotel has everything. A central location, lovely rooms and a great roof garden / bar with stunning views of the Empire State. We had a penthouse room which was very roomy, complimentary drinks in the fridge and a nice view. Added bonus is that it is steps away from the roof garden. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful and sets you up for a day's sightseeing or shopping in Macy's just across the street. The staff are very friendly and there are great bars and restaurants just minutes away from the hotel, including the hotel's own grill which serves great steaks. Will always stay here when we are in NY.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanp126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#199 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 471 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#159 of 471 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing