We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York short break”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #101 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,792 - 1,798 of 4,253 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Location was great - steps from the Empire State Building and subway just down the block. Paid for a premium room to be higher up and it was worth it - minimal traffic noise. Room was spacious by New York standards and bed was very comfy. Continental breakfast was just that nothing fancy but to make up for it we enjoyed our breakfast outside on the rooftop deck under the morning sun. The night time view of the Empire State Building from the rooftop is magical. Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganWoodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here in room 1115 from 5th nov to the 9th nov celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and was not disappointed from first arrival to sadly departure to go home. Beautiful hotel lovely reception staff to bellboys concierge men were more than helpful and were in touch with us even before we arrived giving us information on what sites to see to transport truly helpful. Rooms were lovely and the bed was a dream slept like a baby. We also had a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us in our room to celebrate our anniversary very touching. The breakfast was a great continetal choice as it set us up for the day and saved us looking round for somewhere to eat. The roof top bar was stunning and just a stones throw from Empire State Building what an amazing view. The metro bar was lovely and had an happy hour We were definitely in the heart of things macys about 2 min away Empire State in the next street. A lovely Irish bar about 2 doors up which also had an happy hour on drinks and lovely food. Cannot fault this hotel and would definitely go back wouldn't stay anywhere else. Almost of my friends have been asking us about the hotel and we have highly recommended it . Loved it x

Room Tip: There were no swimming pool but clicked on by mistake and could not take the rate off and didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I couldn't recommend this hotel enough the location is absolutely ideal for tourists. The view of the ESB from the roof terrace was great and a nice location to grab a drink before dinner. The rooms were nice and clean, it's a little noisy but hey you're in the middle of Manhatten.

Particular thanks to Matthew in the lobby during the day, thanks for all your advice and help, a true gent.

The breakfast was also a nice touch and unusual for an NYC hotel. Some great places nearby to eat and drink and just a stone throw away from broadway, time sq. etc

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouses and 12th floor, rooms were a good size, well cleaned and bathrooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A return visit for 4 nights to a very coveniently located hotel

We had room 1209 which being at the top was pleasantly quiet and roomy . It was fitted with multi function shower with two fixed heads, from above and from the side, and with portable a hand held head. You can use all, two or one of the heads as desired!

Breakfast was more than sufficient and we never had wait for a table. The facility to make coffee or tea 24/7 was again appreciated.

The reception staff and the rest of the team we came into contact with were friendly and approachable.

We will be back again, which really says it all.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights for the NYC marathon. It is a good central location to get to everything, Herald Square & Macy's is 1/2 block, Penn station 2 blocks, subway 1/2 block, Empire State Building right around the corner, I can go on but it is mostly all within walking distance, and the subway is pretty easy to navigate with the maps that the hotel can give you. The rooms were clean but ours was very small, (we had a queen premier room on 10th floor & still had street noise) no view, the difference between regular room and premier room is the premier rooms are on the higher floors and you get a coffe machine in your room and a 1 time complementary couple of bottles of water and 2 cans each of diet coke & reg. coke.,no refills, you can get free coffe or tea in the lobby anytime of day so if you don't mind going down to lobby you do not have to get premier room for extra charge. Breakfast is just toast, muffins, pastry, cold cereal, and yogurt. nothing hot and same thing everyday (just so so). The rooftop bar and terrace is nice and it looks directy at the Empire State building, we took lunch and dinner from elsewhere up there to eat a couple of times. We took the train from Newark airport for $12.50 each to Penn Station (about 35-40 minutes) and walked the few blocks with our luggage to hotel (about 15 minutes). There are a number of hotels right next to this hotel (Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Inn & Comfort Inn accross the street plus many more around the corner. Would I stay here again, yes if the price was right, but I would also check the others out as well if I could get a better price as my wife and I didn't find anything exceptional with this hotel and for $320.00 a night We were hoping for a little bit more. They were friendly but only would talk to you if you talked to them first except the door man. We got to hotel about 3:00pm and our room was not ready, so we waited in seats right accross from desk and after about 45 to 50 minutes I asked if they were ready yet and they said Oh, what was your name again and said it had been ready but we didnt know who you were??? No communication with the front desk people as I have said. I'm not sure how long they would have let us sit there if I had not asked again, and it was not busy when we had arrived.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg8944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Charming hotel in an excellent location for Time Square,5th Avenue & Broadway. Our room on the 9th floor did have a view of the ESB & an excellent shower but it was smaller than expected. The room was only single glazed as well, this meant we were woken up at 4.30 am most mornings by the city refuse collection etc. The breakfast buffet was pleasant, coffee was on tap & complimentary which we were grateful for. Jeff the concierge is brilliant, patient & hardworking. We would stay here again, our only criticism is about the roof terrace not being open. A great feature of the hotel that looks like it is under utilised. If some investment was made in some patio heaters & blankets then I'm sure it would reap rewards.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 469 in New York City
1,999 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
591 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#40 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing