We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Service all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Service all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

You absolutely cannot go wrong with this Hotel. Simply brilliant.

Located in Midtown, it is within walking distance of many attractions (Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockefeller, Madison Square Garden) and also very close to the subway (R line for the Financial District for anyone wishing to visit 9/11 Memorial).

Service is friendly and prompt, the staff are awesome; Geoff the Concierge is simply a brilliant guy and will help you with anything you need. Matthew on the door is also very knowledgeable and offers good pointers of where to go for food or how to get to places you want to visit.

For those that use WiFi you cannot go wrong as it works perfectly and also if you need to check in your flight online for your flight back they have a small office space which you can use for free.

The rooms are well presented and well looked after and the bed is extremely comfy. The continental breakfast is also excellent.

You simply cannot go wrong with this place - I plan to visit NYC again sometime so I would definitely return here, everything is simply perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzastuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,113
    1,479
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
718
2,112
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Wonderful hotel, great service, I had questions before making the reservation and had very quick email response and a very good value solution to my query. Typical American breakfast. Very nice pent house floor with direct view of Empire State building (also visible from my room!). Only blocks away from Macys. Central NYC is noisy at night but the bed was comfy enough.
Loved it! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Family suite - had two bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oden_Management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Hotel Metro on 18th November 2013 for a 4 night stay. Room 303, nice outlook, and good shower. All Staff were very friendly. Victor from maintenance was especially nice, looked time to chat when we met.Would stay again .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apello

Helpful?
2 Thank Baz427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I visited NYC with my family for the first time from November 16th to 21st. The hotel was recommended by our travel company and it proved to be a great choice. It is situated close to Macy's and a short distance from the lights, hustle and bustle of Times Square.the rooms were spacious and very comfortable- great beds! There was a complimentary breakfast which consisted of delicious bagels, gorgeous muffins , breads, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, tea and coffee. I loved the free tea and coffee facility available all day! The lovely Art Deco style of the hotel with music of the era playing in the background added to the ambience of the hotel- I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York who wants to stay in this area. The Empire State Building is just around the corner and if you go up to the roof terrace in the hotel you have a fabulous view of it especially at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was my seventh stay at the Metro during the last five years. I have also stayed at other hotels during that period. The Metro has been the best of the bunch.

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Right in the shadow of the Empire State Building. Most of the sights of New York are within easy walking distance. There is also a subway station a few yards from door so getting uptown and downtown quickly is really easy. Transfer from JFK is straightforward. Take the AirTrain to Jamaica and then either the Long Island Railroad to Penn Station. Another option is to take the E to Forest Hills and change to the F for 34th St. Both of these methods are much quicker (and cheaper!) than by cab. If you are staying for a few days I recommend buying a seven day Metro card. At a cost of $30.00 you only need to use it 11 or 12 times to get your money back. Any extra rides are a bonus. In my experience, using the subway is by far the best way of seeing a lot of New York quickly!

As on previous occasions check in was swift and I am pleased to say I noticed that the front desk staff have become friendlier. Some staff in the past rarely made eye contact or smiled but on this occasion check in and check out were both a pleasant experience. Matthew the doorman has been one constant feature over the years and is worth his weight in gold. Always helpful and friendly.

The rooms I have used have invariably been on the small side without much room to store a case but they are clean. During the years I have stayed at the Metro not a lot has changed. In many ways this is a good thing but a bit of renovation would not go amiss as the décor is getting a bit faded and could do with brightening up. It is for this reason that I am rating the hotel as four stars. I have rated it as five in my previous reviews but I feel it has lost some ground against other hotels in the same price range.

The cold buffet breakfast is ok. Lots of bread and pastries. A room is not set aside specifically for dining, the lounge is used and it can be a bit of a scrum when busy especially when waiting for toast. Be prepared to sit on a settee with a low table to eat as there are a limited number of tables and chairs.

Complimentary tea and coffee is available in the lounge all day. This is great for relaxing after a hard day pounding the streets of New York.

I have never used the Metro Grill so cannot comment. I tend to use the many bars on 35th St. O’Reilly’s and Brendan’s are both fine as is the Heartland Brewery at 5th and 34th. Great beer and food.

Free Wi Fi in my room was fine but terrible when in the lounge. I could barely get a signal and had to give up on a few occasions. Aircon in my room was really old and noisy and couldn’t be kept on. On my last night I could barely sleep even with earplugs because of what sounded like the aircon in another room. Never had that before. Traffic noise is a problem in the front rooms especially on lower floors but at the side and back of the hotel it is fairly quiet. I emailed ahead to ask for a quiet room. I specifically gave a room number I had used before but received a very non-committal reply. When I arrived I was pleased to find I had been given the room I requested. I wonder why they couldn't have told me that in advance? Many other hotels I use are able to do so.

Overall, I can still recommend the Metro as it has so much going for it. If they would spend a bit of cash freshening up the rooms a bit it would be five stars again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side. Street facing rooms are very noisy especially when the garbage i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ST1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for my girlfriend's birthday mid November. On arriving I was pleased to find the surprise champagne & chocolates I had emailed to order were in the room presented really nicely - thanks to Dean at the Concierge Desk for fixing this for me!

We arrived at 2.30pm and our room was ready - lots of hotels can leave you waiting. We had a Premier Queen room on the 11th floor - it was very clean & spacious enough for 2 people on a week's sightseeing trip. (Some of the other rooms may be smaller, but can't really comment as I didn't see them)
The bathroom was nicely finished with a lovely rainfall shower head. Tea & coffee maker and the complimentary soft drinks in the fridge are a great touch - not something I've seen in many hotels before but very welcome after an 8 hour flight - possibly not available in lesser rooms?

We headed straight up to the famed roof terrace to open the champagne and were greeted with a great view of the Empire State Building. The bar up there is closed during winter, but I think with some patio heaters it could be a money spinner for them.

After freshening up, we went to explore - Subway station & Macy's less than 500 yards away, 10mins walk to Times Sqaure and 5mins in the other direction to the Empire State Building. It was the perfect location for us. Being so central, there was some traffic noise throughout the night (sleeping with the window open) but you have to expect that in such a central location. There is heating and air con, so you could shut this out if necessary.

We only ate in the hotel twice - once for breakfast which was busy and basic - toast, bagels, muffins, fruit - but is included in the price, so not going to be a 5 course feast, if you want a big breakfast, head for Ruby Tuesdays or Brooklyn Diner, both just off Times Square. The other time we ate dinner in the Metro Grill, it was quite expensive but the food and service was brilliant.

Also thanks to Matthew the doorman who stored our baggage and arranged our taxi back to the airport - a really nice guy.

All in all a great base for sightseeing in New York, and we both agreed that if we went back to New York, we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Premier Queen Room was a good size and had great little extra touches like the complimentary drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very helpful staff. The roof top with a bar is a great space to relax and take it all in. The gym is small but sufficient. The breakfast is good. The location is what did it for me very close to the subway, times square, Empire State and Macys.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeloBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing