We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #101 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just had 5 nights here. Our first trip to NY. What a place!! The hotel is well situated, very close to ESB, Times Square, Macy's, MSG, Fifth/Sixth Ave and only around 20-30 mins to Central park, Fao Schwarz and The Plaza. Bonus getting breakfast too, sets you up for the day.

Our room was on the 3rd floor. No view, but was really quiet at night. The view from the terrace more than makes up for it. The trip was for our birthdays and we had some fancy yummy choccies waiting for us in our room, which was a nice touch.

The staff are great, really helpful. Especially Mathew on the door, who took an interest in what/where we were going for the day and gave us some great advice.

After a few days of busy sightseeing we decided to have an earlyish night at the hotel. The rooftop bar was shut as it was out of season. So we decided to take some pizza and a couple of beers up there. We had a lovely crisp night looking up at the Empire State Building. Perfect!!

Would definitely stay here again, thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor. Low down, but at the back. Really quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,830 - 1,836 of 4,321 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel metro with 2 friends for 4 nights . Location excellent for sightseeing and shopping. Nice staff who were very helpful in dealing with queries. Complimentary breakfast well stocked. We stayed in a contemporary family room which was very spacious and very clean

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limlady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is in a prefect location. It's very clean, and the staff are very nice and helpful.

We enjoyed the wine and cheese evening, it was delicious!

The breakfast each morning was lovely, we left the hotel each morning very full up!

The free hot drinks facilities is fabulous, you can drink as many as you like.

There is wifi throughout the hotel, and it was great keeping in touch with family using this free facility.

From the Hotel Metro we walked to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockefeller, The Highline Park, Manhattan Bridge, Brooklyn Bridge, Central Park, the 9/11 Tribute Center, the ferry over to Statten Island, Little Italy, Grand Central Station, the tram (cable car) over to Roosevelt Island, Macy's and Bloomingdales. But bare in mind my husband and myself enjoy walking, and we did lots of it!

We hired bikes for Central Park, and this was a brilliant idea to see lots of the park.

The roof terrace is lovely, you get a fabulous view of the Empire State Building, which is just around the corner.

We had a room at the back of the hotel, and although the view wasn't great, it was peaceful and we got a very good nights sleep each night.

The Hotel Metro knew we were in America for our silver wedding anniversary, and it was a lovely touch to find a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket and two champagne glasses in our room. Thank you very much!

We would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband booked this hotel through Trailfinders as a surprise for my 40th birthday. I had heard other good things about the hotel from other people. Our room looked out on the side of the Empire State Building excellent iconic sight to see. This hotel has a rooftop bar which wasnt open during our stay but I imagine in the warmer months its a spectacular place to sit and have a drink and watch the world go by. THe location of this hotel is great, 34th street subway stations for all lines are within a stones throw. The Empire State Building is round the corner, Macy's is at the corner and 5th avenue is the next avenue along. Our first room was actually good, the hotel had a bottle of fizz on ice for us which was lovely. The bed wasn't too comfortable for my husband, so we were very fortunate to be moved to the 10th floor to a refurbed more spacious room. The hairdryer was better in the new room an iron and ironing board are in the room, always helpful! The hotel provide a good continental breakfast which we only had on the Friday lots of bakes goods, bagels, muffins, pastries, toast, cereal, fruit and yoghurts. Tea, coffee and juice. Tea and coffee are on tap all day. The concierge was very knowledgable and helpful as were the front desk staff. The metro grill did a fabulous breakfast for a very reasonable price and was the best we had whilst in New York. Highly recommend the Metro its beautiful and I loved the Art Deco features in the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed hear with my family and it was really really good. The decor was very american and made us all feel very welcome. The hotel itself was clean, modern and classy. The staff were very polite and welcoming. Nicest hotel i have stayed in!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have been coming to the city for years, have found many good and very good hotels, but at last we have found our first Great hotel, very classy, very accommodating - we were unexpectedly and wonderfully upgraded on our arrival. Very clean rooms, quiet, good views, wonderful rooftop patio. Wonderfully comfortable bed - unbelievably GREAT shower!!!! Welcoming staff was very personable, very efficient, and excellent at their work. We felt both at home and on holiday - the perfect NYC feel. Everything is within walking distance - varied entertainment and very good dining for all tastes. Well done!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

You absolutely cannot go wrong with this Hotel. Simply brilliant.

Located in Midtown, it is within walking distance of many attractions (Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockefeller, Madison Square Garden) and also very close to the subway (R line for the Financial District for anyone wishing to visit 9/11 Memorial).

Service is friendly and prompt, the staff are awesome; Geoff the Concierge is simply a brilliant guy and will help you with anything you need. Matthew on the door is also very knowledgeable and offers good pointers of where to go for food or how to get to places you want to visit.

For those that use WiFi you cannot go wrong as it works perfectly and also if you need to check in your flight online for your flight back they have a small office space which you can use for free.

The rooms are well presented and well looked after and the bed is extremely comfy. The continental breakfast is also excellent.

You simply cannot go wrong with this place - I plan to visit NYC again sometime so I would definitely return here, everything is simply perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razzastuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 473 in New York City
1,224 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 473 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
477 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#154 of 473 in New York City
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £104 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing