We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #96 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The location is the real selling point for this hotel. It's located a street away from the Empire State building, a subway stop 2 minutes away, Broadway 3 minutes away, Times Sq 8 minutes away and 5th Avenue shopping/Rockefeller etc just a little further.

The hotel was clean and tidy, staff were great, breakfast was basic but we ate out most mornings on the move. There is a small amount of street noise (we were on the 10th floor) but you'll accept it given the location!

We flew into Newark and grabbed a cab, costs about $80. We ate at Penn6 near Madison Square Garden which was excellent, try Eataly near 23rd street, it a shop come selection of eateries but very cool and full of New Yorkers. Had some great chicken wings at Bon Chon on West 38th, good breakfast at Bond 45, cool drink at the 40/40 club in the Flatiron district.

We got the underground to South Ferry and walked back through the city via Wall St, Chinatown, Little Italy, Brooklyn bridge and back into the Flatiron district. Bit of a walk but you can stop, eat and drink all the way.

We saw the Kings of Leon at MSG, so definitely worth trying to see some sports/ music there, New Yorkers love an exciting event, lots of 'whooping and yeah' ing.

We also walked to Central Park and on to the Guggenheim museum, worth a look if you like that sort of thing?

Overall, great hotel, great trip and at no time did we feel uncomfortable or concerned for our safety. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 4,213 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 5 days at Hotel Metro. Fantastic location and excellent hotel. Rooms compact but extremely comfortable, Breakfast available each morning, nothing special but a good start. Reception staff not very friendly but maybe that's New York. Would definitely recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I Stayed In This Hotel For 5 Nights. It Is In A Good Position For Most Of New York City Sites. The Hotel And Rooms Are Clean And Tidy. Bed Very Comfortable. The Staff Very All Very Helpful Especially Matthew. I Used The Metro Grill For A Meal Most Days And The Food And Service Was Again Excellent. I Would Use This Hotel Again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Perfect hotel for when staying in New York. Close to all the main attractions - we even walked to Central Park. Rooms are small but adequate. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpful. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SALPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A very good boutique hotel in Midtown Manhattan. Very close to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Penn Station and a short walk from Times Square. Rooms are of average size and the beds are very comfortable. Rooms are very clean. En suite bathrooms are on the small side but are again very clean with quality toiletries.
Good grille restaurant which serves a fantastic 'Metro Burger' - possibly the best burger I've ever eaten.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Well what can I say !!!
First of all, the hotel. Location was brilliant, the Empire State Building, Time Square, Madison Square Garden, Macys and dozens of bars and restaurants all within a slow 10 minute walk. The reception and bar staff were friendly and helpfull and the food was lovely. They have a happy hour during the week that lasts 3 hours, the prices in happy hour are what you would normally pay in England for a drink ( about 3 quid ) however it is quiet expensive before and after these hours.... well it is New York !!!
The breakfast are quiet basic but there's a decent choice and tea and coffee is avaliable all day. I've been told not many hotels do a FREE breakfast so this was a big bonus and a nice start to the day before you begin to hit the streets sight seeing and shopping.
The rooms were nice and big and always clean, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in.
On leaving the hotel we just told the reception when our flight home was and they arranged a cab to pick us up and take us to the airport, the bell man takes your luggage and saves it in a lock up after you check out until the cab arrives.
There's also a rooftop beer garden with staggering views of the Empire State Building !!!!!
My wife and I would defiantly recommend this hotel, infact were going back hopefully next summer. New York can be proud of this hotel, that's high praise given the fact New York is probably the greatest city on Earth.
David Little

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidLittle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A great hotel,with an ideal location for visiting everything in manhattan,the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The rooms were spacious and very clean,the food was excellent with very generous portions and the bar a lively place to be early evening offering a happy hour on drinks , Gillian behind the bar was really helpful and made our stay a memorable one, can not wait to come back next year. Lisa Hayes

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Littleldjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
764 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#106 of 469 in New York City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 469 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £142 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing