We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing! Don't think just book it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing! Don't think just book it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was my first trip to New York & I'm so glad I picked the hotel metro. It's in the perfect location to explore the city and all it's sites without the need of using the subway ( which is only on the corner)

Hotel staff are very helpfully and seem to know all the answers.
Breakfast is inc each morning.
Free wifi
Free tea and coffee all day, plus u can take it away :)

Room are a nice size, clean with lovely beds.

Don't worry if your flight is really earlier in the morning or late at night, they offer a free luggage room to store you bags.

I have recommend this hotel to a number of people now, all of which said it was great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank essexadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,462
    292
    70
    47
See reviews for
710
2,085
138
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swadlincote
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at hotel metro December 2013 and was there for New Years Eve , what a fantastic time we had. Could not fault anything we were upgraded to a suite on the 10 floor staff could not be more helpful.Location is fantastic so close to Macy's and not far from Empire state . Underground just to the right of the hotel but most things are within walking. Free Continental breakfast gave you a good start to the day and coffee & tea are available most of the time.What a gem on 35th st.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel before travel stating it was our 25th and my husband was 50. we were upgraded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenswadlincote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Metro in December 2013 and we were amazed at the quality and the great location of the hotel. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the center of all the tourist attractions but just far enough out to get the sleep required when visiting the big apple. The service was great from the receptionist to the cleaners, and if me and my girlfriend are ever fortunate enough to visit NYC again we will 100% stay at the Hotel Metro.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hotel Metro,NYC.Excellent staff.Excellent location.Beautifully clean rooms.Just what we needed,a Hotel to be confident about your every need.Reception staff and Concierge were very helpful and could not do enough for us so we could make the most of our four days in New York.This hotel has the added bonus of a continental breakfast from 6.00am till 10.00am which was more than enough to keep us on the go till lunch.The helpful Concierge will book shows for you and any cabs or transfers back to airports.He advised us on how to obtain tickets for the Subway which is daunting to say the least as it isn't staffed.The location is grand with the Empire State building towering over the road and all the main shops like Macy's on your door step.There is the Metro Grill restaurant and bar downstairs which serves up some superb meals at reasonable prices.My Wife and I will return and will not hesitate to book the Hotel Metro again.

Room Tip: Room702 was a double and a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went to New York and stayed at this hotel after looking at other reviews. Stayed with a friend and they out two single beds in the room for us. We were on the 4th Floor at the front of the hotel over looking the street and the Empire Estate Building. The hotel is beautifully decorated in Art Deco style and was always clean and tidy. The breakfast in the morning was adequate, an was always fresh, but you need to get in by 8am or after 9am so you can sit down, as it gets very busy. There is coffee available all day too. The doormen, concierge and reception staff are all friendly and very helpful, and always have a smile for you and will help with any questions. The room was small, but beds were very comfortable which after a day sight seeing was a must. The street below was noisy at times but the hotel is in a side street so not as bad as 5th or 6th Avenue for noise but be prepared for noise factor. Be prepared for lots of walking and lots of spending money as meals out can be expensive. We went to O'reillys bar just up the street and again lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. The Empire Estate is a must at night, and the views from the 86th floor are amazing. We went to Ground Zero, and it was a very humbling experience for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel and the staff, it is in an amazing location for shopping and sightseeing and the metro underground and lots of fantastic places to eat close by. The hotel is clean and we had a room on the 11th floor which was lovely, the staff were always on hand to help out at any point. The breakfast was good and just enough to get you on your way for the day ahead. This was a special trip for me and my wife and being in this location and hotel made it all worth while. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to New York.

Room Tip: Rooms on 11th Floor are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

First visit to New York and this little gem of a hotel in just the right place!
Our first hotel room was not what we thought we booked as was a double and the very kind receptionist managed to change it for us and we then got a lovely big twin bedded room which was fantastic, looking out the front of the hotel and you could see the ESB, the beds were the best I have ever slept in, whilst away from home, you just melted into them bliss!!

Step out of the hotel and turned left ( you pass a great Irish Bar, worth a visit ) and you walked up to the top of the road which was 5th avenue and you could have a visit to the Empire State building( ESB)! Out and turn right just a few yards was the metro, which we used a lot a bit complicated to start with but then trial and error won the day! Macy's was on the corner by the metro, wonderful and at this time of year with all the windows decorated for Christmas was a show in it self! fantastic shop went in quite a few times for the sales! Macy's parade was also a must see, and so much effort the New Yorkers put in to the floats was excellent!

Our hotel concierge was a great chap for getting our tickets to any show we wanted to see or any outing we wanted to make! Christmas show at Radio City, a carriage ride in Central Park & a trip up in the ESB !

The Breakfast was continental, but eat as much as you wanted to was no problem there, the only negative I have was there wasn't much space in the breakfast / dinning area to eat it, with the hotel quite full it was a 'grab a seat' when you could which was a shame because this is such a lovely hotel to stay in.

I would most definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who's visiting New York.

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing the front twin room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing