We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #90 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Got this hotel through British airways. It was everything we needed for a short break in new
York. Travelled as a couple the hotel is very central and if you want to go downtown Manhattan etc there
Is a subway at the end of the street. Staff are very friendly there was even a
Complimentary cheese and wine night which was a pleasant surprise! Breakfast was ideal bagels toast cereal yoghurts fruit etc. Stayed on the 12th floor lovely size and clean room. Staff on reception very helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,186
    1,530
    301
    75
    49
See reviews for
746
2,195
148
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Enjoyed pleasant staff, Cheerful Desk person Gleen let me know that for some reason I had been "upgraded". So I didn't question room 406.

Smaller bedroom with queen bed not on 35th street might have been more quiet. I chose the one of the double beds by the windows instead.

Had noticed the rushing noise of the HVAC, an intrusive white noise. Then sometime in the night woke to the sound of a truck revving and banging and... When the HVAC startsup there's a scraping sound like a vent opening. Then around 4:30 am another truck not just going by but working at something...

Quality Inn is just across the street. Next time I'd ask. Didn't expect 35th to have that kind of traffic street noise; Higher and away might work.

And then! about 8am what sounded like a masonry drill started up in the next room. This construction? noise was off and on. I checked out at 9:30.

The Metro asks that you check out. I'm used to most places these days just leaving...

Instead of the common room coffee maker there is a very nice complimentary continental breakfast area just off the lobby.

I also like the bathroom amenities, these wide mouth attractive travel size bottles that I'll enjoy re-using.

Had a helpful enjoyable conversation with the concierge going in to breakfast.

Rooms were all clean and in top notch shape, good repair. I found the brown, beige maroon subdued, not bright not cheery.

If not for the noise and poor night's sleep, rest; a good experience.

Room Tip: I'd stay again but would be more careful about getting up and away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Don't review too often, only when I feel there is something exceptional to talk about. In this case, the hotel was in a great location. You could not ask for much better if you want to be in the heart of Manhattan and pretty much walking distance to any of the iconic locations. Right next door to the Empire State building, 5th Avenue and Macy's. Plus, I wish the reception staff had told me about the amazing view from the rooftop of their hotel where you can see the Empire state building. At night time it was even more impressive. Room was clean. Staff were friendly. Concierge Dean was really helpful and recommended some great restaurants and sorted out tickets to the Empire state building for us. Cons: The internet in our room was slower than dial up, and at times non-existent, on various devices we had. Didn't complain as didn't come to New York to be on the internet but if it is important for you then as I say it was atrocious and I've been to many hotels and B&Bs around the world and the internet connection has never been that bad. Secondly, it took about 5-10 mins for the water to finally get hot in our shower. Bad design too, as you have to get into the shower to turn it on. At which point you are sprayed upon by 3 different shower heads (one high above, one in front and a detachable one). I only mention this as therefore, you have to get drenched in cold water first to try and quickly turn the hot tap on. Then get out and wait 5-10 mins for it to get hot. Therefore, overall would still recommend the place but be aware the internet may be temperamental and I'm just hoping that the hot water problem was just my room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have just returned from this hotel after a great stay. All I can say is it was fab and I cant wait to return. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms were spotless and cleaned every day and breakfast was perfect for what we needed. It was the perfect spot for Macy,s an the empire state Building and the 3 irish bars on the door step were great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located, perfectly clean. Very friendly staff, more than willing to help. Room was small but well equipped. Only gripe was a whistle and draught from the windows but soon remedied. Literally 2 minutes from empire state building and a brisk 5 min walk to times square. Subway at the end of street as well as macy's. Wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend. We both loved it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Excellent hotel and location. Staff very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded as it was my 50th birthday and nice chocolates were put in the room. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast was an added bonus

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pauline19642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay in New York and stayed at The Hotel Metro on 35th Street. Fabulous location for all the sights. We were upgraded upon our arrival as it was my 50th birthday present. We were on the 3rd floor and our hotel room looked straight out at the Empire State Building! The room was big, warm and clean with really comfortable beds. We used the lounge for breakfast every morning which was good value, lovely staff and it certainly set us up for the busy days ahead.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York for its location. I would also recommend getting a New York Pass, it saved us a fortune. You must see Lion King on Broad Way, it’s excellent!!!
Our trip was wonderful and I would love to return one day. We would certainly come back to this hotel! A big, big Thank You to all the Metro staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Old-william
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
745 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 466 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 466 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing