We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation and Location!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #90 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation and Location!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were very pleased with the hotel. Clean and in great condition. Helpful and friendly staff. Good size room and ensuite (King Room 711). Cleaned every day. Complimentary breakfast was great with good choice of continental pastries, cereal, juices, yoghurts etc. Could hear the external air con unit as we were at the back of the hotel but didn't bother us. Great view from the rooftop (bar wasn't open but guests could still access the rooftop). Small gym on top floor was fine.

Location on 35th street was key to us as it is slap bang in the middle of Manhattan.
Would recommend and visit again.

Top tips at hotel.
1) Avoid peak times at breakfast (8.30-9.30) as you will struggle to find a table.
2) Place your fridge-cold butter under your coffee in the morning to make it spreadable!

Room Tip: We had back corner room on 7th floor. Spacious but could hear external air con unit. Not a problem f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cactusuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,186
    1,530
    301
    75
    49
See reviews for
746
2,195
148
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel was lovely, the staff was awesome, the view was incredible, the convenience and proximity to the train station was perfect. I was there with a child for a getaway weekend and he had a great time. The hotel provided the perfect launch point to all the sites and things we did all weekend. I will return!

Room Tip: We had a penthouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Necola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here on a city break. Booked with Virgin. Large double/double that I shared with my daughter. Comfy bed, very clean bedding and spacious bathroom. No bath but huge shower. Good continental breakfast; breakfast room gets very busy so can be a bit of a scrum. Nice restaurant attached to hotel - little expensive but worth it. Staff in hotel really friendly and helpful. Fantastic location, great views from the room terrace. All in all good experience, and would recommend the hotel as a great place to stay when in New York.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank carole a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel Metro is 1st Class. We arrived Monday 7th April to a spotlessly clean hotel/room and a very warm welcome by all the staff. We initially were placed in room 307 which was perfect until it came to sleeping. There was a very large extractor fan right outside our window which did stop us having a good nights rest so we spoke to the hotel and without question they moved us to room 714 which was perfect. Breakfast was amazing and you could have tea and coffee all day. The hotel is right next to Macys, Times Square, The Empire State etc so you could go out and pop back 'home' to drop off shopping, have a rest and a coffee and then head back out. I really have nothing negative to say about the whole trip. I stayed there with my Son who is 16 and my daughter who is 10 and they loved every minute of the trip and thought the hotel was wonderful. The Art Deco theme is fabulous, it felt much higher than its rating. I have read about Wi Fi issues in previous reviews but found it to be A1 and managed to upload over 1000 pictures to FB. When I return to New York I would definitely return to the hotel Metro and would recommend anyone to stay there. We had a Contemporary Double Deluxe Room so it was large and spacious. I did hear comments that the standard double rooms were on the small side but I did not see them so just be extra sure which room you are getting. It was all over too quickly and the Hotel Metro made the experience one to remember. Thank you everyone who works there, you were great hosts and we hope to see you again real soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a stay at this hotel. It was in a great location and our room had an amazing view of the Empire State Building. The roof top terrace was a bonus and great views of the Empire State Building. Very comfortable room and friendly staff who were very helpful.
I would recommend this hotel as a great place to explore NYC from and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steelersheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a girls city break through Virgin and chose Metro because it suited our budget and looked a good location. We got a twin room on the fourth floor which was really quite spacious and had a great size shower! I'd heard NY rooms were usually small but this was more than adequate. The public areas of the hotel were spotless and decorated with gold in an Art Deco style. It was great to get back from a long day walking round the sights to help ourselves to a complimentary coffee from the dining room and upload all our photos on the free wifi. We could actually get on the Internet from our room using hotel wifi, don't know if this is every room or if we were just lucky. Definitely recommend this place- so central yet not too noisy for the city that never sleeps! The bed linen was good quality and the rooms were lovely and clean. Considering it was on the cheapest end of Virgins options we were very impressed :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank 395Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very central location in mid-town so handy for getting around to all the sights, especially with a subway station at the end of the street and buses running along 5th Avenue nearby. Very close to Macy's, Empire State and Times Square so good for Broadway.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, one of the refurbished ones with a decent bathroom and overhead shower. Tea/coffee maker provided in room. Staff helpful.

Great Irish bars a few steps away especially O'Reilly's so handy for good value food too and happy hour cocktails. Need to travel further afield for fancier eating places, but taxis are always passing so easy to get across town. Self-service breakfast is plentiful although feels a little MacDonalds with paper plates and plastic cutlery so you might want to venture out occasionally for a change from bagels/cereals (suggestion: might be good to offer muesli in your cereal selection).

Thank you for a great fun week in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slawitwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 466 in New York City
745 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 466 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 466 in New York City
2,123 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing