We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have made a better choice.”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Couldn't have made a better choice.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay from 29 Apr - 6 May 14. Although our rooms weren't ready on arrival, we were directed to a room with complimentary coffee, while we waited.
After a long day travelling, the free wine and cheese tasting on Tuesday evening was also very welcome.
Our Premier Queen room was tiny in comparison to the Contemporary Double Deluxe my 85yr old Mother in Law and her 82yr old friend shared but both were extremely clean and comfortable. As a trade off between bath and coffee maker, I will go for the the CDD, for the bath, next time. Noise was not an issue, although it might be if you use the air-con in summer; we didn't need to.
The hotel is ideally situated for either walking to or catching the subway to all the major attractions. We bought tickets, from the concierge, to Liberty and Ellis Islands, which included refillable $10 Metro tickets. However, if you want military/veteran discount, you will need to buy at the attraction (Well worth asking at Top of the Rock & USS Intrepid.)
The complimentary breakfast menu is limited but extremely fresh. Seating is haphazard so it's better to go early or you might end up eating off your knee.
The food in the bar/grill is very good and served by attentive, polite staff. We pick out Brett and Ruslan for special thank yous, along with Christina, Helena, Abrahim, Matthew, James and Dean. Each went out of their way to help us make the most of our holiday, whether by providing good service and/or information about New York. I do not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If too many heavy people get into the lift, it goes down to the laundry and gets stuck there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    1,518
    298
    74
    49
See reviews for
739
2,179
146
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of May, we absolutely loved our first trip to New York and was recommended this hotel by several people. Lovely room which was cleaned every day and the breakfast was great, set us up for the day. The staff were very helpful in giving instructions on how to get to places but best of all its in a fantastic location, near to everything (especially Macys!!) Will definitely be returning one day in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: A room at the back as our room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We (two couples) for two nights on our way back home to the west coast after a cruise in France and a short stay in Rome. This was our second time at the hotel - we had stayed about fifteen years ago when our daughter was in an intern summer program through her college. We had come out to visit her and spend the weekend in New York city. It was very good then for our family and even better this time. We were upgraded upon arrival to a wonderful suite that had a foyer, very comfortable queen bedroom, fantastic bathroom with a multiple head shower, and a fantastic living room with a fireplace (I assume it did not work - we did not try it) and also and small dining table for four and a wet-bar with coffee making equipment and a refrigerator. We almost felt bad that we were so busy seeing the sites we did not have enough time to fully use the room (although I did take a short nap on the sofa one afternoon). The roof top terrace is very nice to see the Empire State building. We enjoyed our breakfast that was included in the price. We used the services of the concierge even before we arrived as he arranged for a private driver to pick us up at the airport. He also made arrangements for a hop on/off bus site seeing tour, dinner reservations and the driver to take us back to the airport when we left. The bellman was also very helpful with our luggage coming and going and storage when we needed it the day we left and getting taxi-cabs for us twice. He also knew all the local places to eat as I had wanted a bagel with lox and a hard boiled egg to supplement the hotel's breakfast offerings (the hotel had bagels - but not lox).
I have to also compliment the desk attendant a young man who was so helpful and courteous - I wish I could remember his name. I don't know if we will make it back to NYC for a third time but if we do this is where we will happily stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice hotel. Clean room and bathroom. Great location near Empire State bldg and Macy's. Included breakfast is very basic… pastry and coffee. Very nice reasonable bars and restaurants on the same block.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Metro, beautiful art deco hotel, absolutely spotlessly clean, staff very helpful. The location is superb, central to everything, within 10 minute walking distance to beautiful Bryant park, Times square, Macy's is in view and the view of the Empire State Building from the fantastic roof top terrace can't be enjoyed often enough, amazing!! The rooms are large, plenty of storage, power showers,queen size bed,plenty of choice at breakfast, if you want your own table though get to breakfast before 9 am. Very comfortable hotel and would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

In a great location to explore New York, just a leisurely stroll away from Times Square and Madison Square Gardens amongst others. Although on the small side, the rooms are nice and clean with all the amenities you'd expect, with the exception of a kettle but there is tea and coffee available for free all day in the breakfast room. We found all the staff to be polite and extremely helpful, especially the doorman who always seemed to know the best way to explore the city, the bar is very nice but it would have been really special if the rooftop patio had a bar to complement the view. The only main downside is the size of the breakfast room, we were only able to dine in their on the first morning (jetlag awoke us real early and we were first in), the other 2 days we were unable to get a seat, along with a few others so we had to get a coffee to go and went a eat on one of the nearby diners. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and when we go back to New York I will look at this hotel first whilst booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here on our way back from Hawaii and found all the personnel at the Hotel Metro to be very pleasant and helpful, breakfast had a good choice of cereals and other US and continental style fayre along with coffee, tea and toast. It was very busy when we stayed here and there wasn't enough tables for everyone where the self service food was situated, a lot of people couldn't find seating until another dining room was opened up. The doorman was excellent and helped us with our luggage when we needed to store it after vacating our room early in the morning, allowing us to take a bus tour of the city until it was time to be back for our airport shuttle transfer. The bar was very good and comfortable in the evening and a bonus was to be found on the rooftop patio area as the hotel is situated right beneath the Empire State building. The only thing that I would say is that I expected this boutique style hotel to be much more modern inside similar to boutique hotels in Europe and although it was very clean etc; it didn't feel like a boutique hotel. I think it could do with refurbishment to give it a much more desirable boutique feel and if I owned the hotel I would also open up the rooftop patio with an additional bar, tables and chairs for that extra special finishing touch if that were at all possible (there may be reasons why this isn't possible), that said, my wife and I would still recommend it for it's convenient position for exploring New York and the lovely staff we encountered at The Hotel Metro.

Room Tip: Our room was okay and I could not really tell if there were any better views from other rooms. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wraakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
740 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#95 of 466 in New York City
701 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,376 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing