We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #90 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel location was fantastic - Macy's and Empire State Building, subway stop along the street and within walking distance of pretty much everything!

Smart and comfy rooms plus we loved sitting on the roof terrace with a drink!

All staff very friendly and helpful. The doorman Matthew who always greeted us with a smile and gave us lots of helpful advice about directions, the subway and places to visit!

I will certainly be recommending the hotel Metro to friends visiting NY!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaB_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,186
    1,531
    301
    75
    49
See reviews for
747
2,195
148
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Myself and my wife stopped for 4 great nights in NYC!

The hotel is fairly modern and in a great location, slap bang in between the Empire State Building and Macy's (both around 5 mins) - Time Square in around a 15 min walk, and 10 mins from Madison Square Garden

We were there for my birthday, and after booking I e-mailed the hotel and cheekily asked for an upgrade, and when we arrive, not only were we greeted at reception by a friendly and professional employee, who wished me a happy birthday(!!), but we got the upgrade too!!

The room was a really good size (I hear NYC is famed for small rooms). There were 2 double beds, a wardrobe, safe in the wardrobe, massive TV, chairs and table, really nice bathroom, with a great shower. WC was standard size!

Continental breakfast was included in our stay - you have to try the bagels, they were great. Good selection of pastries and hot/cold drinks, along with cereals, yogurts and jams

There is also a 'business center' where you can access e-mails on the 2 computers

The location was the reason we chose this hotel, but we really couldn't fault anything

We would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Massive comfortable rooms with a roof top bar, what more is needed, great stay, breakfast gets busy but you are in NY the city the never sleeps. We managed to find a table and the self service continental breakfast was more than enough to set us up for the day. Rooftop bar snack menu was great quality and fast service. Would recommend this hotel as a base for anyone

Room Tip: High floor to reduce the noise, but remember you are in a busy city. Noise is part of it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifes_a_beach74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent 3 night stay in a Premier Family room (802). Very spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast more than adequate and the bottled water/sodas in room was a nice touch. Front desk and & bellstaff (Matthew) all excellent and happy to recommend good restaurants nearby. (Vezzo a $7 cab ride a way and Brendan’s opposite both very good).
The only aspect I would raise is the sound proofing - the room would benefit from double glazing to cut down on the street noise at night but wouldn’t stop me from staying here again. We researched a lot of hotels for our stay and definitely made the right choice.
The recent reviews from AndyF to Stephanini all very accurate in my opinion & I would recommend the Metro to anyone visiting New York.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premier Room for more space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the back end of our holiday.

Hotel had amazing views from the roof top bar, mainly of the Empire State Building. the drinks in this bar were ridiculously expensive due to the view so we only had one each and then mooches off to another bar.

The location of this hotel was perfect for our needs, right in the centre of everything and just around the corner (ish) from Times Square, Empire State Building and the Rockefeller building.
Great base for touring around the city.
Some really nice bars and restaurants very close by and the subway is just on the corner.

Our room was really fine for our needs and absolutely perfectly clean.

Staff good, friendly and helpful in particular the door man who was especially helpful.

The only down side was that breakfast always turned into a scrum as the were not enough tables to accommodate all the guests at peak times, people were getting quite cross with each other.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkgerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Metro and cannot fault it. The location is superb within walking distance of many city attractions or a short subway journey away. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. We paid a little extra for a Premier room and were allocated a penthouse room which was spacious and comfortable with two double beds, every where was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was more than adequate with plentiful supplies of orange juice, coffee, toast, pastries, bagels and fruit. We only ate in the hotel on our final day but wished we had eaten there more often as the food was superb! We researched a lot of hotels for our stay but we made the right choice, I would firmly recommend the Metro to anyone visiting New York.



where was spotlessly clean

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a Premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Hotel Metro in New York City is easily one of the best hotels in New York for price and location. My latest stay in this hotel was summer 2013 and I have been in the hotel many, many times in the past. If you don't want all the hotel luxury extras this hotel is perfect. Great for short stays in Manhattan and great for shopping trips to Macy's etc. Really, really impressed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view from the front to wake up to the amazing view of the Empire State Building. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 466 in New York City
746 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 466 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 466 in New York City
2,124 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing