We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$174
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$316
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$282
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$270
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$449
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (4,380)
Filter reviews
4,380 results
Traveller rating
2,305
1,615
327
79
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,305
1,615
327
79
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,644 - 1,649 of 4,380 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our room was a queen premier how awful .The blinds were so badly damaged they would not close ,no curtains on the walls . Air condition was not working. The room where the breakfast was more like a canteen plastic plates ,knives plastic cups can't tell you how bad this was .when I went to the front desk to complain I was met with (this is what or premier queen is ) I would never ever recommend this hotel the worst ever .Please don't book .

Room Tip: There is none
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife & I stayed for 4 nights in a premier queen room - our allocated room was on floor 10 & faced the back of the hotel. The room was well appointed & more than adequate of our needs, but most importantly it was very quite.
The hotel staff were all quite friendly & the concierge most helpful.
The breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice of bread & pastries - a larger choice of cereals would have been appreciated.
Teas & coffee on demand with a good in-room coffee machine was also available.
The location is good, although it would be good to have a greater range of restaurants closer to the hotel.
'All in all', a good hotel for the price - well recommended

Room Tip: Room 1008 is the quite one
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Battery17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel was excellent - from the moment we were greeted by Matthew, the doorman we were made to feel welcome. Reception, lobby and bedroom were exceptionally clean, fantastic view of the Empire State Building from the roof top terrace. The hotel is well postioned and we walked almost everywhere from here. Breakfast was more than we were expecting and certainly saw us through the morning. This hotel was recommended to us and we will certainly be recommending Hotel Metro to family and friends wanting to visit NYC in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel location was fantastic - Macy's and Empire State Building, subway stop along the street and within walking distance of pretty much everything! Lobby is chic and although small, has everything you need. 2 lifts, only one of which goes up to the fabulolus roof garden, which gives a brilliant close up view of the Empire State Buillding! Smart and comfy rooms with all amenities you need, room safe, hairdryer, iron, tea making facilities etc. Double wardrobe with even a brolly in the wardrobe, for those sudden showers! Massive TV, chairs and table, really nice bathroom, with a great shower, that you could move to direct the water where you wanted it. WC was a little bit lower than in UK, but soon got used to it. FREE WIFI albeit a bit slow, but gets through in the end. Breakfast is rarely provided in america, and although there was very little choice, especially as there was no cheese or meat to go with the bagels and toast, it was enough to get you through the morning, as well as cereal, yoghurt, fruit, and lovely muffins. The hotel has all their tea and coffee making facilities open from around 5pm till 11pm at night, which is helpful after a long weary day of sight seeing, and saves you making it yourself in your room. All staff extremely friendly and helpful, we got given a free map of Manhatten and NYC, which turned out to be brilliant, better than the one we had purchased ourselves. The doormen and bellboy who always greeted us with a smile and gave us lots of helpful advice about directions, the subway and places to visit! There is also a business room where you can use the internet and even print of vouchers, confirmation of bookings or maps. There is also a restaurant on site, but I did not eat there, so dont feel I can review. a litle tip.... We got a metrocard (for trains and buses) for 5 days which cost $30. Each trip is $2.75, so works out just over $5 there and back, so if you are there more than a few days, it is most definately worth it. The tubes take a little bit of working out, as the platforms do not tell you where the trains are going or stopping......you soon work it out, and there are no end of people to help, but be warned, there are not many staff around to assist, only at occasional stations there is a person sitting in a cubicle to assist with problems/queries. I will certainly be recommending the hotel Metro to anyone visiting NY!

Room Tip: The higher the better...for the view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel location was fantastic - Macy's and Empire State Building, subway stop along the street and within walking distance of pretty much everything!

Smart and comfy rooms plus we loved sitting on the roof terrace with a drink!

All staff very friendly and helpful. The doorman Matthew who always greeted us with a smile and gave us lots of helpful advice about directions, the subway and places to visit!

I will certainly be recommending the hotel Metro to friends visiting NY!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaB_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews