We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“New York Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Metro Hotel, June 14, and it turned out to be a fantastic choice.
We were upgraded to Penthouse Suits, and what lovely rooms, staff were very helpfull, and always happy, and smiling.
The breakfast was good, and you could add on a fry up for a small charge.
The roof top garden was open, and realy good with the Empire state building in front.
New York was great, and this hotel just right for travelling from for many destinations.
We would strongly recommed to all, and would love to return for another stay.
Would we have done anything different? No, New York is do as you please, and as long as you have a good hotel to come back to each day, as tht Metro is, all is fine.
Well done Metro, a big thank you to all the staff, we loved you all.
f

Room Tip: The top Penthous room are obviously the best, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariabaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,110
    1,477
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
716
2,110
140
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the best American hotel I've stayed in. The room was spacious--I was traveling with my toddler, and since it's January, there's only so much we can do outside. So having a decent size room for a toddler to unload some energy in was a welcome relief. The rooms were spotless (absolutely no sign of bedbugs, nor were the mattresses encased in plastic).

I fell in love with the bathroom and the rainfall shower head (as well as the toiletries--these were the best toiletries of a hotel I've ever had the pleasure of using).

There was also free wifi and free breakfast--and the breakfast was filling and tasty.

The staff were also super friendly, and they even let us leave our bags after we had officially checked out so we could take advantage of a few extra hours in the city.

The hotel is centrally located and there is a huge Duane Reade nearby (in case you want some granola bars or forgot some toiletries that the hotel doesn't have). The subway was very close and we used it to go all over Manhattan.

Room Tip: I have a couple: 1. Use Priceline Name Your Own Price: if you narrow the location, because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starkyshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I tend to like older hotels that have some vestiges of the previous age of grand old hotels (like the Waldorf Astoria), so I did appreciate some aspects of Hotel Metro such as the simple old marble and metal railing staircases and the vintage looking prints in the common areas. You can tell that the owners have spent time and money trying to update the hotel with more modern amenities while retaining some of its old world uniqueness. But like many older hotels, there are limits to how much upgrading and retrofitting that can be done. And I guess I'll say this too: I don't know that Hotel Metro was ever a "grand" old hotel. It is maybe too small and simple for that term. My room and bathroom were fairly small and the bathroom required a step up - which is no issue for me except when its dark in the room and you're not expecting a step up. The AC worked fine but was pretty loud. The bed was OK, just OK. The sheets struck me as fairly rough, which was an odd thing for me to even think about, but I did. Overall, there were some positives and minor negatives for me. I should add that everyone I encountered on the staff were very professional, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

It's clean!!! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Well located. Very nice rooms with enough space. They let us check-in early and have breakfast. We would love to stay there again. We traveled with a 2 year old and they were very friendly with him.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank caga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My fiancé surprised me with a trip to NYC to propose! We stayed in Hotel Metro which was absolutely fab! Our room was upgraded when we got there! The breakfast was brilliant - Lucky Charms on tap! The view from the roof terrace was great. This hotel was situated perfectly. We would highly recommend this hotel - it's not far from Macy's or the Flatiron Building!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from a short break to Hotel Metro. This is the second time we have visited this hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to a very nice room with lots of space and 3 double beds. Each morning we had an excellent buffet breakfast. The staff throughout the hotel were always polite and friendly and the location is probably as good as it gets for the main tourist attractions. My only minor criticism of the hotel was that the fridge never seemed cold. Also, it was quite noisy at night time - mainly due to outside traffic and taxis using their car horns on a regular basis. However, all in all, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

very good location for tourist ,staff very helpful especially the bell boys, having an included breakfast a bonus in USA hotel, room /beds very comfortable, would stay here again if visiting New York City. The attached restaurant Metro Grill served excellent food ,the roof top terrace was a lively spot for a drink before dinner

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerry901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing