We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Empire Sate View”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #101 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel has an amazing Empire State view. The roof top is really nice.
The room is ok! Not fancy, but good.
It is close to subway and main points.
There is breakfast included. Just a very simple continental breakfast, in a small and ugly place, but is better than nothing.
The staff is nice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 4,247 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for my honeymoon bottle of drink and chocs on arrival which was a lovely touch, great continental buffet breakfast with all you could eat cereal/toast/fruit/etc .. Really great position for site seeing. Lovely gym. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very nice hotel, room was very nice, we were in a superior queen and it was a great size for what we needed. We were staying for 3 nights then travelling to Mexico so had big suitcases and were worried that the room was not going to be big enough.

Only a small complaint and that would be that the air conditioning was very loud and sometimes a distraction whilst trying to sleep, it didn't bother my boyfriend but I can be easily distracted whilst trying to sleep (I like absolute silence), so if noises whilst sleeping doesn't bother you then this hotel will most likely be perfect for your needs.

There is a rooftop bar that was nice to look at New york, you could see the empire state building and other landmarks which was a very nice view.

All in all, would highly recommend this hotel, very central and as we walked everywhere that was crucial for our stay.

Room Tip: Superior Queens are bigger and weren't much more expensive than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robynmcskeane .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Metro from the 2nd to the 9th of June, first time in New York & would highly recommend. Fantastic central location, we were able to walk to many of the places we had planned to see. Hotel was very clean, staff were excellent apart from one young lady on reception, not naming names but you'll know who I mean if you have any dealings with her !! We found the breakfast to be filling and of high quality, yes the breakfast room did get a little busy at times but it wasn't a problem. Our only problem was the street noise during the night, we were at the front, a building across the street is being renovated & the giant skip(dumpster) is emptied between 3& 4 in the morning, we asked to move to a room at the back after 3 nights, fantastic, no noise & a good nights sleep. If you are booked to stay at the Metro soon I would recommend contacting them beforehand to request a room at the back. All in all a great hotel, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesleyBAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good location - Empire State next block and Macy's 5 minutes walk. Times Square 15 minutes. Hotel staff VERY welcoming and friendly. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Had a huge twin room that had 2 double beds, very small bathroom but adequate. Air conditioning kept room lovely and cool, was very hot and humid outside, however it was quite noisy at night - earplugs worked! Be warned if you are at the back if the building the builders start at 7am! Fantastic views of Empire State Building from roof terrace but you pay for it
Down points: plastic cutlery and paper plates for breakfast. Roof top bar was very expensive, $28 for 2 glasses of wine and very small glasses at that!
Knowing all the above, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take earplugs to drown noise of much needs air conditioning. Also if in back room and you want to ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stevedawnsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Metro Hotel, June 14, and it turned out to be a fantastic choice.
We were upgraded to Penthouse Suits, and what lovely rooms, staff were very helpfull, and always happy, and smiling.
The breakfast was good, and you could add on a fry up for a small charge.
The roof top garden was open, and realy good with the Empire state building in front.
New York was great, and this hotel just right for travelling from for many destinations.
We would strongly recommed to all, and would love to return for another stay.
Would we have done anything different? No, New York is do as you please, and as long as you have a good hotel to come back to each day, as tht Metro is, all is fine.
Well done Metro, a big thank you to all the staff, we loved you all.
f

Room Tip: The top Penthous room are obviously the best, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariabaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the best American hotel I've stayed in. The room was spacious--I was traveling with my toddler, and since it's January, there's only so much we can do outside. So having a decent size room for a toddler to unload some energy in was a welcome relief. The rooms were spotless (absolutely no sign of bedbugs, nor were the mattresses encased in plastic).

I fell in love with the bathroom and the rainfall shower head (as well as the toiletries--these were the best toiletries of a hotel I've ever had the pleasure of using).

There was also free wifi and free breakfast--and the breakfast was filling and tasty.

The staff were also super friendly, and they even let us leave our bags after we had officially checked out so we could take advantage of a few extra hours in the city.

The hotel is centrally located and there is a huge Duane Reade nearby (in case you want some granola bars or forgot some toiletries that the hotel doesn't have). The subway was very close and we used it to go all over Manhattan.

Room Tip: I have a couple: 1. Use Priceline Name Your Own Price: if you narrow the location, because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starkyshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#146 of 469 in New York City
1,997 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
586 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £135 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing