We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #97 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location as this is next to the Empire State Building and down the road from Macys. The roof top terrace is great at night especially as you look out to Empire State Building. Close to some nice restaurants and 5th avenue. The Hotel clean and staff very helpful.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank katie_allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 4,305 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a comfortable family room for 15 days. Breakfast is just average, plastic cutlery and paper plates are sadly part of NYC eat-out scene (is there a municipal law restricting dish-washing to restaurants only?).The rooftop lounge is definitely a plus. Last but not least the bathroom could seriously benefit from a hand-held bidet shower. The Comfort Inn on the other sidewalk has this feature so there is no reason why the Metro should not do likewise. Minus one green ball on the rating for this detail. However i do recommend the hotel and plan to be back. Please provide bidet showers guys.

Room Tip: The street is busy so try rooms that face the side or the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I've stayed in this hotel twice and had excellent experiences both times. Perfectly situated on West 35th street between 5th and 6th avenues. Walking distance to all the midtown sights. Rooftop terrace with excellent views of the Empire State Building. Buffet breakfast and 24hr free hot drinks. Art deco style, clean, rooms small but adequate. A block away from Macy's. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel has an amazing Empire State view. The roof top is really nice.
The room is ok! Not fancy, but good.
It is close to subway and main points.
There is breakfast included. Just a very simple continental breakfast, in a small and ugly place, but is better than nothing.
The staff is nice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for my honeymoon bottle of drink and chocs on arrival which was a lovely touch, great continental buffet breakfast with all you could eat cereal/toast/fruit/etc .. Really great position for site seeing. Lovely gym. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very nice hotel, room was very nice, we were in a superior queen and it was a great size for what we needed. We were staying for 3 nights then travelling to Mexico so had big suitcases and were worried that the room was not going to be big enough.

Only a small complaint and that would be that the air conditioning was very loud and sometimes a distraction whilst trying to sleep, it didn't bother my boyfriend but I can be easily distracted whilst trying to sleep (I like absolute silence), so if noises whilst sleeping doesn't bother you then this hotel will most likely be perfect for your needs.

There is a rooftop bar that was nice to look at New york, you could see the empire state building and other landmarks which was a very nice view.

All in all, would highly recommend this hotel, very central and as we walked everywhere that was crucial for our stay.

Room Tip: Superior Queens are bigger and weren't much more expensive than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robynmcskeane .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Metro from the 2nd to the 9th of June, first time in New York & would highly recommend. Fantastic central location, we were able to walk to many of the places we had planned to see. Hotel was very clean, staff were excellent apart from one young lady on reception, not naming names but you'll know who I mean if you have any dealings with her !! We found the breakfast to be filling and of high quality, yes the breakfast room did get a little busy at times but it wasn't a problem. Our only problem was the street noise during the night, we were at the front, a building across the street is being renovated & the giant skip(dumpster) is emptied between 3& 4 in the morning, we asked to move to a room at the back after 3 nights, fantastic, no noise & a good nights sleep. If you are booked to stay at the Metro soon I would recommend contacting them beforehand to request a room at the back. All in all a great hotel, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LesleyBAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#199 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 471 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#159 of 471 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £100 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing