We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything and really helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #97 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here over 4th of July celebrations! The room was quiet small but by NY standards we got over it. Very clean & old New York decor added to our overall satisfaction, a great plus having free continental breakfast available each morning. One of the staff should get a particular mention "Glenn" he was really helpful and friendly and went out of his way to assist us with anything we needed. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and found it very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location for transport and exploring Manhattan. Nice and close to Times Square, Macy's etc. A nice touch was the breakfast included in the price as it set you up for the day. Hotel was clean and tidy, free wifi, and all staff were attentive and friendly. Despite being right on the street we weren't disturbed by noise at all. Great view of the Empire State from the rooftop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro last year during our family trip from Boston to NYC to DC.

Great location, within walking distance from major attractions. The roof deck was amazing, especially during the evening, towered by the lit up Empire State bldg.

For the cost, I would have liked more breakfast varieties, but do not take me wrong, the full continental breakfast was good and filling. Wifi worked great, emailed and shared lots of pictures & videos with family during the late hours.

We stayed in one of their 2-bdrms suite, for 3 nights. It was more than what we needed, but smaller rooms were not available. The room had a small fridge, we used it to keep some of my kids meal (food allergy) that we brought with us just in case.

We got a coupon from the hotel to park our van down the street at a lower daily rate. I thought it was fair. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Upper two floors (new updates).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We got what we paid for a clean ,free wifi, free breakfast ,fridge in our rm budget hotel stay. I'm spoiled by staying in kimpton hotels which are more mod in design but were too pricy for this business trip so this was the solution. The staff were accommodating . The location was great very central to Macy ,subway Broadway etc .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Fantastic location for travelling around New York. Very friendly staff from door men to bar staff.
Lovely roof top bar area looking onto Empire State Building beautiful, especially at night when everything is all light up.
Had a problem with our air-con, engineer was sent up immediately to fix it all within no time.
Breakfast was lovely, the only downside was the paper plates and plastic cutlery.
Extremely clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniseM890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is amazing. It's located in a lovely place just outside of Times Square and is within good walking distance to Times Square and anywhere else you want to visit. A 5 minute walk to the Empire State Building which is really handy because after you've visited the Empire State Building and picked up your souvenirs, you can quickly walk back to the hotel, drop them off in your room and continue on with your day.

The reception staff are really nice and knowledgeable and will easily answer anything you ask them. The room I stayed in was just class. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was a nice size, everything about the room from the decor to the furniture was just perfect. The complimentary breakfast buffet was handy and always a good start to the day. The on site restaurant, Metro Grill, was very good and I recommend that you eat there at least once on your stay at the hotel.

For me, the best bit was the rooftop terrace. When it gets dark, you've got to go up there, get a drink, sit down and just look at the Empire State Building all lit up. It's just beautiful.

This hotel has many positive reviews on here and I'm just another person adding to the tally. If you're thinking about which hotel is best, this is the one!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben2K93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Although this was our third visit to New York it was also our first visit to this hotel and we where not disappointed the hotel is in a great location being close to most of the attractions like Byrant park, 5th avenue and 10 minutes walk from Times Square etc. The room we had 1115 was very clean and in great condition with a great bathroom A/C Coffee and tea machine and a fridge which came with some complimentary drinks which we though was a nice touch, A free breakfast was included too a bit of a rarity in NYC hotels it was simple toast, yoghurt, bagals, fruit and drinks but it set you up for the day ahead free tea and coffee are also available too 24 hrs a day the breakfast room can however be a little busy but if you time it right you can get a seat easy enough. One of the gems of this hotel is the rooftop terrace was has a stunning view of the Empire State building and is a great place to sit and chill at night something which we did every night ,the bar which is expensive closes at 10 pm but the terrace is open 24 hours a day. You will find the staff very helpful too the doormen, concierge and reception staff could not do enough for you and made you feel welcome all the time. This is now our favourite hotel and when we visit again this is where we will stay A+++++.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobeCruiserDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 470 in New York City
2,234 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 470 in New York City
1,213 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing