We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #102 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here 5th-11th july. Our room was teeny tiny and basic (as expected in NYC) but very clean and shower was great. We viewed it as a room we would only be in for sleep in so didn't need anything fancy - plenty more things to spend your $$$ on in NYC.

Breakfast was fine, great given that it was included. Nice bagels and muffins.

We never really used concierge services. He did get us a price for tickets to see Rocky on broadway - $199 each....got them at tkts for $75 each.

Rooftop bar was a bit of a disappointment from what we had seen online, not open on a sunday (day we arrived) and i never enjoy a wine in a small plastic cup. ( you can get plastic wine glasses) It was pricey but we didn't mind too much. We did however quite enjoy sitting up there on our way home to our room each night. View might not be the best in NY as one reviewer suggested - however we really enjoyed sitting in the shadow of the empire at night and seeing what colour she was lit up as....which when we were there reflected the colours of the independence day and then each of the world cup finalists on the day they won their semi!!

we would stay again! location is good and doormen and reception staff are lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro for 5 nights in February after booking through BA. We upgraded to a superior queen room which was on a higher floor away from the road noise and had been refurbished. It wasn't enormous but we were there to sightsee not sit in our room and it provided a very clean and comfortable base. Most hotels in New York don't include breakfast so this was definitely a bonus and you get used to the paper plates! We had low expectations but the bagels and muffins were incredible!! The location is superb with Macy's, the Empire State and the subway all under 5 mins walk. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again if we return to New York.

Room Tip: You can't avoid the road noise and sirens in New York but choose a room on a higher floor at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. And the jury is still out on this one. Booked as a BA holiday and having read the good reviews on tripadvisor we decided to risk it as all the other hotels were coming out at crazy prices.
The location is great for sightseeing, around the corner from Empire State Building, so a handy location in midtown. You can walk loads of places. Not too far from the subway either to get uptown or into downtown - nearest one is on park avenue at east 33rd street - about a 3-4 minute walk. The area is a little tacky though and we prefer Greenwich village, SoHo where you can find smaller restaurants and cafés.
The good about this hotel is they do offer you a free breakfast - although we ate out every day to get eggs. They also offer tea and coffee all day, although we still kept Starbucks in business too with our love of caramel macchiato! Our room was small - not too much of a problem as we were not planning to hang out there - but it was clean and the bathroom was ok too. Just a shower but I prefer this. The hair dryer provided would not dry anyone's hair that is longer than short so either bring your own or get a blow dry at the salon about 4 doors away from the hotel. I did. Read the safe instructions before trying to secure it - there is a red button you need to press and we managed to lock our stuff in there and needed help. The maintenance guy got in no worries - however this offers other concerns in my eyes!
Avoid, avoid, avoid the roof top bar for a drink. We sat out one sunny afternoon and had 2 beers. No prices are not displayed although the list of beers are there and they were a staggering $18 + tip! The view is not that great. It is only the 12th floor after all. I would say go, take a photo and leave and go elsewhere. We did question the prices with the hotel and they said the roof top bar is part of the metro grill so nothing to do with them and they have told them to display prices but they have done nothing about it. There was also a rather large man sitting up there with his top off in the sunshine when we were there and nothing was said to him about putting his top back on. This is not a bar that is full of sunloungers for you to sunbathe so they should be stricter on dress code - ie tops on! If this isn't part of the hotel I can't mark the hotel down on this but just wanted tripadvisor readers to be aware!
One last thing. Wifi was great in reception but was shocking in our room, especially after they changed the password one day!
Yes, the hotel looks a little tired but it's good for a base. If there are some refurbed rooms - our room 601 wasn't - then perhaps ask for one of those...
Would we return? Not to stay here as I think there are perhaps better, quieter neighbourhood areas... Would I recommend you to stay? Yes to beat a Empire State Building queue. A 2 minute walk to the front door at 7.30am for 8am opening is great!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, refurbed room on higher floors apparently..?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingstarsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A few hundred yards from Macey's and a block away from the Empire State Building, Hotel Metro is centrally located for visitors to New York. It's very clean, very comfortable and our room at the back was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast was average, but free hot coffee and tea were available at all times at the back of the lobby. Finding a reasonable restaurant nearby was difficult. The hotel restaurant was good but expensive and the service very slow. There's a MacD around the corner as well as various bars - it's not the gastronomic centre of New York, so be prepared to walk.

Room Tip: If you want a room without traffic noise, ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 313AlanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and overall really liked the hotel.
The staff were always very friendly.
The house keeping staff did an excellent job at cleaning the room each day.
The breakfast was great for a free breakfast - we heard some people complaining about it - it's continental and it's free!!!!
The location is great with a subway platform about a 2 minute walk from the hotel door and is on a really good route (Times Square is only 1 stop away).

The only negatives are the room is very small (I've stayed in two other New York hotels). Our fridge didn't work - but to be honest we didn't tell anyone so can't complain.
The view outside our room was of another side of a building which was dissapointing.
The air con was VERY loud and we also could hear some sort of machine outside our window.

But overall very good and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great situation in the Garment area of NYC. The overall theme is Art Nouveau/Deco. Regular rooms. Fully functional.Spotlessly clean. Nice toiletries. Nothing exceptional about the bedroom and guessing average size for NY. Decent sized room fridge too. Staff very pleasant. Concierge friendly and helpful for information on travel, theatre tickets etc. Two things elevate this hotel. The roof bar/terrace on the penthouse floor because from it you have a wonderful view of the Empire State building and in the evening its extremely impressive with its red white and blue lights. You can sit back with a cocktail or glass of wine (definately pricey) but the view helps you overlook that fact. There's also a gym nearby on the same floor and ice machine which we made good use off. Secondly its almost unique in that it offers a continental, but very adequate breakfast which is included in the price.

We had a lovely quiet room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Also ate in the Metro Bistro next door. Excellent. Full separate review on it.

Room Tip: We were at the back. No view whatever but really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NELLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My trip was for business and the location of the hotel was prime for my work.

I checked in after a particularly grueling day and was greeted with a smile and a "Miss, you've been upgraded to a King Suite". How wonderful and completely smart of them. I walked into a lovely large living room with a large flat screen TV, desk, bar with a lovely single serve coffee maker with several coffee choices. I ordered room service and it was delivered quickly and was delicious. Continental breakfast is a selection of bagels, pastries, fruit...enough to get you through the morning.

The hotel is quaint and clean. Service was impeccable. I would highly recommend the hotel if you're in staying midtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sad2BHomeDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 470 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £112 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing